We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go”
Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookside Resort
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The room was yellow shag stained carpets, the bed had hairs on it, the bathroom was dated with harvest yellow toilet and countertop. The ceilings had numerous cob webs. The location was not convenient to much as it was off the main road up a hill. We honestly opened the door stayed about 5 minutes and checked out. We was booked for a 3 day stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kelly4360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
There are newer reviews for Brookside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a clean hotel on a budget. Our kids loved it. We stayed in room 317 in the Clingman's building. Room was clean, bug free & did not smell like smoke. We enjoyed the pool & the creek. I would recommend this to anyone who is not high maintenance. The only thing that was wrong with the room was several stains on the carpet, HOWEVER the carpet was clean. We actually like the older decor & lodge type feel. There was a large flat screen tv also. Wifi worked great. They were not serving the signature breakfast bowl, but they did have gravy with biscuits, oatmeal fixings, cereal, bagels & fruit. The trolley stops right out front if you are not wanting to drive downtown. 50 cents a person & it runs until midnight. Staff was friendly. No problems checking in or out. Elevator is a little weird, it would stop at floors where no one was there....no big deal though! It is also glass so you can see out (for those who may have anxiety about enclosed spaces) There is also a playground, basketball court & shuffleboard court. They provide towels at the pool as well. The pool had a waterfall & 2 slides. It looks larger in pics, but was still plenty big enough. There is also a pool in the same area for toddlers. We didn't use the hot tub, but there were people in it. There's also another pool I believe over by the Creekside Building. You should leave your window open at night so you can listen to the creek, it's very soothing. The balconies overlook the creek in most rooms. There's also a pizza place right next door. If you are a down-to-earth person who loves character this is the place for you! If you have any questions you can message me!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDRYDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

No complaints. Very clean(with exception of carpets), not a lot of noise. Very friendly staff. Décor , carpet and bathroom are 70's, but I had no problems with that. The only thing we did not like is the carpets needed steam cleaning. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freckles45Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great place to stay in Gatlinburg. Close to downtown area. Excellent view and sounds from brook in rooms on back side. Excellent room service. Rooms have fireplace for Winter stay. Nice balcony on back next to brook. Love the sound of rushing water.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ws2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I love this place! The staff was absolutely wonderful. They were kind, helpful, and very courteous. We brought our whole children's choir(about 89 people altogether). The kids were over the moon with everything they were able to do. The pool was amazing, the playground was great, and the creek behind the hotel was beautiful. I love how each room has a balcony. It was so relaxing to sit on the balcony and listen to the creek. The rooms themselves were huge! I can't wait to come back in cooler weather and put the fireplace to use!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BriBullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

It is a quaint hotel at a good location with a nice pool. The hotels most enduring feature is the stream that runs behind it, with a nice view from the balcony. The room was descent size with the basic amenities but all on all the hotel needs a lot of updating and seriously needs to retrain the housekeeping staff. Though very quiet and peaceful we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fordman352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were supposed to have a non smoking room for four nights. The first night we were given a smoking room. The staff on duty said that we could not get another room until the next day. The staff admitted that a mistake had been made, that we had booked a non smoking room. The next morning, we had to remove our lugaage and repack everything into our vehicle to keep from getting more smoke smell on our belongings. We were not able to get a non smoking room until the afternoon. When we checked out, the person checking us out said that we were supposed to not be charged for the first night. When it was brought to his attention that the charge was still on the bill, he said that a manager would have to make the change. The manager was supposed to contact us the next day and issue the refund. Two weeks later and after several calls, we have been informed that we will only get a refund for half a day. The non smoking room had cobwebs on the ceiling. We had to eat breakfast at local restaurants due to the breakfast at the motel not being diabetic freindly. Pay the extra money and stay at a quality, caring motel instead of this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1.1 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Address: 463 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $65 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you're on the property, it feels like you're in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 outdoor pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", "Teddy Bear" waffles, hot oatmeal with brown sugar & raisins, a variety of cold cereals, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg's premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, in-room safes, new linens, and many have remodeled bathrooms with much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing