We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Most of our visit at this hotel was great! It was clean with updated rooms with microwave, refrigerator, and nice TV. and decorated tastefully. It was a very quiet 2 night stay until after 10pm at night on the second night, some tweens took to the outdoor pool (outside of our room)and were very loud. My husband opened the curtain and stood there thinking they might get quieter but instead, he got a rude hand signal from them. He went to the front desk and they promptly took care of it. The continental breakfast was very, very busy both mornings and I kind of felt sorry for the server. He had a hard time keeping up with the hungry guests. I believe they need a sign telling children under a certain age, that they have to have an adult help them. The biscuits and the sausage was hard and I know from observing that it was kids leaving the top of the buffet server opened. I also observed the server showing several how to remove the tongs and close the lid but they didn't listen very well. I was also disappointed that on the website it lists a lounge and restaurant and when we got there, it was crossed out in the guest directory and there was none. All of the staff was very pleasant to deal with and overall we had a good stay. I would definitely stay again because of the quiet but close location to everything.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view of downtown and the river, please specify. I thought all rooms were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    331
    164
    80
    44
See reviews for
355
296
6
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsboro, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed in room 725 a few days ago. We had two queen beds with a balcony overlooking the river. The rooms were tiny. You could barely turn around in the bathroom. The balcony was tiny also. My kids loved the indoor pool and whirlpool. They were heated but the pool was still freezing cold. The beds were heard as a rock so we didn't get any sleep that night. The view from the balcony was of downtown Gatlinburg with the mountains in the background. Overall it was an average stay but I think we will find somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alatham2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our Church has been hosting a marriage retreat for 16 years now and The Edgewater is our most requested destination. Working with Tonya Young to set up the seminar is always a pleasure. Debra Adams does a great job setting up our catered lunch for the group. She works very hard to stay within our budget and the food is wonderful. This year Kimberly was in the group sales department and we got to meet her as well. These girls are great to work with and work together so well!

Our group loves the simplicity of the check in and the friendliness of the front desk. We place a goodie bag in each couples room and housekeeping is quick to help us accomplish this prior to our guest arriving. (Angie helped us this year and she was a big help to us).

The retreat is set for 2 nights and 3 days but many of our couples enjoy coming up earlier and/or staying over an extra night. Special thanks to Tonya and the front desk for helping make this an easy transaction.

The location is great for walking downtown and the riverview is beautiful. Look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: Riverview on a higher floor. Great view and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice setting, hard to get to for business purposes since you have to fly to Knoxville or Nashville and then drive to Gatlinburg. This would be ok if it were a vacation choice, just poor choice for business. Hotel is dated and elevator is awful; you have to wait forever. Crowds of people stand and wait for long periods of time for elevator to arrive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RubyAmysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

When you pull into the parking garage check the height of your veheicle VERY carefully, the roof is very low and our standard antena hit several times. The woman who checked us in was simply rude. She walked away when i stepped to the counter and, when i followed to her new spot, went back to where she started saying she would get me over there. i should have paid attention to the "I will get you" comment. No mention of the breakfast we were supposed to get and found out about just before they closed. The room was supposed to have a king bed, no such thing. When we got to the room and saw that we called down and were told there were no king rooms available. Odd since they were advertising walk in specials for jacuzzi rooms which, in my experience, have always had king beds. Different person, same attitude, no offer to make things right or apollogize for it not being right. The balcony was rusted and loose, the back door did not have any way to lock it. We were told later the place had recently been updated but it still needs work. The location is wonderful, the town is great, and the creek right outside is nice. Easy access to gatlinburg and all it offers but the hotel and staff were just not right. When we checked out there was no mention of the issues we had, no signs of concern of any sort, and not even a thank you for staying with us. Just an "OK, that's it." was all the woman said. At least she got that part right. There are a lot of hotels in gatlinburg. I recommend you try one of them.

Room Tip: Don't know what to say here, they got our requested room wrong and could have cared less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeM3863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days over Christmas of 2012. The hotel staff were friendly and the location is hard to beat. Our room was clean but the lighting was poor and the room itself was dated and worn out. The rooms were fairly large so that was a plus. The breakfast was just plain bad and I only ate there one morning. Overall I would much prefer the Park Vista if I stayed in Galtinburg proper again. We've stayed there a few times over the years and it's now a Hilton hotel. Edgewater needs to put money back into it's hotel and hire some better interior designers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csblinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wonderfully located hotel on the back side of the Gatlinburg. You’re in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The hotel is older but is very well maintained. I do have a couple things that were displeasing during our visit.
1. First was the fact that the balcony door was only looked by a thin aluminum bar that looked like a curtain rod. I know you are over a river but if someone wanted to get in it would be no barrier to prevent them from entering.
2. Parking is underneath the hotel and is very tight. I have a midsized SUV and it was tight fit to get parked, especially since others seem to take two spots. My advice is if you have an SUV, park to the right of the entrance to the garage, there are a couple spots that seem to be wider than the others.
3. If you like a soft pillow, bring your own. The pillows and bed are very firm. I can handle the bed itself but would liked softer pillows.
4. The pool area was nice. Although on busy nights it gets crowed quickly as there are only 10-12 chairs around the pool area. Our first night the pool was warm, second night is was ice cold.

Overall a very nice trip and I would stay here again for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shorty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Property: The Edgewater Hotel
Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing