We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving”
Review of Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had always heard that this was a good place to stay so we thought we would give it a shot. We looked it up online and looked at the pictures and it looked great and the pricing was good. So we went. The room we booked was different than what was shown in the Internet picture. most of the furniture was different, not as nice. The carpet was dirty. It had the overall appearance of a place that was running down. We were disappointed. The inn keepers were an older married couple. The gentleman was nice but is wife was not nice. We noticed that almost everyone there was 60 years or older. They provide breakfast and you can eat dinner at your expense. I would rate the food as decent but not off the hook. I would not go here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildflower619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee M, Owner at Buckhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

We were very sorry to learn that this guest did not enjoy her visit to the Inn. We so wish we had had an opportunity to respond to her concerns when she was actually at the Inn. I can assure all propsective guests that we do not post deceptive photos of our accommodation. To do so would be self-defeating as guests would be disappointed and our reputation would suffer. If this guest would contact us directly we would welcome an opportunity to understand her experience more fully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
There are newer reviews for Buckhorn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 597 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Another fantastic week at the Buckhorn Inn. The hospitality and service are outstanding. The rooms and grounds are maintained to perfection. The breakfasts are extraordinary. The dinners are superb. We cannot think of a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. If you want a romantic getaway, we recommend one of the cottages.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I went to Buckhorn Inn for our anniversary dinner on Satyrday, Sep 1, 2012. We did not stay at the Buckhorn Inn, so this review is only about the dinner meal. The Inn is very clean well appointed and I would suspect their rooms are as clean and as nice as their restaurant.

They have a dinner meal every evening at 7 pm. Reservations are required. The Buckhorn Inn offers a very elegant dining experience at a reasonable price. The price was $35 per person (without wine). You can choose from their wine list or bring your own and pay a $5 uncorking fee. We chose to bring our own wine, which would be my advice.

Our meal was the beef tenderloin accompanied by a salad, soup, a side of green beans and one half of a small twice loaded baked potato and of course dessert. The meal was absolutely superb and the service was excellent and professional. Plenty of food for my wife and i. The restaurant dining area which is warm and inviting, beautifully decorated with 2 separate rooms and was full the night we were there. The weather was perfect and we sat on the porch in the rocking chairs right outside the dining area. Breath taking and romantic. There were young people there as well as seniors. We count ourselves in the senior market of 50+.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion or who just wants a great meal in the Gatlinburg, TN area. Get there early for a good parking place and so you can enjoy a glass of wine on the special porch with a fabulous view. Not recommended for children.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooresb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just returned home from five wonderful nights in Premier 2 to celebrate our forty-third wedding anniversary, and what a treat. The entire staff from innkeepers, John and Lee Mellor, to dining room servers, housekeeping, and groundskeepers, never fail to impress us with their kindness, efficiency, and gratitude for the opportunity to make our stay simply wonderful. The breakfasts are to die for, and we managed to eat Chef Bob's dinners all five evenings - THAT is too much good food but impossible to resist. If you are looking for peace, quiet, and beauty overlooking Mt. LeConte, treat yourselves to a few nights at the Buckhorn Inn. You won't regret it. We return again and again and again.

Room Tip: Premier 1 or Premier 2 have private porches overlooking Mt. LeConte as do several of the cottages.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A beautiful setting out of the chaos of downtown Gatlinburg. Service and staff were wonderful and the wide variety of breakfast choices tasty. Loved all the advice on backroad routes and area attractions. Families with young children should probably consider booking a house instead of two cabins.. They were located too far apart for our kids (10, 9 and 4) to feel comfortable sleeping on their own. We'd love to come back but would appreciate more cabin choices, either more larger or connected cabins, or even sleeper sofas in the living rooms of the regular cabins. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A real treat from start to finish. The online reservation process was easy to use and everything was as advertised when I checked in. The innkeepers were gracious and helpful. Take time to stroll the nature trail to work off the delicious food or sit and read a book on the outdoor porch.. The other guests were of retirement age. Get away from the tourist attractions in Gatlinburg and enjoy this peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Select room #2 for a comfortable room with a king bed and great view of the mountains and gardens.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldly Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and had a great time. We stayed in cottage 3 - it was clean and comfy with a great view. The location was far enough away but not too far. Everything was quiet, comfortable and very enjoyable. We plan on returning in the next year or so.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ad_boogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
4.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
9.5 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Inn

Address: 2140 Tudor Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-6042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $198 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, peace, and solitude emanate from the pine and hemlock forest surrounding Buckhorn Inn, while the ever-changing view of the Great Smoky Mountains across mountain meadows of wild flowers never fails to inspire the visitor. We offer a range of Gatlinburg accommodations, from full, private guesthouses to private cottages to traditional inn rooms. Pick the Smoky Mountain lodging that fits your style and length of stay and plan your Tennesee vacation today! East Tennesee's classic country inn, The Buckhorn offers the grandest Smoky Mountain views of any Gatlinburg bed and breakfast. Elegance and period charm mix with the inn's friendly, romantic atmosphere of a Smoky Mountain lodge. Buckhorn has been a favorite destination for visitors to Gatlinburg, Tennessee and the Great Smoky Mountains since 1938. Situated less than a mile from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Buckhorn Inn is convenient to all activities and attractions in the area including hiking, arts and crafts, musical theaters, and the Pigeon Forge Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing