We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stayed here for years”
Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookside Resort
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It is not the newest hotel on the strip but it is quaint they offer us a great rate because we always stay there. Close to main drag and on a stream. It is on the North side of town but only a couple of blocks from everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soggy-Dollar-Bar-JVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
There are newer reviews for Brookside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

Back in the day, this was likely one of "the" places to stay in Gatlinburg. By back in the day, we're talking 1940's ... the sign at the reception desk indicates they have belonged to the Gatlinburg Chamber since 1940.

For a very economical price, we got a room with a nice king bed, fireplace, jacuzzi, and balcony overlooking a mountain stream. The setting was unbeatable.

On the other hand, our shower rod fell the first night when we pulled the shower curtain back. We reported it and they never fixed it. Breakfast didn't start until 8:00 and it was the same saw mill gravy, hard biscuits, and dry oatmeal every morning. The "waitress" did nothing in terms of refilling or helping, yet there was a large tip jar right in front of us every day.

On checkout, the person at the desk was most apologetic about the shower rod. She gave us a discount coupon for a future stay. She did good and made up for a lot of the lack of response from the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

First let me say it wasn't bad enough to leave and get another room somewhere else. They have rooms that allowed us to bring our dog, but for the price it should have been nicer.
1) we fought with the fitted sheet on the bed ALL night long. It didn't fit the bed. And the bed was not comfortable.
2) the private balcony left a little ( or a lot) to be desired. The 2 chairs were not very appealing to sit in, which we didn't. I was afraid they would break. And the small table was very dirty looking.
3) I know the room I had, is one used with pets, but there was an odor in the room.
4) the shower is probably the worst I have encountered, no water pressure at all!
We paid a lot for the room and I was expecting it to be on the main parkway where all the action is but be aware it is not. It is on the East parkway. Not where all the stores and restaurants are. This was my fault not Brooksides,but just know it is away from the main strip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waconurselynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after buying an online voucher advertising fireplaces and Jacuzzis. We arrived, but there were neither. Perhaps some rooms do have them, but ours didn't.

However, the room was a nice comfortable size with a high ceiling, ceiling fan, skylight, and lovely brookside balcony with seating. Some reviewers complain it's dated; I found it very homey.

It's just a short walk from the main tourist district in Gatlinburg, which was perfect as it was close, but far enough away to be quiet.

I would certainly recommend it, especially for the price, but I would also recommend asking specifically what amenities your room will offer, as they seem to vary randomly.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank caffeinatedjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I actually really loved my stay at the Brookside Resort. The distance from the main part of Gatlinburg was refreshing, as it meant there wasn't foot traffic along the road at night. The room I stayed in was comfortable. My only qualms are that some of the aspects of the room seem a bit old. There was a crack in the wall of the bathroom, and the mini fridge and AC were a bit old. But considering the price, the room was otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexx416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Visited this property with an admittedly low bar but was very pleasantly surprised. Older decor, but clean and there was a fridge and fireplace. Staff was courteous and helpful. Trolley stop in front of the property was nice and the deck overlooking the brook was peaceful. Good value for a family trip and close to the main drag in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaceh0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1.1 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Address: 463 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $65 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you're on the property, it feels like you're in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 outdoor pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", "Teddy Bear" waffles, hot oatmeal with brown sugar & raisins, a variety of cold cereals, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg's premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, in-room safes, new linens, and many have remodeled bathrooms with much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing