We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can def find better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can def find better”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel felt run down and dirty to us. The pool wasn't heated as advertised and we never even got in during our 4 night stay. It's enclosed so you can't even lay out. The breakfast was good and staff very friendly and helpful. You only waited for omletes, the rest was in a buffet. The room smelled mildewy and our balcony faced the back parking lot, very disappointing. And I don't know why they charged $15 a night services fee on top of daily rate? We've stayed at nicer and cleaner hotels on previous trips.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The enclosed heated pool does have a retractable roof so that you may obtain sun while enjoying the pool. When making reservations I always suggest to call the hotel directly to confirm which side the balcony is located on. Once again thank you for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    226
    124
    75
    52
See reviews for
250
210
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is run down and dated. When we arrived and turned down our beds after a long day, we found dead bugs and hairs in the sheets. The front desk staff was extremely rude when we called to ask for some clean sheets. Someone brought us sheets in a garbage bag, and they too had hair all over them. Again, instead of apologizing for the poor condition of our sheets, they were rude, but did send up a third set which were okay. I left a tip for the housekeeping staff the next day, and they barely cleaned our room and left our breakfast plates and trash in our room, and they all were constantly bickering in the hallway. I felt dirty the whole time I was there, and have never been so happy to leave a place in my life. They desperately need to overhaul this hotel and hire nicer people. I do not recommend staying here and will not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and they have been passed on to the apporiate department heads. Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Port Huron, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. I thought the breakfast was the nicest I have ever had in a hotel -- other than ones that have a separate restaurant. The people working there work super hard, too, making omelets and restocking the breakfast. It is not true about having to wait in line. You can get the usual toast, bagel, waffle, yogurt, etc without going in line. If you wait in the line, you can get good hot food, much better than most restaurant buffets. The location cannot be beat -- it is almost in the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. I also noticed security guards in the parking lots and hallways keeping things safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nrocpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the full hot breakfast. The location of the hotel does make it very accessible to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Once again thank you for posting your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Where do I start? I guess breakfast would be a good start. The breakfast food is subpar compared to almost anywhere. It isn't the traditional continental breakfast where you walk up and eat what you like. You have to wait in line for a minimal selection of food. There were other things like cereal, yogurt, toast, and waffles available on walkup. For anything such as eggs, biscuits, or omelets, you had to wait. On our first morning, a Thursday, we got through with about a 5 minute wait. On Friday morning the line went past the front desk and and easily had twenty people in it. As a parent with three small kids it wasn't something I was willing to wait on. That's enough of that.
The rooms looked like they haven't been renovated in at least 20 years, which isn't a deal breaker to me, but were not very clean. Our carpet had a couple of very sticky spots that seemed to have gum ground into the carpet. The beds were by far the hardest thing I have ever paid money to sleep on. Our room faced the parking lot and had bright lights shining in all night and we had no way to block it. The balconies are about 6 feet apart and are not separated by anything. The rooms were not good.

The pool was advertised as heated along with a hot tub. The pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a few days and was way too cold to get in. The "hot" tub was as cold as the pool, and also did not look clean. If you look back over some other reviews (which I did DURING my stay) this is a reoccurring problem they evidently have no plans on fixing. I was very disappointed to see the same complaint in past reviews. I mentioned it to the desk girl upon checkout and was told "sorry." She acted surprised to hear that it was not working. After I mentioned reading reviews of this hotel on this website, her story changed.
Extremely long story short, don't waste your hard earned money or vacation time on people who run a place like this. I was very disappointed.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rickking714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. The pool area is always kept between 80' to 83' degrees and is inspected by the health department monthly with the scores always in the high 90's. We regret that during your stay the full hot complimentary breakfast area was busy. Once again thank you for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to be away from the bustle and noise of the "strip". There are only a few restaurants and stores at this end of the street so it is much less congested and quiet, and the park entrance is only a few steps away.
The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, checking us in quickly and providing us with information about the hotel. Loved the fact that they let you park your motorcycle under a covered area!
Our room was clean and comfortable and I loved the balcony with chairs and small table to be able to sit and relax on. Our housekeeper was the same each of our three days and was quick, friendly, and efficient. Thanks, Becky :)
Breakfast was a bigger variety than expected , the choice of having an omelette made to order was nice. This is a large hotel, so breakfast was quite busy every morning no matter what time we came down. My only suggestion would be to have a little more help, only 2 girls working each morning so you could wait awhile for an omelette and there was no one to clean the tables at times.
This was our first time staying at the Clarion brand and based on our experience here I wouldn't hesitate to choose again.

Room Tip: get a room on the street side to enjoy the balcony with it's mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmherstCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The private balconies can being very relaxing to sit out and capture the beauty of the Smokies. I passed along the great compliment to Ms. Becky with our Guest Services Department. Once again thank you for posting your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you want to stay "in town" or near the GSMNP, this hotel has the perfect location. The hotel is located just yards away from the park entrance. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained. Only in need of some minor cosmetic repairs. The staff was friendly and accommodating. However, when guests are at the front desk, they should keep their attention on them and not each others weekend plans (hope you had a great time with your kids!). Our room was very clean upon arrival and was maintained that way throughout our stay. However, other than fresh towels, none of the other amenities were restocked - no toilet paper (yikes!), tissues (necessary when toilet paper runs out), coffee or tea, cups, shower caps, shampoo, lotion, etc. We had to request them at the front desk and have them delivered to our room or run down a maids cart and ask for them each day. Even though our room faced the street, it was very quiet when the balcony door was closed. We did not hear any "hotel noise" during the night. The beds were very soft but not lumpy. The hotel offers a very nice breakfast each morning (although it is always the same) including made-to-order omelets, scrambled eggs, grits, sausage, biscuits/gravy, and potatoes. Cereals, breads, bagels, few pastries along with juices and fresh fruits are offered also. Coffee and fresh fruit were available in the lobby 24/7.

This hotel has a pool that is located in a building in the parking lot behind the hotel, we did not use the pool during our stay.

Even with prepaying our stay in full on choicehotels.com in order to receive a 20% discount, this hotel is overpriced (as is everything in Gatlinburg). There are less expensive hotels in area, but many do not include breakfast and/or are not as well maintained or just plain creepy. Parking is free for guests.

My only suggestion for this hotel is to get the omelet ladies some cooking spray! All omelets are cooked in an oil-slick because the hotel does not have cooking spray. My request for no oil was accommodated but it came out as a scrambled mess.

Room Tip: If you want to see the mountains, ask for an upper floor, street view. The rooms at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corcam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, full hot breakfast, and room with us. I have advised the Director of Guest Services regarding your amenities not being re-stocked accordingly. Thank you again for posting your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Mildew in bathtub around shower handles. We were told they had a heated pool but when we went out to use it the first night, it was ice cold. Apparently the heater had broken but we were not told of this so no heated pool. The fitness center had old, broken, rundown fitness equipment. This hotel had a potential to be very nice but needs definite improvement in several areas. There are much better hotels in the area for HALF the price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank momof3bluegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We regret that during your stay the heater to the pool had went down, however that issue has been fixed. Thank you again for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#33 of 78 in Gatlinburg
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn & Suites

Property: Black Bear Inn & Suites
Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Black Bear Inn & Suites's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Black Bear Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Black Bear Inn & Suites is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing