We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views of the mountains and beautiful Inn!”
Review of Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I recently had our first (and definitely not our last) stay at the wonderful Buckhorn Inn. We were celebrating his 59th birthday. The staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly. They were attentive to my husband's food allergies, and made menu changes especially for him, as well as decorating our table in honor of the occasion! The views from the Inn are breathtaking. Our room was beautiful and spacious, the dinner was absolutely delicious, and so was the breakfast. The Inn is truly a gem hidden in the Smokies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Buckhorn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 597 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We returned for another visit - just overnight. We found the Inn to be spotless, the wifi excellent (always important to us!) and the staff friendly. Hope to return for a longer visit soon. Did not get the opportunity to eat dinner, but the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagtopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

For a true Smoky Mountain experience (very classy) give the Buckhorn a try. We stayed in a cottage. It has a king bed, nice bath, and large living room. The mattress was lumpy and needs replacing. That did not deter me from really liking this place. The breakfast was great, and we ate dinner with them for two nights and both meals were 4 course delights. Try the spice tea! Food, atmosphere, nice owners, nice guests...ALL YOU COULD WANT!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corvette1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We are part of a 6 couple group which has met each year for over 30 years, and we have been at Buckhorn for 6 years now. Gatlinburg is a central location for our group which is scattered in 5 states. However, the regular tourist scene of Gatlinburg was not what we were looking for. One of our couples discovered Buckhorn Inn. It is exactly what we were looking for. It is hidden in the mountains and seems in another world apart from the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg.
The Mellors, owners, have made us feel like we are part of their family each time we visit. They find ways to make our annual group reunion perfect. The food has always amazed us and we are continually asking them to post the recipes on their website. The facilities are exactly what we need for our group. We rent a house for our group meetings and two couples stay there, while everyone else simply stays in the Inn.
Everything is always clean and well cared for. If there is ever an issue, the Mellors make sure that it is corrected immediately. They really know how to manage an inn. We never have any concerns about the place where we are going to meet as long as it is Buckhorn Inn.
This year, 2013, Buckhorn is celebrating their 75th Anniversary, and we were happy to celebrate with them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We read lots of good reviews before calling to make our reservations a few weeks in advance. When I called I was advised we would be staying in cottage 5, the best one. I was also advised that my card would NOT be charged until checkout. Upon arrival, I was handed the keys to cottage 6. I advised that my reservation was for cottage 5 and I was told that it was never for cottage 5. I had even called and confirmed all of the details a few days prior to arrival. When we reached cottage 6, we opened the door and immediately noticed a musty odor. The carpets were dirty, the tub was dirty and old, the bedspread had visible stains as well as the old velour blanket and even the sheets had stains and hairs on them. My husband immediately went to the front desk and the same man who checked us in advised that he was the owner and had NEVER had a complaint EVER! He advised that he was terribly embarrassed but did not know how to give a refund but he would figure it out the next morning. I told my husband not to leave without a refund. Finally, another employee gave us the refund at the direction of the owner's wife over the telephone. My card had been charged the day I made the reservation! We had gone out of our way to stay there. It took us two hours to find another place to stay. Then our GPS took us down highway 32 (DON'T USE THIS ROUTE!). 2 more hours in a
mountain range with no other humans in sight. All this with a two year old in tow. I find it interesting that this place has good reviews and wonder who REALLY wrote them?! The place needs to be completely remodeled! I would NEVER stay there under any circumstances.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tabbysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times now [three weekends over three years]. The rooms we stayed in were great, the food has been spectacular. Breakfast is to write home about. Dinner is beyond description. Every meal has been beyond yummy. The view from the rooms and dining room is wonderful.
When seated there you get the feeling of old-world dining. A great jumping off point in The Smokies. Yet, you are on the "Craft Loop" of Gatlinburg.
Go to The Buckhorn Inn and enjoy the good life!

Room Tip: We are wanting to try the cabins.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbknott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The small personal cottages were great. The screened in porches, fireplace, king size bed, and Jacuzzi made the stay incredible. Breakfast served each morning was phenomenal! The food and service was excellent. Great varieties to choose from and very filling. Could not have asked for a better vacation. Plan to stay longer than three days or you will regret it.

Room Tip: The cottages are a great stay for couples, or those who don't want the hotel feeling.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantsWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
6.0 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
9.5 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Inn

Address: 2140 Tudor Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-6042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $197 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, peace, and solitude emanate from the pine and hemlock forest surrounding Buckhorn Inn, while the ever-changing view of the Great Smoky Mountains across mountain meadows of wild flowers never fails to inspire the visitor. We offer a range of Gatlinburg accommodations, from full, private guesthouses to private cottages to traditional inn rooms. Pick the Smoky Mountain lodging that fits your style and length of stay and plan your Tennesee vacation today! East Tennesee's classic country inn, The Buckhorn offers the grandest Smoky Mountain views of any Gatlinburg bed and breakfast. Elegance and period charm mix with the inn's friendly, romantic atmosphere of a Smoky Mountain lodge. Buckhorn has been a favorite destination for visitors to Gatlinburg, Tennessee and the Great Smoky Mountains since 1938. Situated less than a mile from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Buckhorn Inn is convenient to all activities and attractions in the area including hiking, arts and crafts, musical theaters, and the Pigeon Forge Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing