We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is pretty nice. Clean rooms, great balconies, good staff. The parking garage is horrible. Way too tight. I didn't want to park in it and wouldn't come back just based on that. The pool is really nice but pretty small. Breakfast is a joke but there is mcdonalds just down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CosmoBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 985 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the middle of october. Friendly and accommodating staff at the front desk. We had a room with a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub which was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was okay. The hotel was in a good location to the strip. There is a little stream that runs in front of the hotel that is quite pretty. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowflake74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at The Edgewater for two nights this October. The service varied from friendly to coolly professional, but that didn't seem strange given this is the busiest time of the year for them. The rooms were small and badly designed as was the hotel as a whole. On the plus side the elevators gave you time to reflect and ponder life as we know it.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wipfel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We try to go to Gatlinburg a couple times a year and have stayed in several places, and we very much enjoyed the Edgewater Hotel. We arrived early, and even though our room was not ready, we were able to check in and park in the parking garage while our room was being cleaned. The location is perfect for walking around town and close to many main attractions. We reserved a river-side room overlooking Gatlinburg. At check in, I recommend requesting a room on a higher floor so you can enjoy the view from your balcony. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The indoor jacuzzis are okay but still nice after a long day of shopping and sight seeing. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast. It has the norms of most hotels including making waffles, but Saturday morning also included sausage with biscuits and gravy, and on Sunday there were eggs instead of sausage. It was quite crowded, but that may have just been our particular weekend. Some people complain about the slow elevators, but I think the issue is too many people using them at the same time: check in and check out times. Other than that, the elevators were fine. I think you will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors river side.Great views of Gatlinburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just got back from a family vacation to Gatlinburg. This hotel was excellent. The employees were super friendly and accommodating. We asked for more towels and within minutes she was at our door with the towels. The room was great...comfortable beds and very clean. We loved the convenience to the main strip. The pool was great and our children loved it. The free breakfast was nice and we could sit in the dining area overlooking the creek. All in all we have found our new place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indimom0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at The Edgewater Hotel October 5th-8th and found it to be a nice hotel with a great location. The hotel shows its age a bit, but in no way is it ran down. Check in and out was a fast and the continental breakfast was fine, but get there early they run out before it closes. The hotel seemed quiet despite it being peak season and a conference at the hotel. Parking is a bit bit tight but no bother.Pool was nice for the kids and it was kept wery clean. The only negative I found was the elevators were SLOW but all in all I would stay here again, price was reasonable and view and location were great.

Room Tip: View of the town is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apd1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Me and my 3 teenage kids were in Gatlinburg just for a weekend getaway. We got into Gatlinburg around 10 in the morning and was able to check into our room. Roberta at the front desk was great. She is actually the receptionist in the picture on the website. She is very kind, understanding and helpful. The location of the hotel was great. Didnt have to move ma car at all. The trolley stop is right out front of the hotel and it even goes into pigeon forge. The only problem was that my tv stopping working my first night but maintance quickly came up and replaced it. The next morning they upgraded my room at no extra cost. The parking was small but i have a small car so that was not a problem at all. THANKS ROBERTA.

Room Tip: Get the city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonroland201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Edgewater. We appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay and our staff. I will pass them on to Roberta and the Maintenance Department.
We look forward to your next visit when you're in the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,

JoAnn Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 78 in Gatlinburg
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $92 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing