We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Buckhorn Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Buckhorn Inn!”
Reviewed July 21, 2007

For several years, I have been trusting Trip Advisor when making travel plans. So when the reviews for Buckhorn Inn were overwhelmingly positive, I had high expectations when booking an anniversary trip with my wife.

Somehow, Buckhorn Inn managed to exceed all of our expectations. John and Lee are wonderful hosts and the property is everything an exceptional B&B should be. There is a high level of attention to detail, from the grounds and nature path to the comfort of the common areas of the inn... even afternoon snacks and coffee in the gathering room.

My wife and I stayed in one of the private cottages and were thrilled with the cleanliness, the gas fireplace, the quiet, the comfy robes, and the huge whirlpool tub. The food is beyond description (stay for dinner... it's worth the cost) and was a highlight of the stay. The peaceful and friendly atmosphere was the perfect getaway. Near Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, but set away in the mountains and full of quiet peace, charm, and natural beauty.

If you are looking for a high-energy stay in the midst of Gatlinburg gridlock, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a high quality inn, great food, friendly people that are genuinely happy to host you, and a place to rest and recharge, this is the ideal location.

For 10 years, my wife and I searched for our perfect place to escape. We found it at Buckhorn Inn.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank andy312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    38
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
50
361
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The Buckhorn Inn is simply breathtaking! No detail is overlooked. John and lee are fantastic inkeepers and the rooms are gorgeous. My husband and I stayed in Premier Room number 2. Talk about an amazing view! We spent hours sitting on our porch looking out across the mountains. The gardens are beautiful and relaxing. At Buckhorn Inn, time simply stops.

The room was spotless-everything was perfect! They provide one towel for each guest, but are quick to bring more if desired. New soaps and shampoos were brought each day. The jacuzzi was sparkling clean and bubble gel was provided. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

Every meal was excellent. Breakfast was delicious every morning. Dinner was SUPERB! John remembered our names and spoke with us every morning. What a charming man! I cannot go on enough about this place. It has exceeded every expectation I had!

  • Liked — The inkeepers!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anna2742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

I stumbled across TripAdvisor.com while doing some searching on Google... and, boy, am I glad I did. If it wasn't for TA, I probably never would have heard of Buckhorn. This place was great.

From the moment I got a response to my reservation request, I felt like they were willing to go out of their way to please. Requested a room directly through their website and it went seamlessly. As a matter of fact, I chose the wrong room. When the lady at the inn was about to book the room for me, she sensed (somehow) that maybe I had selected the wrong room. She called me and we got it straightened out. I asked for them to have some Cokes and Brie waiting for us in the room, and they advised it was no problem.

We wound up staying in Premier Room 3 for one night as an anniversary gift to each other. Check-in starts at 3pm. We arrived at 2:45pm. Rather than being told we'd have to wait, John checked to make sure our room was ready and asked us to meet him in the dining area. We did so and were given a warm greeting and a brief rundown of our surroundings.

Our room was wonderful. The snacks were waiting for us as requested. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi/shower unit. The bed was huge (believe it was 2 doubles side-by-side). We had our own balcony, a fireplace, an iron & board, a fridge, robes, a TV, a CD/DVD player, and a small coffee-maker with coffee, mugs & glasses. I needed ice for the Cokes, so I visited the guest sitting room downstairs... where I found a wonderful sitting area with a balcony, a PC with hi-speed internet plus a printer, free soft drinks & snacks, the best brownies (also free) that I've had in a long time, and a microwave... believe there was a coffee-maker there, too.

Unfortunately, one night was not enough. Because of other plans, we didn't get to try dinner or breakfast which are supposed to be fabulous. We also didn't get a chance to check out the labyrinth.

All in all, though, I was thrilled with our reception and the accomodations the owners make for their guests. Next time, we'll stay for 2 nights. Only other change I'll make is to book premier 1 or 2. 3 is a nice room, but the view is of the parking lot and drive instead of the mountains.

Bottom line - a must-visit for anyone looking for true relaxation in the Gatlinburg area.

  • Liked — The wonderful service of the owners and staff.
  • Disliked — Price, but hey... whatever the market will bear, right?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank darkwing2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We loved our stay at the Buckhorn Inn for our 10 yr. anniversary. There were some nature trails to walk around the property. We enjoyed
our breakfast each morning at the Inn - it was delicious and the owners and staff were very nice. The breakfast was great! The cabin was very clean with a nice view and had plenty of space. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BigGameProShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
293 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
5.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
6.8 mi away
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Inn

Property: Buckhorn Inn
Address: 2140 Tudor Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-6042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, peace, and solitude emanate from the pine and hemlock forest surrounding Buckhorn Inn, while the ever-changing view of the Great Smoky Mountains across mountain meadows of wild flowers never fails to inspire the visitor. We offer a range of Gatlinburg accommodations, from full, private guesthouses to private cottages to traditional inn rooms. Pick the Smoky Mountain lodging that fits your style and length of stay and plan your Tennesee vacation today! East Tennesee's classic country inn, The Buckhorn offers the grandest Smoky Mountain views of any Gatlinburg bed and breakfast. Elegance and period charm mix with the inn's friendly, romantic atmosphere of a Smoky Mountain lodge. Buckhorn has been a favorite destination for visitors to Gatlinburg, Tennessee and the Great Smoky Mountains since 1938. Situated less than a mile from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Buckhorn Inn is convenient to all activities and attractions in the area including hiking, arts and crafts, musical theaters, and the Pigeon Forge Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing