We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place we ever stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Edgewater is great....My wife and our small children have stayed here multiple times and actually don't want to try anywhere else. The rooms are plenty large and very clean. the staff is freindly and the location is ideal. Need I say more....

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 980 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed off season for a very affordable price. Great heated indoor pool and two indoor hot tubs. Walking distance to the parkway attractions but not on the parkway so convenient but quiet. Continental breakfast included. Parking garage nice. We will stay here on all future trips to area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Edgewater December 7,8 & 9, we will stay there next time. They have recently remodeled and it is so much better than before. The location is perfect and the help was very nice. The rooms were clean a nd roomy.

Room Tip: Stay on creek side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennesseegirl_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

First time at Edgewater and had a wonderful stay. Rooms were very clean and they provided plenty of towels. Bathroom was a little small but clean.
Had the continental breakfast one morning. It was ok for just a quick bite but don't expect a full breakfast.
Pool and hot tub were very nice and well kept. Only negative was waiting on the elevators upon checkout but that was due to a large group leaving at the same time.
Overall a great stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Edgewater Hotel was acceptable in just about every way. For the price we paid though, we were expecting a higher quality hotel. Granted, we did go in October and the city was packed with leaf peepers, so it's quite understandable why the price was so high.

Our room faced the city and most, if not all, rooms have a balcony which is really nice. There are two chairs and a small table and the view was great with the leaves changing colors.

We went as a group, and the hotel put our rooms side-by-side which was very nice of them. They also allowed us to use the dining room to play cards, which was large and comfortable albeit a little cold.

There were daily breakfasts included in the price, and that was really disappointing. The first day they offered small, flat egg patties that were cold, bisquits and no meat. There was also no yogurt and the only fruit was apples...no bananas or any other fruit. The 2nd morning they offered sausage and waffles, which was better than the morning before. The rest of our group refused to eat the hotel's breakfast the 2nd morning and went out eat downtown.

Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We loved having a microwave and a small refrigerator. 1 out of the 4 rooms our group was given had a flat screen t.v.

We loved how convenient this hotel was to the main strip. If you crossed the street and cut through the next block, you were right on the strip. There is a trolley stop right out front too.

I'd like to come back to this hotel some time outside of the peak season. Perhaps the breakfasts will be better and the price more in line with the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the city and had a nice view of the changing leaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skoeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Edgewater. I appreciate your comments and am glad you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel and the amenities in your room. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you when future plans bring you back to the Great Smoky Mountains and Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,
JoAnn Ward
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights from Oct 14 to Oct 17. The Edgewater was very good as usual. The prices are reasonable and rooms and very clean and spacious. We always stay on the riverside to enjoy the balcony. Bathroom is a little small but very clean. Our only problem was the card reader on the door lock acted up but it was repaired very quickly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardshell911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

From Baton Rouge, La. and have been to Gatlinburg many times. Stayed here recently (October 21--26, 2012) This is the only place we have stayed where the whole experience was totally satisfactory. The parking is so very convienent, you can park within 25 yards of the elevator on both floors. The reservation, check in and check out services are excellent. The rooms are always very clean and very well equipped. Pools are excellent and well kept up, very clean. Walking distance to all of Parkway in Gatlinburg. Breakfast was more than adequate and good. Not a full big breakfast but we dont eat that kind of breakfast anyway. Views are excellent from the balconies of every room. Staff is very friendly and rooms were cleaned promptly each day. We will definitely stay at the Edgewater every time we visit Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: Riverside has very exciting view of all of downtown Gatlingburg. Mountain side rooms have a very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $92 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing