We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful thought I felt like I was in the twilight zone.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brookside Resort
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful thought I felt like I was in the twilight zone.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Ok so for starters we switched rooms twice it doesn't help all of the rooms stink not just a little, the smell is horrible. The decor looks, like its from the seventies green bath tub and toilet to match.Stains all over, the carpet and to make, matters, worse were actually staying in a deluxe room . Funny to me cause it was more like a dump room. Beds were so hard, like sleeping on the, floor. It was awful this place should have been shut down years ago. Save your time and money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockinsockzsince87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    284
    174
    103
    148
See reviews for
386
392
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

This has been my favorite of all the hotels we have ever visited. The room was large and had an awesome view of the stream from our private balcony. The shower is a little short and the toilet was difficult to flush but it is the 'energy saver' type so that is understandable. We had an awesome time in Gatlinburg & we will be back next year to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Msmama01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I would love to say we enjoyed our trip to the mountains this year but that will not be a true statement. I won a eight night stay and a three night stay through WQSV AM 790 RADIO in Ashland City, Tn.. A month before and a week before and a day before we were to check in, Brookside confirmed our stay. After checking in and taking a nap I was woke up from my nap to have the manager and owner of Brookside telling me we were only staying for two nights take it or leave it and if I didn't like it I could check out right then. At that time I wanted to check out but I won and confirmed our stay so I just knew there was a mix up. When you have built your vacation around your plans and confomation numbers then told to leave by Brookside for they wouldn't honor a GIVEAWAY by one of their advertisers, will throw a curve in your trip. The only good thing I can say is the maids were very nice to us not like the owner and their managers. My family has stayed at Brookside since the 1970's and we vist twice a year. We love the settings there and the size of the rooms as well. It's true it's an older place but kept very well. The commodes refuse to flush on the first and even the second flush,it's hard to get the hot water set so you don't get burned in the shower. No coffe in the room no ironing board either. Again the maids were very good on keeping our rooms stocked and clean. It's true we will never stay at Brookside Resort again. They are just like a old poster that has faded, you know it's saying something but not quite sure what it is. Mark

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearsbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We did not stay at the resort in the hotel accommodations, but we utilized the "Pavilion" for our informal wedding reception and our wedding cookout the next afternoon. It all worked out but the Pavilion is very old and very rustic. It would be an okay location for a true cookout for a family reunion or a church retreat.... however, not some place I would recommend for something as a wedding gathering. Not many tables inside to place food or gifts on, and still have a place for your guest to sit. The tables are the very old style 4 seater restaurant tables with red barrel style chairs. The air conditioner doesn't work real well at keeping the building cool. Everything worked out but I wouldn't be rushing back to host another event there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel at least 6 times in the past.
Their location is their biggest asset, their rooms are not. It is an old hotel with new and old wings. We stayed there July 3rd and 4th 2011.
This visit, I brought my daughter and her two young sons. After moving the beds to make room for the roll away, I uncovered a large pile of dead bugs against the wall. Not just 2 or 3 but more like 30-50 of them, all over against the wall under the headboard.
The maids next door let me use their vacuum, but didnt volunteer to do it themselves. (So much for Tennessee's motto!)
Had to move beds once more and found yet another bug pile. This time, I took these to front desk. However, I had to cycle the door chime 3 times for the employee to get out from in front of the TV in his office. They didnt think it unusual to find dead bugs in room. Bottom line, bugs in room doesnt appear a priority to them.
Makes me wonder what kinds of critters housekeeping has missed on my prior trips.
For the price of this room, I will stay somewhere else and get clean room.

Room Tip: Check with locals, get referrals, done rely soley on hotels web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kayak4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Booked Brookside for a family reunion. Most of us had creek-view rooms. My room was on the 4th floor with a balcony, fireplace, kitchenette, jacuzzi bath, bar-style table and stools, comfy king-sized bed, sitting area... $90 per night. Cannot beat this anywhere!!!! It was a wonderful room, wonderful area, yummy breakfast included daily, and the pool is AWESOME. Huge sitting areas around the pool, with shade or sunshine. I will ALWAYS stay there when I go back to Gatlinburg. Thanks Brookside, you're great!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calypso4811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingstion
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband,my three year old and I went to the brookside for a one night stay the lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful. My little girl loved the pool and i tried to get her to play on the swings and slide but she didnt want to leave the pool the room was neat although a little dated but we were on the river and left the window open and listened to the stream all night loved it will be back to stay again lots to do there also.

Room Tip: rooms on right side a little far from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Property: Brookside Resort
Address: 463 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you're on the property, it feels like you're in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 outdoor pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", "Teddy Bear" waffles, hot oatmeal with brown sugar & raisins, a variety of cold cereals, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg's premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, in-room safes, new linens, and many have remodeled bathrooms with much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing