We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the Edgewater”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Edgewater”
Reviewed February 5, 2008

We stayed here in December for a little getaway before Christmas. We got a good rate on the room and enjoyed our stay. This hotel is in a good location in Gatlinburg. We were close to downtown and enjoyed walking from the hotel. The pool was indoor and heated (kids enjoyed). We also enjoyed the free breakfast. The rooms are not new but were clean and comfortable. They are remodeling also. We would stay here again on our next Gatlinburg trip.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funtravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    324
    162
    80
    44
See reviews for
350
293
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

check into The Edgewater hotel in Gatlinburg.I was a little nervous since the reviews were bad.But, since i am in a travel club I could get the room for $60.00 a night so I was going to complain to much.
Well over all I was very pleased with the room.527.It had a great view of the mountains, river road,Gatlinburg skyline,and the creek below.The room was clean except for the one old vent for the heat.I am not sure that was the one that was working anyway. The sheets,carpet,curtains,and bathroom was very clean. The hairdyer was ancient but worked.
We went swimming in the indoor pool with waterfall. It was not as warm as I would of liked but was do able. The pool area was a little run down but clean.The 2 hot tubs were clean.
The elevators were slow and garage was tiny.But most are at any hotel i have been too.There was plenty of luggage carts.The breakfast was the typical cont. fare.
Beds very clean.
Would recommend to anyone. Very close to all attractions.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — needs update , But Clean
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainlovergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellys Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

We have stayed at The Edgewater Hotel a few times, and we like the hotel and the location, but it really can use some upgrades. Which they are supposed to be doing soon! We had a Non-Smoking River Front Room on the 4th Floor. It was clean, but the carpet is really worn and just showing some age. We had the Continental Breafast one morning and it was ok - can't complain when it is free. Can't wait to come back next year after the Renovation is done to see what has changed!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2007

After reading all the bad reviews I thought I should set some things straight. This hotel is quite nice and in a great location! The rooms are not the greatest rooms I have ever stayed in, but definitely not the worst. They were clean and a nice size.

We stayed in a river view room on the 7th floor and had a really great view of the mountains and were able to see some of downtown Gatlinburg. Our 2 boys (12 and 9) loved the indoor/outdoor pool and the hot tubs. There were always plenty of clean towels at the pool area which was nice.

The breakfast was just average, but not bad. The hotel staff was very friendly and the maid service did a very nice job.

Overall I would stay at this hotel again. It is in a great location and you can walk everywhere in town. It is just a nice place to stay - nothing fancy, but clean and great location!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needed a better game room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank klk1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

My family of 4 (2 adults + 2 kids) stayed here for 2 nights and had a great stay. We booked on hotels.com and got a cheaper rate than directly through the hotel's website. The room was nice, roomy and very clean. I mean a normal average sized hotel room. We took full advantage of the free continental breakfast each morning. Normal things we eat -cereal, toast, pancakes, waffles, bagles, muffins, juice, coffee, milk. It saved us $20-$30 each day. The front desk clerk was very nice and offered to get us anything that we needed. Our room was on the 5th floor on the backside of the hotel. We looked out to the mountain, which was fine, we didn't spend any time on the balcony looking out. This hotel is on River Rd, which is easily within walking distance of most everything in Gatlinburg, even with 2 small kids and no stroller! The pool & hot tub were both clean and they do provide towels for you. After reading all the reviews about their parking garage I was anxious to see it. It was totally fine. Just like any other parking garage that I've been in. We didn't have any trouble parking my new Camry inside, and we saw plenty of vans and full-sized SUV's in there too. We also enjoyed wading in the creek that runs in front of the hotel, although we did find a snake in the water!! Just a little more excitement to our trip. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Gatlinburg and want a quiet location that is still close to everything, then the Edgewater is the place for you.

My family and I booked on of the family suites on the 8th floor facing the river and Gatlinburg. The suite is actually two adjoining rooms with one of the rooms set up as a living room with a couch, chair and a small dining table. The other room had two double beds. Both rooms had fireplaces and televisions. One of the best things about the suite was the two bathrooms. We also loved the awesome views. Whether day or night, there is always an incredible sight to see.

The 8th floor is the smoking floor and I was a little nervous that the smell would be too strong. The hallways were a little stale and smoky smelling but the rooms that we had didn't smell at all. (We were in 817 & 819.)

The staff was very friendly. ( We didn't have much need to interact with them, but when we did they were nice.) The free breakfast was good and consisted of cereal, doughnuts, muffins and juices. There were also pancakes, waffles, bagles and toast that you had to prepare yourself. Microwaves and toasters were provided. Butter, jellies and syrup were also provided.

My daughter would like to add that the pool and hot tub area is awesome.

All in all, we had a wonderful experience during our stay here and will definetly stay again.

I have a picture of the living room of the suite and of the hotel pool and exterior if you would like for me to email it to you.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Slow elevators on occasion
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mubadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Pros-
great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, free parking, yummy free breakfast

Cons-
PARKING GARAGE!!!!! I drive a Ford Expedition and I must say that it took us about 10 minutes to get that baby in a parking spot. SUV owners...If you don't want to go threw that hassle just arrive mid-day, when there are plenty of parking spots for you to choose from.
Elevator- The elevator was extreamly slow. It was programed to stop at every floor even when there was nobody there.

Overrall this was a very good place to stay at and I wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgiaGir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Property: The Edgewater Hotel
Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing