We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
New Orleans, LA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This is a decent hotel. Great location at the end of the main strip, so it is within walking distance of a lot of attractions. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was very good. One of the best free breakfasts I have ever had. The room was nice, pretty good size and equipped with a large flat screen TV and micro fridge. The balcony was nice, but the light outside of the door was distracting. The air conditioning did not work well, so the temperature was not always pleasant in the room. Overall, it was a pretty good place to stay and a decent value. The hotel needs to get rid of the $9 resort fee, which is ridiculous because this is not a resort!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRINOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    226
    125
    77
    52
See reviews for
254
210
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sharonville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My daughter, 9-year old grandson & I (grandma) just got back from our trip to Gatlinburg. We are NOT what you would consider "hard-to-please" kind of people. In fact this is the first time I've ever written a negative review about a hotel. The room rate is excessively high for what you get ($107/per night-$145 on weekends), plus each night there is an additional $30 in taxes. It was over $600 for 4 nights & not worth it.

Where to start - bright yellow/orange light outside our room on our "balcony" kept us awake most of the night. There was no curtain to pull over the door; curtain only covered the small window. There was a bright orange glow in the room all night. We couldn't use the patio because of lots of hornets buzzing around day & night. We couldn't turn on the hall light in our room because of the flickering. There is a very small breakfast area in the lobby for huge crowds of people; tables & floor very dirty; kept running out of food, utensils, donuts; had cereal but no milk. The coffee was like brown-colored hot water. The "free continental breakfast" was available from 7:00 am to 10:00 am & we were told by the front desk that "we were coming down from our room at the wrong time; you have to get there early." (We usually arrived between 9:00 & 9:15.) We gave up eating there. Wanted iced coffee twice in the afternoon & they were out of it both times. The "indoor/outdoor pool" - don't be deceived by that description. You have to go outside, thru the parking lot to the other end of the of the detached pool & hot tub building to use it. No way you could go there in the winter. The floor inside the pool area was very slippery; we saw several people fall, including my grandson. He said the water felt "thick." I don't even want to know what that was! When we checked out of the hotel we all said, "Never again!!"

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerJLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed at the Clarion for one week in July 2009. The location was good because it's on the main drag but at the quiet end of the parkway. The room was clean, fairly well furnished and comfortable but it was small for two queen-size beds. The staff was friendly. The hot breakfast is a joke because there's only enough seating for about thirty people(my estimate) and this is a large hotel. Breakfast was served(on plastic plates and paper cups) or I should say squeezed in between 7:00 - 10:00. We tried it one morning and went out for breakfast at local restaurants the rest of the week. It was like a circus with patrons trying to eat and find a seat. There is free wi-fi and local calls but they really aren't free; the hotel tacks on a $9 'resort' fee each day. This place is certainly no resort and the fee is a rip-off. There are so many hotel rooms in Gatlinburg competing for your $$ why stay here?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoRoOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed a couple of days at the Clarion during our recent visit to Gatlinburg and was pleased with several things about it. Our room was a two room suite with a great balcony which was roomy enough to accomodate five people and not just the three of us.
Bedroom and living area were very clean and updated. You actually felt like you were in a living room when you were in there. TVs were just recently changed over to flat screens. The beds were clean and very comfortable. Also, the breakfast area was very inviting and the food very good.
I can't vouch for the regular rooms, but the suite we were in was very nice, roomy and priced reasonably.
I would definitely consider it on my next stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckeyeTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I found that the hotel was very nice, the room was clean, frig. worked great, bathroom very clean, the breakfast was good they had, doughnuts, muffins, pancakes, fresh fruit, 4 kinds of cereal, milk, apple juice, coffee, eggs, biscuits n gravy, toast. Now as for the resort fee I didn't see where they were a resort. Pool was nice. Weight room was nice my boys enjoyed it. And as for the location it was great for us cause my boys got up early to go fishin and it was close by that they could walk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KennyFan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

March was the first time our family ever stayed here. We thought we would save a little money given the economy situation. Turns out my grandfather was right, you always get exactly what you pay for. The rooms were incredibly small and crampt. The beds were not horrible, but certainly not comfortable. The bed linens were in very worn condition, as were the stained towels. The backside of our comforter was stained with something that looked disgusting, so we exchanged that with a housekeeper. She said it was something that came it off in the wash, looked more like something that came off a decomposing mammal. The highlight of our value excursion was the Front Desk staff. They must be saving a lot of money in training becuase we did not find a service oriented employee in the bunch. No one knew anything about the area, restaurants, or added attractions since our last trip to the area, nothing, zip, zilch, zero. I am not sure they answered one single question we had. The breakfast was terrible. They snuck in a "resort fee" when they are not a resort at all, that seems a little shady. I am sure we have stayed in worse places, but its been a while since anything this bad in a destination spot. The pool was nice, I thought it needed cleaning more, but I was already jaded so I was looking for things to be wrong at that point. No, I would not stay here again, and No, I would not advise anyone else too either. I don't like saying bad things about hotels or anything else, but they could do a much better job if they just tried a little harder.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainlover1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, AL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

First time we had stayed at this hotel. The location was excellent - down the street from the heart of Gatlinburg so that you wouldn't have the noise all night long, but close enough to walk to all the attractions.

Our room was very clean and the cleaning staff did a great job each day. The only drawback was that the room was small (we had a regular two-queen bed suite) but since we were rarely in it that wasn't a big problem.

The attendants at the front desk was extremely nice and accommodating as was the attendant in the pool area. The continental breakfast was the standard fare with the attendant there visiting the tables and offering to dispose of paper plates, cups, etc. Very nice!

Would definitely stay at again - enjoyed this visit very much!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn & Suites

Property: Black Bear Inn & Suites
Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Black Bear Inn & Suites's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Black Bear Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Black Bear Inn & Suites is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing