We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have stayed with you probably 5 times in the last 2 yrs, Started with our
honeymoon, It isnt the newest or the most advertised, but if you want a
conveinent place to stay with a friendly staff a great view, (stay
streetside if possible). I highly reccomend the EDGEWATER, we arrived this
yr for our aniversary and found 2 champagne glasses and 2 small bottle of
bubbly cider, it was a huge suprise, this place has always been friendly,
with large clean comfortable rooms right in the heart of the city. Great
place to stay

Room Tip: ask for streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Edgewater during your anniversary. Thank you for your positive comments and we appreciate being your hotel of choice for five years and look forward to being your hotel of choice for another five years!
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    324
    162
    80
    44
See reviews for
350
293
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Nice hotel with great staff. Walking distance from Aquarium and down town. Close to ober Gatlinburg tram. We will stay again. Kids loved the pool. Good free breakfast with your stay. Saw geese and ducks every morning swimming in the stream infront of the hotel. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmtree012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your patronage. We look forward to hosting your next trip to the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fordpower2424
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean with nice linens. The location is prime, and the balconies are great. The TV didn't have a very good picture, but no big deal. Staff was courteous. The rooms were nice and pretty well updated, especially when compared to other hotels in the Gatlinburg area. As long as price is competitive would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fordpower2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Edgewater for your recent stay. Your comments are appreciated and we hope to see you again when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed there just this weekend. We really were impressed. The location was great! The front desk staff were very helpful. The hotel was full according to the staff but it was very quiet.

We will be back soon!

Room Tip: The room with the fireplace with the Jacuzzi was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay last week-end. I am glad your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to your future visit in the next few months.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Great motel! Been staying here around 5 years, nice indoor/outdoor pool, free breakfast is good variety with waffles, eggs, biscuits, cereal, juices and coffee. Very convenient to downtown Gatlinburg! They have stairs that you can walk down to the river and feed ducks, my daughter loves that!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Khloesmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your continued patronage to the Edgewater. We appreciate your comments and are glad you daughter enjoys feeding the ducks. They really are a treat for everyone, but especially the children.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

i stayed there just this past weekend, 3-21-14 thru 3-23-14. we were just there for the weekend, but apparently they were having kids from the FFA stay there as well. they had a compitition going on the same weekend. our room was fine, it was clean, nice comfortable beds, it had a balcony. really my only complaint was that it seemed like when ever we were in the room, someone next door or down the hall was always slamming the door all hours of the night, the afternoon or whatever. but other than that it was fine. i would stay there again; if the price is right.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing downtown, otherwise you'll be facing the trees in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B-rad1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your reveiw of your recent stay at the Edgewater. I apologize for the slamming doors and any inconvenience that may have caused you. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will again choose to stay with us when travel plans bring you back to the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for a weekend getaway. We had a room on the 8th floor with a jacuzzi tub & balcony. The hotel is walking distance from almost everything in gatlinburg & 15 min from pigeon forge activities. The room was clean & surprisingly quiet for being so close to the strip. The bed was super comfy. The paint & the carpet in the hotel could use a bit of updating, but everything was clean & the staff was very friendly. I feel that what we got out of our stay was very good considering the rate we payed. We had a great stay & would definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stargirlcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Edgewater. I'm glad you enjoyed our Speciality Room with a Jacuzzi. It's mountainside location offers more privacy than the riverside of the hotel. I hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in the near future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Property: The Edgewater Hotel
Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing