We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for what it is”
Review of Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Inn
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is close to the park and within walking distance of everything you could want in downtown Gatlinburg. The staff was very accommodating, allowing me to park there before check in (and parking in Gatlinburg on a holiday weekend would not have been fun) and also allowing a late checkout. The beds were clean, and the bathroom was clean. The carpet seemed dirty and everything did need to be updated. While there was a small fridge, there was no microwave. I'd stay again if I had to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 257 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

At first, we thought it was a little strange they asked for payment at check-in. The photos on their website are very flattering and make the rooms look nice and cozy, but in reality (and for the price we paid) our room really needed updated and there were a few spider webs. All things considered, our room was very clean including the toilet, vanity, shower, and sheets. The mini fridge and microwave came in handy and the heated floor in the bathroom was nice too. We loved being able to leave our car parked for free while we went to shop and eat.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MRandMRSHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Christian staff. Nice low pricing for a king size bed with jacuzzi. Would tell friends and family to stay here when visiting Gatlinburg. Thanks so much enjoy your trip. It was very quiet. Not far from park way. With in walking distance of Ober of Gatlinburg. I highly recommend it. My husband and I plan on returning again the next trip we get to take to Gatlinburg. Had plenty of towels and the jacuzzi was great.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were thoroughly pleased with our stay. We booked online and upon arrival, check in was a breeze. Staff was helpful and attentive. When we arrived to our room, we were blown away with the view from the balcony. The rooms were clean and the sheets were fresh. The bathroom was nice. For whatever reason, the bathroom floors seemed heated. It was a nice surprise. Overall no complaints other than the room could use some updating. We will be staying again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 688brittanym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My niece booked a room here for our annual girls trip through Travelocity. We arrived on Sunday 5-11-14. We arrived late, after 10 pm. A sign on the door instructed us to go to the Four Seasons Motor Lodge to pick up our key. So after we did that & returned to the Inn, we were horrified to see that the part of the building our room was in, was roped off with yellow 'caution' tape & some large piece of construction equipment was parked outside our room. Against our better judgment, we went inside & were totally disappointed. The room ( room #103 ) was small, dirty, ran down, curtains falling off the very small windows & a HUGE spider was hanging out on the wall waiting to greet us. I contacted Travelocity to voice our disgust regarding our room & insisted that they correct this wrong. After a few minutes on the phone with the Travelocity agent, we were upgraded to a much nicer room at the Four Seasons for NO additional cost. If I were the owner of this DUMP, I'd be embarrassed to offer such a disgusting room to any guest! I will NEVER attempt to stay here again & my feeling is that this place should just be CONDEMNED!!!!

Room Tip: When searching for lodging in Gatlinburg, AVOID this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florenceyall39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel and it was perfect! We had a room up on the hillside with the most beautiful view of the surrounding mountains! Definitely will return and stay again! The bathrooms had heated floors which was a nice surprise and the low noise from other rooms was an extra plus!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Dianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Short walk to the downtown area. Everything is pretty outdated but that didn't bother us we were only going to be there for one night. Beds were comfortable, the shower had great water pressure and my husband said the front desk was nice and helpful. If you stay at a Reagan Resort you can park and use the amenities at the other hotels at no extra charge which is really nice. It's about a quarter mile from a very nice walking/jogging trail. I'd stay again.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Rlbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.9 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#47 of 78 in Gatlinburg
309 reviews
1 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn

Address: 516 Sunset Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3122 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $44 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting majestically above the town, Chalet Inn maintains the kind of rustic elegance once known to all great smoky mountain resorts. The Inn's landscaped surroundings, mountain stone architecture and charming character-filled rooms make you feel a world away. Yet, the attractions of Gatlinburg are just a few blocks away. The Inn is just two blocks from Ober Gatlinburg Aerial Tramway, with Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies just 5 blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabulous Chalet Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Fabulous Chalet Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing