We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok if you dont use a travel agency”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed October 19, 2011

cause i used priceline,they wouldnt up-grade my room even when i was willing to pay the difference.
was on the back side with a balcony,but couldnt move to the street side with a balcony eventhough there were rooms available.priceline said it was at their desrecion,that it didnt matter to them.i thought hotels wanted to make money,silly me.so if you dont want to get punished,dont use a travel agency.the pool and hot tub are away from the building in the middle of the parking lot and the controls on the hot tub dont work.the pillows are comfy.the eggs and grits are cooked in used fish oil,but the rest of the food is good.

Room Tip: ask to see a room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardruler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 4, 2011

The Clarion Gatlinburg regrets that your experience didn't meet your expectations. Unfortunately when using a travel agency they can not guarantee room location. The hotel has always tried to accomodate all guest requests if the requests are available. When booking reservations online and/or through travel agencies the hotel always recommends calling the hotel directly to verify room type and location. The hotel is more likely to have the request available at that time rather than at check in. The Clarion Gatlinburg would like to assure you that we use vegetable oil in preparing the breakfast and would never consider using a fish oil. The hotel and the staff hopes that you will continue to use Clarion Gatlinburg as your choice of lodging in the Great Smoky Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 698 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It exceeded our expectations. It is very clean, staff is friendly and the hot breakfast is good. There is coffee/tea/hot chocolate available in the lobby all day and fresh fruit also. They have something fresh baked everyday at 5:00 in the lobby which is nice and makes the hotel smell great! The bed, bedding and pillows are very comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in downtown Gatlinburg or there is a trolly stop right by the hotel if you want to take advantage of that. If we return to Gatlinburg, we won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 18, 2011

The Clarion Gatlinburg is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel always strives to go above and beyond expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the hotel and anyone who may read this. The Clarion Gatlinburg looks forward to your next stay in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Great location, great service and great breakfast. I called the morning of our arrival day to check availability and was surprised when the young lady at the desk called me by name & explained she was the peron who had made my reservation......super personal touch. The rooms and corridors were very clean and had a clean fresh smell, unlike some other hotels I have stayed in. The only thing I did not like was the $10/room Resort Fee. The "hot" breakfast [made to order omlettes, sausage, bacon, etc]. was very good and is much better than having to walk down the street and wait in line.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelizsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 18, 2011

The Clarion Gatlinburg is very pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We strive to provide a more personable experience to our guests to make them feel like they are apart of our "Clarion Family". The hotels $10.00/day Resort Fee addresses amenities such as 24 hour coffee bar, Secured Parking, and the only nightly armed security guard in Gatlinburg. The hotel was glad to hear that you enjoyed our full hot breakfast. We look forward to your future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have stayed here several years ago and it was nice but in need of an upgrade. They obviously have! The room was quiet, the hot tub brand new and roomy enough for two, the fireplace heated up the two rooms in a matter of moments, the bed and pillows were like sleeping on a comfy cloud:) The location cannot be beat, we parked our car and didn't get back in until checkout!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VesnaGatlinburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 6, 2011

The Clarion Gatlinburg is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our NEWLY remodeled rooms. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access all the downtown has to offer without having to get in your vehicle. The Clarion Gatlinburg awaits your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Clarion was very convenient. It's located in downtown Gatlinburg and is walking distance to everything. We were attending an event at the convention center and could not have been happier with the location. Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. They have a great complimentary breakfast, preparing omelets on the spot for you. They have a bowl of complimentary fruit in the lobby throughout the day. The rooms were very clean with roomy bathrooms and very nice, comfortable bedding. I love the feel of nice quality sheets and quality bedding at the end of the day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnieMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 20, 2011

The Clarion Gatlinburg is pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. The location of the Clarion Gatlinburg does make it convenient for our guests to access the convention center, however if your visit is for leisure it also allows you access to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, attractions, fine dining,shopping and all that Gatlinburg has to offer. The Clarion Gatlinburg is very delighted to hear that the staff was friendly, helpful, and accomodating. The Clarion Gatlinburg strives in providing the most excellent customer service to all our guests. The Clarion Gatlinburg looks forward to your future stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night, the room was nice, had a small balcony but it had blinds on the balcony door so at night the light shined right through them. We had to hang a blanket over the door because it was too light in the room to sleep. The pool is in another building in the middle of the parking lot. They add $10 per night Resort tax when you check out that was not informed of upfront when we booked it. They had a power outage right after we checked out. Good location, but don't like additional charges added on.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleyrider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Service was good and friendly,the room was clean and really nice just like the pictures online showed.Great location on the strip,not to loud but close enough to everything.The free breakfast was good, but did not like that they did'nt have bacon, only sausage.There was a coffee area where you could get coffee anytime of the day, and that was nice.I would definitely stay here again and recommend it,seems to be a great place for kids to.

Room Tip: Get room facing strip for moutain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 7, 2011

The Clarion Gatlinburg is very pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. The Clarion Gatlinburg is always eager to receive guests feedback. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access all of downtown Gatlinburg. I will pass on your request for the bacon to our Food Service Manager. The 24 hour Coffee Bar does make it nice when you need that jolt of energy to get you through the rest of the day. The Clarion Gatinburg is looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn & Suites

Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3108 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $103 - $1,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Black Bear Inn & Suites's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Black Bear Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Black Bear Inn & Suites is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing