We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay!”
Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brookside Resort
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Reasonable rate for clean, comfortable, roomy, romantic resort! My husband and I came up from Florida and will definitely stay here again. Room with balcony overlooking mountain stream with wood fireplace! The staff was very friendly, courteous and accommodating! Breakfast included biscuits and gravy, delicious homemade breakfast casserole.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FerrellM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    313
    195
    115
    162
See reviews for
447
420
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I had to come here for a wedding and we decided to stay at Brookside because the Chapel was not far from there. It was a very nice stay. It's not to far of a walk to all the shops and far enough from the traffic. I will stay here again! The rooms were nice but we were not in them very long because there is so much to do here. The balcony view with the water is so nice but keep in mind it is a loud but I liked that. Give this place a try I don't think you will be sorry you stayed here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank unique_sjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was certainly not what I pictured as a resort, although it was adequate. The room was paneled and dark, even with the curtains open and in full daylight. That side of the hotel is always in shade, although it does overlook the creek, which is a plus. There is a fireplace, but no wood until we went back to the office to ask. It would have been good if they had offered the wood when we checked in, as well as the internet code. The room was clean and the bed was firm but comfortable. Unexceptional linens.
The breakfast the next morning was pleasant. The lady cooking the egg baskets was friendly and did a good job. There were apples and oranges, biscuits, gravy, cereal and bagels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvin2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Brookside Resort is an amazing location. Beautiful mountain stream with a balcony view, in-room fireplaces, great view of all of Gatlinburg, within walking distance of every attraction. Excellent place. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The only thing preventing my rating from being poor was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Now, if they could somehow manage to get the staff to do a little cleaning around there, it might go up a bit. Staying at Brookside is like stepping back in time to the 70s, when I'm sure the decor and overall look of the place was in style. The room was spacious, but also not particularly clean. The paint was peeling, there were water stains on the ceiling, the microwave looked like it had never been cleaned, and it looked like somebody had taken a baseball bat to the refrigerator.
The vending machine area and elevator were disgustingly dirty, and even the lobby area left a lot to be desired in terms of cleanliness and decor.
It's a bit of a stretch to call this place a resort. I'm not one for fancy hotels and suites, and in fact most of the time when I travel I just look for a clean place to stay, as we spend very little time in the room, but I at least expect it to be clean. Most low-priced quality inns I've stayed in were cleaner and more upscale than this place. If they would at least clean the place up a bit, the 70s themed decor would not seem so bad. Even with a discounted Living Social deal, it was not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASKY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We purchased four nights from Living Social. I called to ask about reservations Katie was very nice and helpful. She told me all the info to get and to call back. I called back and talked to Millie who was short and not very nice when I asked about the renovations she said that the most of the rooms had not been changed or undated since she had been there (over 20 years) but they do have intentions to replace the carpet and finish painting a few rooms at some point. When we got there we were hoping for a charming, rustic experince. First off we got there at midnight in the snow to a key packet on the door because there was noone to greet us. We walk into a very cold room and although there is fireplace wood is only offered for an additional cost. What was said to be a hot tub was a dirty tub with jets. The room was just old. Everything was so aged it looked dirty. I would not recommend this no anyone especially people with smaller kids. I would not stay there for free.

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed this weekend, It was bad. First we got there and the guy at the front desk seeemed like he didnt wanna be there, kinda bad attitude, but i was digging the lobby, Very Old school. They said breakfast was in the building we were in on the first floors. When you see where it's at it looks like a closet, like it might be skeevy. 3rd we get to the room, and it smells like burnt wood, granted it had a wood burning stove but after closed inspection it had very poor ventilation for the fireplace. The Closet door was falling off. The TV dresser had a tv on top, not in it so there was a big open area. There was food left in the fridge when we got there as was there cloths under the bed. I think thats about it. I dont think i'll go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#67 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Property: Brookside Resort
Address: 463 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you're on the property, it feels like you're in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 outdoor pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", "Teddy Bear" waffles, hot oatmeal with brown sugar & raisins, a variety of cold cereals, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg's premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, in-room safes, new linens, and many have remodeled bathrooms with much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing