We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Heaven On Earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hippensteal's Mountain View Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been staying here since the Inn opened. We come the same time every year. When we check out, we also make our reservation for the same time the next year. Our first stay, we didn't know anyone. Now it is like a family reunion. There are a number of us who come the same time we do and also make their reservation for the following year. We meet on the porch for happy hour. We all provide the beverages and snacks. Later we meet again in the kitchen for a sinfully delicious desert. Something different every night. My husband on occasion will go down during the night and bring back to our room just a bit more of the desert. Breakfast is not only delicious, but also a feast for the eyes. Beautiful presentation!

Owners Vern and Lisa plus those who work there, make you feel so welcome. If I could only go one place for a get away, this would be my first choice!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view, balcony with two rocking chairs and small table, electric fireplace, jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJTheVillages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

This should be number 1! Amazing is all I can say. Absolutely awesome service from Lisa who checked us in and showed us around. She was so helpful and sweet. She showed us where all the "sweets" were at too for a little late night snack. The rooms are beautifully decorated as well as the rest of the inn. The Hippensteals have paid so much attention to every detail about the experience here. The bathroom amenities are top notch, LOVED the whirlpool! Bed was so comfy and the linens were high quality for a perfect night's sleep. Rocking chairs and swings lined the porches and have little lights along the railings at night. Breakfast was served by Mr Hippensteal himself! Delicious and the place settings were so dainty and elegant... LOVE LOVE LOVE this place and will be back...I could go on and on...do not hesitate to visit this mountain top delight!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited Hippensteals again after our last stay 4 years ago. First, let me say that returning earlier was our plan but due to some medical issues caused by a physician, we had to delay until now. We called and, as always, were greeted warmly by Vern Hippensteal. We were able to get reservations the first weekend they re-opened after taking 6 weeks off to rest and refresh the B&B. We arrived mid-afternoon and the facilty looked outstanding. Again, we were greeted warmly by Kendall and checked in. Our room was just wonderful. All the rooms have King size beds now and they are really nice. We slept so good each night. Even though it was February, the weather was perfect and we enjoyed the crisp clean air on "Vern's Mountain." We finally got to meet Vern's Wife Lisa and she is a wonderful person and a great cook. During our 3 days, we visited with both of them as well as the other staff and they are all wonderful. Now a few words about breakfast - Absolutely Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (I think that is a few words put together) :) The food was prepared superbly, was always hot when served, and quantity was just right. And the surprise after most breakfasts - the dessert. Yes, Vern always reminds you when they have dessert to wait for it. And the wait is more than worth it. We always love everything about Hippensteals. Yes, there is a one lane road up and down but that adds to the charm. Plus, on this trip, we were able to see a group of deer just off the road twice! Vern told us there are 7 of them but we only saw 5. The one lane road is not dangerous - you just have to go slow and enjoy it. It is not long and there are plenty of signs that ask you to go slow and get in the mood for a great stay. Another very nice "perk" is that you get kitchen privileges. They have coffee, tea, hot chocolate, iced tea, etc. plus popcorn for you to help yourself. They also have canned sodas for purchase. And then another great part - dessert every night. Yes, they fix something new every day and it is ready by 7:00 PM. Plus, any left over from the day before is also available along with cookies everyday. Is there anything better than homemade desserts at the end of the day with a nice cup of your favorite hot beverage or something stronger you bring. Plus, if you need to keep something cold, there is a refrigerator for guests to put left overs and whatever in. Well, you probably can tell we are very happy with Hippensteals. Having stayed in other B&Bs, we always come back here as this is the standard which we measure other places. And I can tell you, in our opinion, very few meet this standard. In summary, give Vern and Lisa and this facility a try. I don't think you will be disappointed. If something is not right, don't leave and just write up a negative review. Let Vern and Lisa know and see if they can fix the problem. They are that kind of folks.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the mountain and nice chairs on long porches to enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandyh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been coming here for over 20 years. The view, the amenities, the staff, the owners are all first rate. Nothing, absolutely nothing, has ever been wrong in any of our stays. I am dismayed that tripadvisor has allowed the one nasty review to stay on after I have repeatedly reported it in the past. That review was from several years ago and is the only review the person has ever made. It put down elderly people and basically had several errors in it that made me feel that this person never stayed at the Inn. Regardless, I have that off my chest and I can say I have stayed all over the US and have never had a room, a breakfast or people that can trump this Inn. To those who thought that other review was "helpful", it is your loss! We will keep this wonderful place to ourselves!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skm8661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just returned from another wonderful visit to Hippensteal's Bed and Breakfast. We've gone there once a year for over 10 years and are never disappointed. Such a beautiful place, with a breathtaking view. Vern and Lisa are always so welcoming. The inn is clean, comfortable and so relaxing. If you go, make sure to take time to spend on the porches and relaxing at the inn. You need to soak in the peacefulness of the mountains. The breakfasts are outstanding and evening dessert is always decadent. They will share recipes if you ask! One of our favorite things to do is have pizza and a bottle of wine on the porch and watch the mountains disappear as the sun goes down.

Room Tip: We like the corner rooms on the 3rd floor- great view and lots of windows. All rooms are exceptiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rae V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was hubby and my first bed & breakfast experience and I am willing to bet we won't find another one this fabulous for a long long time...if ever! We were so very pleased with every aspect...so much so that we are going back in just a few months! If you think b&b's aren't your thing, give yourself the experience of hippensteal's. It's wonderful!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are my fav...but, all are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

In 2002, as we were buying a painting at the VERN HIPPENSTEAL GALLERY, a brochure for this "B&B" caught our eye....the clerk suggested we take a drive up there and look around....we did, and we fell in love with it immediately.....without even knowing how fabulous the breakfasts would be (to say nothing of the evening desserts!). Our first stay was the next year, and we just completed our 7th....going from a single day initially, then two...three....next time will be four! This trip, our first night featured a downpour, but the next two were absolutely perfect....we made sure to finish the day's activities, including dinner, to get back to the Inn between 5 and 6 pm, to be able to enjoy the evening and sunset from the porch....heavenly!!!

Room Tip: Going to hippensteal.com will give an overview of the rooms, by theme, but given their low vacancy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ClearWater62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
6.9 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,514 reviews
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippensteal's Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippensteal's Mountain View Inn

Address: Grassy Branch Road, PO Box 707, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $75 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hippensteal`s Mountain View Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing