We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Inn
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Booked a few days during low season, rooms really well priced. Beds were great & the rooms were warm, which given it was getting to -2c was fantastic after coming in from hiking trails.
Host couldn't have been more helpful either with the room or with regard to info on Gatlinburg or the local National/State Parks.
Location is great, just a block or so off the main road so quiet apart from the lovely sound of the stream rushing by outside the room.
Would stay again if I was back in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomNomNom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are looking forward to having the opportunity to make your next stay even more Fantastic ! Our managers and guest clerks are eager to help in any way we can , as well as our housekeeping staff . The location and views are a great value , while enjoying the Smoky Mountains and downtown Gatlinburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    53
    38
    26
    52
See reviews for
77
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The beds were comfortable, it was quiet at night. The guy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The location was great and reasonably priced (which is rare in the perpetually overpriced Gatlinburg). It was close to everything (only a two minute walk to the main street where all of the shopping and dining is.) If you're a picky person who wants breakfast in bed and a turn down service then this isn't the place for you, but if you're like me, and you just want a comfortable, safe and affordable place to sleep after a long day of hiking, then I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Here at the Fabulous Chalet Inn on the River in Gatlinburg, we pride ourselves on offering good value for the price paid. We also have a pretty darn good location if you like staying on the River on the lower level or great mountain views on our upper level! Anyway, thanks for commenting, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

First of all, the front desk guy was really nice, and he even let us switch rooms so that we could have a balcony. The hotel was in a good quiet location that was in walking distance from everything, and on a river. Would definitely stay again if i was ever in Gatlinburg again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Fabulous Chalet Inn on the River! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

we were told we got last room available ..one on down level ...parking very tight.....the property was evicting someone at 6 pm and all staff was focused on that it seemed...got checked in found tub dripping a steady flow which caused water temp to not be very hot for long when shower was took...ice machines down hill were both out of order was told to go up hill to get ice ....our refrigerator in room would not cool so drinks were still hot come morning. Toilet wobbled when sat on...light flickered at front door when used ...wi fii did not work even with codes given from office....this was room 121 ...after complaining next day we were moved to 127...still drippy tub and wallpaper getting wet in shower area had mold/mildew growing on it ....safe had no lock on it..refrig worked but drug the carpet so much it took 2 hands to open and close...tv had a buzzing noise after 15 min of watching ......when talked to front desk they were nice but basically asked me to make them a list as they can not fix issues without us telling them ...when asked why maids didn't write up maint issues we were ignored and maid head man just looked at us like we were crazy to expect him or his crew to get involved ....have emailed owner personally and waiting to see if we get a response or not ...felt he needed to know from a customers view point how this property needed attention ...not much fabulous left in this place at the moment ..front doors are wood and all had to be almost slammed to get closed properly so you would hear doors closing thru out property most the evening ........

Room Tip: up hill seems better as lower level on river all the balconies have no privacy between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markdb061761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Since your stay, we have been indeed been putting major money and effort into renovating rooms, especially those along the river. Also, it seems we have few privacy concerns. Each room on the river does have it's own private balcony. We hope that you will come back and take another look at what has been done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our second stay and this time we brought relatives who also loved it. The location is ideal and within walking distance of everything. We had balconies overlooking the river and it was very peaceful. Staff was wonderful. I would definately recommend it and we'll most likely go back again. The prices of the rooms are very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We agree that (Fabulous) Chalet Inn on the River offers great value for your money! Thanks for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We started staying at Fabulous chalet 2 or 3 yrs ago and we LOVE it. We visit the Smokey's TWICE a yr EVERY yr. As a matter of fact, we were just there the 1st wknd of October. Everyone at the counter is so helpful and friendly. Housekeeping does an excellent job and goes above and beyond to make sure u feel at home. We always get a great room (with a hot tub) and a great view at a cheaper price than the other hotels. The location is perfect for everything and we always have an incredible view of the mountains. They DON'T serve brkfst, but we always go to to Bennetts or Mountain Lodge anyways. There ARE 2 pools. We always stay in the rooms on the Chalet side. (upper portion of road. We always see bear up there during the fall :) And during the kids spring break we stay in the suites. Excellent size for a family of 5!!! A true treasure among the the "other" chains. Love the homey feel and we look forward every year to seeing our friends @ Fab Chalet. Reagan Resorts.... plz don't change a thing here. We LOVE it. Sincerely, The Zumwalts of Indiana.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper side of hill are the best for view of mntns. Bear sightings up there in fall and gene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyZumwalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let Trip Advisor readers know about how much you enjoy staying at the (Fabuous) Chalet Inn on the River in Gatlinburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We'd like to thank John at the front desk for setting us up in the perfect room. We wanted a secluded, romantic getaway and we got it! Up the mountain a bit to a secluded room with a fireplace, private balcony, beautiful view of the mountains, and the perfect ambiance for a fabulous weekend. John gave us some tips on the area and we were set. Even though we were in a room in a secluded area, right down the hill were all the attractions/activities/restaurants. Awesome weekend! Thank you and we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyladyref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
John's a great guy, no? We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the (Fabulous) Chalet Inn on the River and we look forward to your return. Thanks for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.9 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#40 of 78 in Gatlinburg
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#66 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn

Property: Chalet Inn
Address: 516 Sunset Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3122 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting majestically above the town, Chalet Inn maintains the kind of rustic elegance once known to all great smoky mountain resorts. The Inn's landscaped surroundings, mountain stone architecture and charming character-filled rooms make you feel a world away. Yet, the attractions of Gatlinburg are just a few blocks away. The Inn is just two blocks from Ober Gatlinburg Aerial Tramway, with Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies just 5 blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabulous Chalet Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Fabulous Chalet Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing