We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the brookside is uncrowded, vintage in a good way”
Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brookside Resort
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
morristown,tn
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the brookside is uncrowded, vintage in a good way”
Reviewed July 20, 2007

my husband and i have stayed at the brookside lots of times. the rooms are big and most look out on a lovely stream. there is a nice little playground for smaller children. i like the room's dark paneling and the swag lights in the bath--so 1960's, but well-maintained. this hotel gives me a good feeling. it's not on the tourist strip; you must go a short distance into town for that.

  • Liked — the stream, the space, the quiet. the slightly old-fashioned decor.
  • Disliked — there wasn't anything i didn't like.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    293
    177
    105
    152
See reviews for
397
402
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We stayed here and was very unsure about it at first considering price and have never heard too much about it. Upon arriving we loved it. it was very peaceful, nice stream, recreational things to do there, nice clean rooms, and nice pool. it was everything we were looking for with the trip. i would definetly stay here again. i would very much recommend this place.

  • Liked — creek
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new carlisle, oh
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2006

We have 5 kids and this hotel was great! Very relaxing. If you like to walk or ride the trolley. The staff is great. They never flinch at our dumb questions. Love the room and the view. We will always stay here!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Call the hotel directly for info. They are really nice and will give you the best deal. Thanks to them we saved lots of $ and got an extra night!
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storm0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Sorry, I can't recommend this hotel anymore. We used to stay there several years ago, and for the sake of economy (we thought) decided to stay there again. I was disappointed right away that there was no coffe pot furnished with the room. I even called the desk to comment on that, and was told they did not furnish coffee pots. Then, there was no hair dryer, either. The beds were so hard, we went to Walmart and bought foam eggshells to put on the bed. After two nights, and on the third morning the water in the shower went from extremely hot to cold duing the shower, we checked out early. The lady at the office was nice about the check out and refunded our money. We actually found a cheaper and much better place in Pegion Forge.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank barbikn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

I just returned from Gatlinburg and stayed at Brookside for the second time this year. The stay was wonderful. Big change from when I was there in April. We stayed in rm # 353 and it has just been recently decorated. The room was immaculate. Absolutely no complaints what-so-ever.

  • Liked — CLEAN
  • Disliked — PARKING
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovintheSmokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biloxi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2006

we loved it and after Katrina its just what we needed. it was cabin like with out the expense. walking distance or a trolley ride to everything. the fire place and creek was great. the only bad thing was the directions on their brochure. the was upside down. we are going back in Jan. and the whole immediate family is going. very relaxing

  • Liked — the fireplace
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — turn the brochure upside down to read the directions
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mccloskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

After looking at dozens of hotels in the Gatlinburg area with the help of this website, my wife and I decided to book a stay at the Brookside Resort as part of our Smoky Mountains getaway. Based on the reviews, we expected a hotel that was dated yet clean, had a nice view of a brook, and featured a number of nice amenities onsite. While Brookside had its advantages, the experience didn't quite live up to the expectations.

In general, it appears Brookside would have been a nice resort 20-30 years ago. While being "dated" isn't always a bad thing, some of the amenities tend to fall more on the "run down" side rather than the "quaint" or "rustic" side. While this was true for some of the rooms, it was especially true for many of the onsite amenities, such as the children play equipment, basketball court, and other features that would draw guests to the hotel.

We upgraded to a streamside room with the promise of a wonderful water view and the experience of waking up to the sound of a brook. You could only experience this, however, by accessing an old cement balcony through a solid door (no window, screen, etc). While this was better than no brook at all, the experience was overpromised and underdelivered... The room was also somewhat small and dark (especially the bathroom/shower).

Having said this, the Brookside Resort is the type of "underdog" hotel you want to root for, and it did have its advantages... Very friendly front desk staff, a relatively nice outdoor pool, quiet, etc. And with some upgrades and renovations, some of its original allure could hopefully be restored. But in the end, if you want a hotel that offers solid value as part of your Gatlinburg experience, there are alternatives that are newer, nicer, and may better meet your expectations.

  • Liked — Price/Value
  • Disliked — Too many amenities run down
  • Tips/Secrets — Only consider if upgrading to at least a Deluxe room or higher
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Randy_From_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Property: Brookside Resort
Address: 463 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you're on the property, it feels like you're in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 outdoor pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", "Teddy Bear" waffles, hot oatmeal with brown sugar & raisins, a variety of cold cereals, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg's premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, in-room safes, new linens, and many have remodeled bathrooms with much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing