We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brookside Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rainbow Motel(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Sleep Inn & Suites(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Side(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Parkview Inn(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveler rating
348
342
216
128
177
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
342
216
128
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood burning fireplacebabbling brookbalcony overlookingthe riverbiscuits and gravyroom was spacioustrolley stopan older hotelnice poolfree breakfastfamily reunionclose to downtownhot tubpigeon forgestreamkitchenetteupgrades
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
939 - 944 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is good value for what you get. they always seems to have some deal going on either Groupon, Living Social, or Amazon Local, so you can't really beat the prices considering the rooms and location. The room was clean and comfortable, if a little dated. The breakfast was adequate, and the service was ok. It certainly wasn't outstanding, by any means, but I had no complaints. It was within walking distance of all the attractions (if you don't mind about a ten minute walk) and is is very picturesque out back with the creek running past.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a couple, ask for a room with a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank as1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The room was great. We bought the discounted room rates on Amazon Local and were pleasantly surprised.

Let me start by saying that it truly is so close to the main strip that you can walk, but far enough away for true peace and relaxation! We loved it and will definitely stay here again!

We stayed on the fourth floor, in a Deluxe King room. The view of the stream was great and we were able to enjoy the sound from our private balcony.

We had a fireplace in our room, it being summer it went unused, but there is a firewood, smokey smell, from the fireplace, which I enjoyed but my husband did not. You either like it or hate it... I loved it.

The air conditioner was a little older and did leak onto the balcony, when in use. It wasn't a huge deal to us though, since it didn't impede on our balcony time.

Our concern was that elevator. It seemed that if someone was riding down from the one floor and had made it to the main level then someone on another floor pushed the button, it would go back up, before letting the other riders out. It's hard to explain, but needless to say, we took the stairs most of the time.

The rooms are quiet and we didn't hear a peep from the people on either side of us. Even on the balcony.

Like I said, we'll be back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Faith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise T, Manager at Brookside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Brookside Resort professional elevator servicemen were on site to fix the elevator immediately. We regret that sometimes things break and soon, according to schedule, the elevator with be modernized. The Great Smoky Mountain National Park provides hundreds of miles of trails throughout the park. Apologize that for this day our stairways at both ends of Clingman Tower became a climb for our guests. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just got back from our night in Gatlinburg (great deal courtesy of Living Social).This resort is in a wonderful location. It's just out of town, less than a mile, and I believe all the rooms have a back deck on the babbling brook. Front entrance is off the parking lot so the rooms are huge. You are better off outside of town. I wouldn't want to stay amidst the hectic chaos of downtown. Brand new bathroom and beautiful clean bed linens. Comfortable king bed-not too firm as one person said. The A/C should have been on when we entered because it smelled a bit-but that went away immediately after turning on the air. We both really enjoyed the pool-nice and clean. Give it a try-you won't be sorry. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun-in-the-sun292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It is not the newest hotel on the strip but it is quaint they offer us a great rate because we always stay there. Close to main drag and on a stream. It is on the North side of town but only a couple of blocks from everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soggy-Dollar-Bar-JVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Back in the day, this was likely one of "the" places to stay in Gatlinburg. By back in the day, we're talking 1940's ... the sign at the reception desk indicates they have belonged to the Gatlinburg Chamber since 1940.

For a very economical price, we got a room with a nice king bed, fireplace, jacuzzi, and balcony overlooking a mountain stream. The setting was unbeatable.

On the other hand, our shower rod fell the first night when we pulled the shower curtain back. We reported it and they never fixed it. Breakfast didn't start until 8:00 and it was the same saw mill gravy, hard biscuits, and dry oatmeal every morning. The "waitress" did nothing in terms of refilling or helping, yet there was a large tip jar right in front of us every day.

On checkout, the person at the desk was most apologetic about the shower rod. She gave us a discount coupon for a future stay. She did good and made up for a lot of the lack of response from the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews