We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First time at Edgewater and had a wonderful stay. Rooms were very clean and they provided plenty of towels. Bathroom was a little small but clean.
Had the continental breakfast one morning. It was ok for just a quick bite but don't expect a full breakfast.
Pool and hot tub were very nice and well kept. Only negative was waiting on the elevators upon checkout but that was due to a large group leaving at the same time.
Overall a great stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    291
    151
    74
    40
See reviews for
321
262
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Edgewater Hotel was acceptable in just about every way. For the price we paid though, we were expecting a higher quality hotel. Granted, we did go in October and the city was packed with leaf peepers, so it's quite understandable why the price was so high.

Our room faced the city and most, if not all, rooms have a balcony which is really nice. There are two chairs and a small table and the view was great with the leaves changing colors.

We went as a group, and the hotel put our rooms side-by-side which was very nice of them. They also allowed us to use the dining room to play cards, which was large and comfortable albeit a little cold.

There were daily breakfasts included in the price, and that was really disappointing. The first day they offered small, flat egg patties that were cold, bisquits and no meat. There was also no yogurt and the only fruit was apples...no bananas or any other fruit. The 2nd morning they offered sausage and waffles, which was better than the morning before. The rest of our group refused to eat the hotel's breakfast the 2nd morning and went out eat downtown.

Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We loved having a microwave and a small refrigerator. 1 out of the 4 rooms our group was given had a flat screen t.v.

We loved how convenient this hotel was to the main strip. If you crossed the street and cut through the next block, you were right on the strip. There is a trolley stop right out front too.

I'd like to come back to this hotel some time outside of the peak season. Perhaps the breakfasts will be better and the price more in line with the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the city and had a nice view of the changing leaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skoeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Edgewater. I appreciate your comments and am glad you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel and the amenities in your room. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you when future plans bring you back to the Great Smoky Mountains and Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,
JoAnn Ward
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights from Oct 14 to Oct 17. The Edgewater was very good as usual. The prices are reasonable and rooms and very clean and spacious. We always stay on the riverside to enjoy the balcony. Bathroom is a little small but very clean. Our only problem was the card reader on the door lock acted up but it was repaired very quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardshell911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

From Baton Rouge, La. and have been to Gatlinburg many times. Stayed here recently (October 21--26, 2012) This is the only place we have stayed where the whole experience was totally satisfactory. The parking is so very convienent, you can park within 25 yards of the elevator on both floors. The reservation, check in and check out services are excellent. The rooms are always very clean and very well equipped. Pools are excellent and well kept up, very clean. Walking distance to all of Parkway in Gatlinburg. Breakfast was more than adequate and good. Not a full big breakfast but we dont eat that kind of breakfast anyway. Views are excellent from the balconies of every room. Staff is very friendly and rooms were cleaned promptly each day. We will definitely stay at the Edgewater every time we visit Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: Riverside has very exciting view of all of downtown Gatlingburg. Mountain side rooms have a very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.augustine, fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at the Edgewater Oct.14th thru the 17th. I have been staying at the edgewater for the last 14 years and have never canceled a reservation. when i made my reservation approx. 6 weeks in advance there was an immediate with drawl from my bank account for 1 nights stay. it had never happened before? When i arrived i asked the desk clerk why this happened and was told that some people would not cancel there reservations and the hotel would be stuck with an empty room and could not get there money for the first nights stay.I know that it only takes a minute to check a guest past history and see if they have ever done this to the hotel. It is really an insult to me to be grouped with all these other people. Now as far as the condition of the hotel the 2 rugs in the lobby were very dirty, which i did mention to maintaince and a couple of other employees, but i know that they have no authority to do anything, also ice machine on 6th floor was broken for the entire stay. The repair was to put a sign on it telling the guest to go up or down 1 floor for ice. There is no excuse for this. I have worked in maintenance long enough to know that if repair parts are not available locally that they can be overnighted in. also there is no de-caf coffee in the rooms, no scratch pads for notes when using your computer, and apperently they no longer use any fabric softner in there towels.I know that these small items will save money over a period of time. I am sorry to say that this is not the same quality hotel that i started staying in 14 years ago. If the manager would like to talk to me personally i am sure that the clerks on the reception desk (which are very nice) can tell you who i am and you can send me an "E" mail with your phone number and i will call you. (my room # was 615)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travler003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to speak to me last week about your recent stay at the Edgewater. Your concerns and comments are important to me and I have spoken to the appropriate department heads to address these issues.
I also appreciate you sharing suggestions for enhancements to our property. I will incude your remarks and ideas to the management team at our next meeting for discussion.
As I mentioned during our conversation, I do appreciate your patronage over the last 14 years, and I look forward to seeing you in person on your next visit.
Best Regards,
JoAnn Ward
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is pretty nice. Clean rooms, great balconies, good staff. The parking garage is horrible. Way too tight. I didn't want to park in it and wouldn't come back just based on that. The pool is really nice but pretty small. Breakfast is a joke but there is mcdonalds just down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CosmoBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the middle of october. Friendly and accommodating staff at the front desk. We had a room with a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub which was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was okay. The hotel was in a good location to the strip. There is a little stream that runs in front of the hotel that is quite pretty. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflake74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#8 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#26 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gatlinburg Inn
Gatlinburg Inn
#5 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Property: The Edgewater Hotel
Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing