We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Great Hotel for a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Clarion is located in a fairly convenient location (it's at the end of the Parkway), and was very clean. The beds were comfortable & I loved our little balcony. I also loved the free hot breakfast and the fact that coffee was available all day & night. The staff I spoke with were friendly & helpful. It's not a new hotel & the bathrooms show some wear, but everything was clean & I have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your most recent stay with us. We were very pleased to hear that very experience at the hotel was enjoyable for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Smokies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    223
    120
    74
    51
See reviews for
245
202
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The breakfast buffet is very nice, and I love the location of this hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable. I also liked the balcony. The pool is not very convenient, and it was almost too hot to stay out there in that glass enclosed room. However, because of its location, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhc2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that your were able to enjoy the breakfast, the spacious rooms and your own private balcony. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed 3 or 4 times in this friendly, efficient hotel. I am in a wheelchair and the entire hotel is accessible. The roll in shower did not have a seat when we checked in but one was quickly found. The breakfasts are second to none, with a choice of cooked - sausage, egg. home fries etc. omelettes made to order with various fillings plus cereals, waffles, fruit etc etc. The hotel is clean and all the staff friendly. A must stay in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramadecore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg appreciates you taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that the hotel was accessible to all your needs. The breakfast does have a lot to choose from. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Several years back this was one of the top hotels in Gatlinburg. Previous to this latest stay, it had been about five years since the last time I stayed here. Let me say that this place is showing its age. It's a shame that the owners have not kept this place up to the standards of a few years back. Carpets were worn, wallpaper peeling, and bathroom could certainly use some attention. With some updating and deep cleaning this place could easily be back up to par. The hotel isn't bad, but not great like it was in the past. This place is in a good location on the strip and the room was very quiet even though the place appeared to be nearly full. Staff was friendly, but the breakfast area was completely overwhelmed and not capable keeping up with the number of guests. A line waiting to get to the breakfast extended across the lobby and didn't seem to be hardly be moving, so we opted to go elsewhere for breakfast. Won't be staying here again anytime soon unless it were for a considerably lower rate than what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbytravelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We regret that your stay didn't meet your expectations and the issues that you have brought to our attention have been forwarded to management. We were glad to hear that you recieved friendly staff and like the convenience of the location of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Smokies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Close to everything. Clean rooms. Overall enjoyable and a good choice for economically conscious family. Definitely would stay here again. The staff was polite and the overall atmosphere was very family friendly. Wonderful weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. The location of the hotel makes it very convenient to access all that downtown has to offer without getting into your vehicle. We are very pleased to hear that you will be bringing your family back to make some more Smoky Mountain memories. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here alone while my husband hiked to Mt. Leconte. The front desk attendants were very nice and helpful. The room was clean, and I really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and drinking my coffee both at night and in the morning. The breakfast was the only thing that I could not give a stellar rating, but that was not my reason for staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaMarie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
The Clarion Inn Suites Gatlinburg appreciates you taking the time to post your review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that the Front Desk delivered such excellent customer services during your stay. The private balconies over looking the parkway make it very convenient to sit and relax and enjoy town. We hope that next time during your stay you will have time to enjoy the complimentary full hot breakfast that we offer to all our guest. We look forward to your next visit and once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

When we arrived to Gatlinburg, I drove around looking for the best hotel. First! There are no great hotels in Gatlinburg. I decided to try Clarion because it is one of the only hotels on the strip. ( not motel)
When I walked in, I was excited because it looked like it was newer. I thought that $169 would not be bad for a newer hotel and 2 bedroom suite. We got off the elevator and the carpet was so dirty in the halls, there was spit on the elevator door and the halls had a terrible smell. When we got to the room, the bathroom floor was so slippery that I was immediately grossed out. Compared to the other motels I checked out, this was by far the best choice, for that reason I will never ever go back to Gatlinburg again or I will book a cabin. The breakfast was far from average and should not be a selling point. I feel cheated and do not feel that my stay was worth $415. Wish I could call corporate and get my $$ back. Clarion's corporate officers should spend a night and see if they feel it is worth it.

One nice thing though was the water in the shower made my hair feel fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acg2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
The Clarion Inn Suites Gatlinburg appreciates you taking the time to post your review regarding your most recent stay with us. The hotel regrets that your stay was less than enjoyable for you. The concerns in which you made us aware of have been forwarded to the manager that is in charged of that department so those issues may be addressed. Once again thank you for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn & Suites

Property: Black Bear Inn & Suites
Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Clarion's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Clarion Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Clarion is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing