We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Was on a tour with about 50 people. We were in our rooms in a reasonable time. The place is just ok, used and abused, needs a facelift. Don't expect much for breakfast. First day was biscuits and patty sausage, no gravy, no eggs, a biscuit and a sausage patty. Second day was a biscuit and an egg patty. No gravy, no sausage or bacon, a biscuit and a egg patty. Maybe I expect too much. We were on the sixth floor. This place has the slowest elevators ever. Wasn't a terrible stay, all and all just ok.

Room Tip: Most of the hotels along the river have age on them. If you want a newer hotel you would probably b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. We strive for excellent customer service and appreciate your feedback. I hope that when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg, you will again consider staying with us again.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We waited a bit on check in, but other than that we enjoyed the location and view. The elevators were slow and seemed to be the only downfall. The the staff left us complimentary drinks as it was our 25th wedding Anniversary. Wish we could of checked in sooner than 4 so that we didn't get in the traffic jam up the road for an hour.
Breakfast wasn't the greatest.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudetta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are in Gatlinburg for a future visit. If you choose to come to the area early in the afternoon, please feel free to call the hotel and we will do our best to accommodate you before the 4pm check in time.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. When we arrived and showered our hair dryer (the one in the wall) was broken. It was immediately fixed when we requested. Our view was also AMAZING, and with just a short walk from all the places we went was a bonus. Another big thing for me is safety. Being a female when my fiancé wasn't present to escort me there was always a staff member who graciously walked me to my room.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and our view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. I am glad that you nd your fiance` enjoyed your visit and our staff made you feel safe and secure getting to your room. I hope that we will see you again soon when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was booked here by blue green. I am sure I was booked into a standard room since it was a promotional thing. The front desk staff were friendly. I had a mountain view room which had a view of a hillside and the pool. Parking is very very tight even for a mid size vehicle and is all under the building. Elevators were slow. It took almost 10 minutes to get a cart to haul my luggage because of the elevators. The wait was not to bad after checkout time. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: City/river view are probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjcliq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate our guests sent to us by Blue Green and hope that when you visit the Gatlinburg area again, you will choose to stay with us.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our weekend stay in Gatlinburg was incredible; however, this hotel tried it's best to ruin it! During our stay, the hotel was hosting a beauty pagent for babies/young girls! There are no words to describe the unending chaos this caused normal guests! First of all, little divas and their mom's were coming out of the word work! Running down the halls, doing cartwheels in the lobby, screaming, crying, etc., etc.! In addition, the hotel only has two elevators (for over 1000 guest? really?). They were not only the slowest elevators in Sevier County, but you could never get on one. I didn't meet a single guest who wasn't happy with how to get in the hotel, out of the hotel, or from floor to floor. We called the front desk and asked to be moved to an "adult" floor as the noise in the hallways from the beauty pagent participants was ridiculous (hello diva moms! Are you just totally stupid and irresponsible?)! They offered to move us to another room and we agreed to go look at it. Once we arrived there (after climbing several flights of stairs because remember, getting on the elevator is like getting God on the telephone!), we discovered that guests on this floor were smoking (the hotels advertises and makes you sign an agreement that the hotel is a non-smoking property and that violators will be punished). When we alerted the hotel to the smoking situation, they were not concerned and unresponsive. Overall, this is the worse place I have ever stayed. BYW, mountainside view is simply a concave landscape covered in weeds and overgrowth overlooking the concrete parking lot. NEVER AGAIN. The rooms were decent, but the overall experience with everything else was so bad that the "average room" was overshadowed. The parking garage was also an experience--parking places are ridiculously cramped and difficult to manuver. I would recommend taking a very small vehicle! We are going back to our orginal property which we never had issues with--just didn't have a vacancy at the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate your honesty and apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay due to the group inhouse. We hope that you will consider us again during another visit to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

we stayed here on September 28 for one night on a last minute vacation. Staff was very friendly..the hotel is very clean. we stayed on the 7th floor. The room smelled very clean and it was very nice. We had a mountain view and the room also had a refrigerator, coffee pot, blow dryer and complimentary shampoos and soaps. the bedding was very clean and they have an extra blanket between the sheet and the top comforter. We had plenty of towels. The complimentary breakfast was great ..buiscuits and gravy, waffles, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice, doughnuts, fruit, cereal...We will stay here again!

Room Tip: get a room on the top floors for the great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAR1738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Edgewater. We appreciate your positive comments and hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are again in the Great Smoky Mountains and Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Edgewater is a nice enough hotel and is in a great location. The staff is friendly, the place is clean, and the beds are comfortable. The creek view would be nice on a lower floor but up higher one has it's pros and cons. The pro is that one can enjoy the city lights and space needle; the con is the unsightly excavation going on directly across the street. This is by no means any fault of the establishment but it does make the view less than wonderful. The river flows directly in front of the hotel so a room on the lower levels would afford one the opportunity to enjoy it. The noise level is a bit on the high side as there is traffic on up into the night. There is a continental breakfast and the only good thing I can say about it is that it's free. Honestly, don't waste your time - the offerings included cottage cheese, frozen berries that have just thawed out, granola, cereal, stale white bread for toast, coffee and juice. The only thing that looked to be remotely appetizing was the biscuit with gravy. Several people walked in and then left after seeing what was being offered. The elevator service isn't great but there are benches where one can sit and wait on it. Overall this was an average experience. The price was reasonable and the location unbeatable.

Room Tip: Ask for a creekside room on a lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dewjckj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. I will forward your comments on to the appropriate department heads for review. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to host you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#4 of 78 in Gatlinburg
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $98 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing