We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a mountain getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a mountain getaway”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

we have never been to Gatlinburg and this hotel was in an excellent location within walking distance to everything on the parkway. The staff was wonderful and very helpful with any questions. The hotel does not have a restaurant but a wonderful complementary continental breakfast. Parking is a covered secure parking garage. The swimming pool is an indoor/outdoor swim under wall and 2 whirlpools but the only complaint would be the whirlpool water was not very hot and the jets were not very powerful. We enjoyed our stay and would consider coming back.

Room Tip: we wanted a room on the back facing the mountain for quiet and privacy on the balcony, the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you choosing the Edgewater for your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and will double check the temperature in the hot tubs. We look forward to another opportunity to host you on a future visit to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    324
    162
    80
    44
See reviews for
350
293
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We love The Edgewater! We stay here every time we visit the Gatlinburg area. Our rooms are always clean, and the staff is very helpful with all your needs. It's within walking distance to the Parkway, and the trolley stop is right down the street. I will agree it's a little "tired" and needs some updating. But the location and cleanliness makes up for it. We use the pool and hot tubs every night, and it was never busy. The breakfast is just enough to start your day. When we visit we park our car and walk or use the trolley system. The city view rooms are the best!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to seeing you again when travel plans bring you back to the Great Smoky Mountains and Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here in April 2014. The room was nice and very clean. Stayed on the front side, city view much better than on the back side which was right up against the mountain. Had a king size room very spacious. It had a little balcony with a great view of the city and the mountains. Also could hear the water below. Was within walking distance from the main strip. No need to get car out of parking garage if that's where you want to spend your day. Plenty of things to do on the main strip. Breakfast was good. The front desk was very nice and helpful with any questions I had. The only thing I can complain about was every time someone came in or out of their rooms, the doors would slam shut was very loud. That would not keep us from staying here again. Didn't get to use the pool area but did go down to see it and looked very nice. If it was warmer we would have used it. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and definitely will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wash1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your April stay. I'm glad your stay was pleasant and appreciate your positive comments.
We look forward to hosting your stay in the future when you are back in the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Not bad, not great. It is okay if you just want a place to sleep and shower. The rooms need updating and if you are on the back of the hotel view is not good. Location is pretty good and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momma2A_n_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Edgewater during your recent visit to Gatlinburg. We appreciate your comments and hope to again host you when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Webster, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Edgewater Hotel was such a pleasant surprise with the friendliest people! My new wife and I were looking for a place to spend our honeymoon. We only had a few days to spend together due to our busy schedules and we wanted to spend them in one of our favorite cities, Gatlinburg. Quite honestly, we chose The Edgewater for it's location, right in the heart of the town withing walking distance to all of our favorite shops. However, we were so impressed with the hospitality we received from the staff at the Edgewater. I had done some searching online for best room rates and actually found rates slightly cheaper via Expedia than through the hotel's own site. However, my goal wasn't so much to save money as to book a honeymoon package for my wife and I. Unfortunately, there were no honeymoon packages available through the hotel so I booked through Expedia. When I did the booking I left a small note at the bottom explaining that this was our honeymoon. To our delight, the hotel had not only noticed my note upon booking, they actually went out of their way to upgrade us to a top story fireplace room with a king bed and had a welcome card for my new wife and I on the bed. To top things off, they even had two bottles of champagne and complementary wine glasses for us to keep, waiting for us in our mini-fridge. They were also so helpful with many other questions and requests we had during the week. One of the newly renovated areas is the lobby where they have the complimentary breakfast. There were no eggs on the buffet, but biscuits & gravy, sausage, fresh waffles, cereal, yogurt, and danishes were standard all three days we were there. I would recommend getting to breakfast well before the end time. My first day there I slept in and tried to catch the breakfast about 15 minutes before closing but didn't find it very fresh or replenished at that time. Of course, if worse comes to worse, you're only about two blocks away from one of the best breakfast restaurants in town, "the pancake pantry." Overall the hotel shows some age but they are in the process of making renovations and the new areas are beautifully finished. I can't wait to see what this hotel looks like in a few months when all the updates are complete. I am quite sure my wife and I will be back!

Room Tip: Street side is right on river road, basically overlooking the town but has a view of the back of man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your stay at the Edgewater. Congratulations on your wedding and I am glad you and your wife had a lovely time while here on your honeymoon. Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again when you are next in the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a trip to the smokies for my 30th birthday. We have always wanted to stay here because it came highly recommended to us. I am not sure it lived up to the hype. I found some of the areas to be dated, the hotel staff was not thr friendliest. Our rooms view was pretty poor. The pool area was nice, the room was okay for our stay, nothing special. It is in a pretty convenient area to everything. You could hear people slamming doors all hours of the night so that was a little irritating and made it hard to sleep. I don't know if I would stay again. I have stayed in nicer hotels in town and paid less.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgirl0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate the honesty in your comments and I hope that you will consider choosing us again when travel plans bring you back to the Smoky Mountains and Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Falls, West Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed one night in Gatlinburg and wanted something within walking distance to the shops downtown. This hotel was perfect - very centrally located. The hotel was nice enough - it met our needs for one night. The lobby was nice and the rooms were clean and furnished nicely. Our room looked over the pool area -- not much view, but it was no problem. The parking garage was a little tight for our liking, but we were thankful to have free parking downtown. The garage was not crowded, so that was a plus -- you could keep one empty space between you and the next car. Breakfast the next morning was fine - sausage biscuits, hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, apples, juice, coffee. It was not a 5-star breakfast, but it was adequate. I picked this hotel for its location and it did not disappoint. I probably would not want to stay here more than one night. It was fine and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor. There was no outside noise. Elevator was a little slow - but not bad at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMollyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad our location was convenient for your downtown needs. It is nice to not have to drive once you're in Gatlinburg. I hope you will consider us again when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Property: The Edgewater Hotel
Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing