We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with amazing views!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a short, but amazing experience at Deer Ridge! We stayed in a Mountain View Condo, and the view was AWESOME! The condo (2 bed, 2 bath) was fully furnished, clean, and very comfortable.

If I had any criticism, it would be that the location of the resort is a little farther from the city than we would have liked, but it only took about 15 minutes to get to downtown Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in a mountain view condo (Fairways, #106), and the views were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suba2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Our experience at Deer Ridge Mountain Resort was exactly the kind of accommodation we were looking for. We wanted to be in a more rural, scenic area away from the commercial commotion of Gatlinburg; we wanted a place where we would have enough space for ourselves and our two adult children; and be able to relax.

The property is beautiful, not far from one of more popular trail heads. Once you get used to the drive up to the property (best done in daylight for the first time), we were never more than 20 minutes from shopping and restaurants.

The building could use a bit of TLC (some cracks in the walls, caulking around the tub, etc.), but very clean and otherwise well maintained.

We would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seisner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The place was great, clean rooms, comfortable beds and great attendants. I would recommend this condo to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bushido69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The condo was great for a family were you could do your own cooking and have a seperate room from the kids. The website photos show that its older decor - and it is so we were not surprised. These condos where built 25 years ago. The facility is very family friendly and there is a pay laundry room too. Jamie at the front desk was very accommodating and our mid-week rental allowed us not to be under another renter-as you can hear children running on the floors above.

Our kids did say the fold out couch was not comfortable...management could either get thicker pads or replace sofa sleepers with better quality. Our room key had a prefered customer card attached to Food City, the only food store in town. The condo has coffee filters for its machine but we had to buy (or bring) everything else we needed right down to sandwich bags and Pam cooking spray.

Once we saw how congested Gatlinburg was I was happy that we were out of town up in the trees with great views of the mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perduecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I traveled with our two kids and another couple. We were amazed by the view on the deck. The pool area was great at the resort, and the kids really enjoyed it. It was nice to have a park area were you could grill out and enjoy time with family and friends while taking in all the amazing scenry. Our room was clean, fresh and well-kept. It was the perfect size for us all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I only had a few minor problems at this resort. We were on the bottom floor and all night long we were awaken by other visitors going up and down the stairs. It was very loud. Also, you have to get anything you need (towels) before 11:00 at night from the front desk. We had to wait until the following morning for showers. There is no maid/housekeeping service during your stay. It is up to you to return used towels for new ones. You also have to set your own trash out at a certain location. The drive is further out from town, but worth it. The winding country road leads you to a breath-taking view at the top when you reach the resort. Overall, this place is excellant for the price. The staff is very friendly and I enjoyed my stay here. It is a very family oriented setting and hopefully we will be going back in the near future,

Room Tip: Book a condo on the top floor to avoid the noise of others traveling up and down the wooden stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KY41230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our reservation was for two nights. I have to say that we were very disappointed with the standard of the unit and only stayed one night (14th June) and left the morning of 15th June. Listed below are the reasons we cut our stay short. Their website certainly did not give you a true description of what to expect. It was no where near as grand as they say on the website. To add insult to injury the Manager would not offer to provide any sort of refund and said that their policies and procedures did not allow him to do so.

Overall the unit needed to be refurbished. Its furnishings, linen and towels were all very tired. Not all the electrical outlets within the unit worked. Some of the table lamps did not operate and all were old. When we tried to make up the sofa bed, the linen provided was grey not the original color white and for a Twin size bed instead of Queen size to fit the sofa matress. The bedspreads were hard and old as were the blankets that were provided. The towels were hard and old. I specifically asked for a room that faced East because we wanted to see the sunrise. The unit we stayed in certainly did not provide the beautiful sunrise view of the Smokey Mountains as stated on the website.
Overall cleaning of the unit was satisfactory except for the picture window which was streaky and did not promote the mountain view. The kitchen was the only part of the unit that was well equipped for which we were grateful. The total cost for our stay was around $240 and certainly not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank intnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Deer Ridge Mountain Resort. Our boys slept in the loft (they loved the spiral stair case and the flat screen TV in their room). We had 3 flat screen TVs - living room, master, and loft.

The indoor swimming pool was perfect - and typically empty as others were at the outdoor pool. The views are amazing!

Admittedly, the balconies are small... perfect for two chairs and a small table. The size, and height, made me a feel a bit uneasy the first time I stepped out. By the end of the day it was great sitting on the balcony, however.

Perhaps my only complaint are the wasps/bees. The gaps in the wood seemed to welcome their nesting. They never bothered us on the balcony, but they were plentiful enough that we always kept an eye on them.

The drive to the resort is a bit far from Gatlinburg... perhaps too long if you're staying a week. For a long weekend it didn't bother us. The roads are those like a log cabin - narrow, steep and winding. Yet they're well kept and easy to navigate.

The room offered a baby crib (for a small fee) and wireless internet access (not the greatest signal, but it worked).

In the end I found this resort to be a great value. The views are great - the amenities are perfect - the fact it's a condo (full kitchen, etc) rather than a hotel room is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Buildings A & B across from play ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aim4fame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
10.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
9.6 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
10 mi away
Laurel Inn Condominiums
Laurel Inn Condominiums
#18 of 52 in Gatlinburg
134 reviews
10.1 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Ridge Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Ridge Mountain Resort

Address: 3710 Weber Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-6450
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $107 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Ridge Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a condo resort located approximately 12 miles from downtown Gatlinburg, away from the hustle & bustle, but close enough to enjoy the restaurants, shops and attractions. We are close to several entrances to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park. There are 4 sizes of condos available for rental, accommodating 1 to 8 people. Each condo has a kitchen with full size appliances and pots & pans, a living room, wood-burning fireplace, plus a stunning, panoramic view of the Smokies. We have "The Best Views of the Smokies!" Come see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Deer Ridge Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Ridge Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Deer Ridge Mountain Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing