We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$107
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Creek Lodge(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bent Creek Golf Village(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gatlinburg Inn(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LeConte View Motor Lodge(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveler rating
202
234
127
83
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
234
127
83
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclarion innmade to order omeletsking suitehot breakfastpark entrancewould stay here againcity viewfree breakfastthe room was niceindoor poolup to datebalcony overlookingthe main stripconvention centerliving roompigeon forgecereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 702 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you want to stay "in town" or near the GSMNP, this hotel has the perfect location. The hotel is located just yards away from the park entrance. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained. Only in need of some minor cosmetic repairs. The staff was friendly and accommodating. However, when guests are at the front desk, they should keep their attention on them and not each others weekend plans (hope you had a great time with your kids!). Our room was very clean upon arrival and was maintained that way throughout our stay. However, other than fresh towels, none of the other amenities were restocked - no toilet paper (yikes!), tissues (necessary when toilet paper runs out), coffee or tea, cups, shower caps, shampoo, lotion, etc. We had to request them at the front desk and have them delivered to our room or run down a maids cart and ask for them each day. Even though our room faced the street, it was very quiet when the balcony door was closed. We did not hear any "hotel noise" during the night. The beds were very soft but not lumpy. The hotel offers a very nice breakfast each morning (although it is always the same) including made-to-order omelets, scrambled eggs, grits, sausage, biscuits/gravy, and potatoes. Cereals, breads, bagels, few pastries along with juices and fresh fruits are offered also. Coffee and fresh fruit were available in the lobby 24/7.

This hotel has a pool that is located in a building in the parking lot behind the hotel, we did not use the pool during our stay.

Even with prepaying our stay in full on choicehotels.com in order to receive a 20% discount, this hotel is overpriced (as is everything in Gatlinburg). There are less expensive hotels in area, but many do not include breakfast and/or are not as well maintained or just plain creepy. Parking is free for guests.

My only suggestion for this hotel is to get the omelet ladies some cooking spray! All omelets are cooked in an oil-slick because the hotel does not have cooking spray. My request for no oil was accommodated but it came out as a scrambled mess.

Room Tip: If you want to see the mountains, ask for an upper floor, street view. The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the pool house and parking lot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corcam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, full hot breakfast, and room with us. I have advised the Director of Guest Services regarding your amenities not being re-stocked accordingly. Thank you again for posting your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Mildew in bathtub around shower handles. We were told they had a heated pool but when we went out to use it the first night, it was ice cold. Apparently the heater had broken but we were not told of this so no heated pool. The fitness center had old, broken, rundown fitness equipment. This hotel had a potential to be very nice but needs definite improvement in several areas. There are much better hotels in the area for HALF the price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank momof3bluegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We regret that during your stay the heater to the pool had went down, however that issue has been fixed. Thank you again for posting your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were on the 5th floor and had a great view from the balcony (which tested my fear of heights but I lived)! We enjoyed people watching and looking across at the green mountainside. My hubby and took the stairs when we did not have luggage with us so that was a nice 'workout'. The breakfast was great..omelet bar, hot food choices, 2 kinds of waffles, etc. The staff was very friendly. The price is a little higher than other places but when you factor in free parking, breakfast, great location and quality it was well worth it!

Room Tip: Get a room strip-side and higher up so you can look around.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay with us. Way to go on overcome your fear of heights. I think the best views are from the higher balconies as well. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient and rooms are clean. Wi Fi is very fast and breakfast is great. Only problem we had was elevator was extremely slow and only 1 was working. Climbed 6 flights several times and would beat elevator.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of location and the cleanliness of the your room. We look forward to your next visit with us while your in the Smokies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Okay let me first say that it is in a perfect location and the rooms are very clean and great housekeeping staff very friendly and very helpful. Now as far as the day we checked in the girl at the desk were both rude the whole group said the little blonde working at the desk had a very poor attitude eye rolling at some of the people and just rude. The dark hair girl at the desk is not the nicest person came down to see if we could change rooms as they had us on then 6th floor and one elevator was down and the other takes like 20 minutes just to get to you. But before I came down I had called the desk to see if it was possible and the girl was rude and was like mam I am going to have to call you back in a rude voice. So when I arrived at the desk and told them that taking 6 flights of stairs with a 1 year old is going to difficult she was like mam their is nothing else avaliable when I had known for a fact their were rooms available because the rest of our group had not yet checked in and we could have swapped rooms with someone who didn't have kids. So finally she went and got Tyler the manager and he handled it just fine.....

I just want to tell you I am not the only person to complain about your front desk staff. Especially the little blonde needs to work on her customer service and smiling a greeting. I know what working in the hotel industry is like I worked in a indoor waterpark for 5 years as a manager of the hotel. I know how customers are to be handled and made sure they were taking care if as Tyler did. Also just a little note we had a pack in play brought up to our room 2 of them. The first was covered in urine and looked like vomit stained up and never cleaned. Second one also had stains all over it. IT was so gross I just my child sleep in my bed.

But I really want to thank the housekeeping staff on our room it was so clean

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We're so pleased to hear that our rooms were clean and housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful. We regret the experience you encountered with the Front Desk staff and we have begun to take immediate action as this is not the way we train our staff. Once again thank you for bringing that to our attention and rest assure we have taken action steps to correct that. We look forward to your next visit to the Smokies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews