We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff LIES and STEALS. Told by staff "stay at own risk"”
Review of Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Inn
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed August 21, 2012

After a day out on the strip, we returned "home" to our hotel room only to find that there were things missing from the fridge and our bags of food from home had things missing. When we brought it to John's attention at the front desk, he told me that it didn't matter if it was housekeeping, but you "Stay at your own risk" and there wasn't anything he could do. It didn't matter that it was the staff that had stolen from us and gone through our personal belongings. We stayed at our own risk and apparently weren't safe. My husband went in after that and John started singing a new tune. He even agreed to return the unused portion of our reservation although he complained the entire time that we shouldn't complain since he didn't have to honor the "stay 2, get 3'rd for free" special because it wasn't running anymore which is a lie. When we got home the next day, having to cut our vacation short because we didn't have the money for a hotel and had to throw our food out, the special was still listed on the website as a summer long deal. I have never felt unsafe anywhere (and I've travelled all over Europe) until then.

When we got home, we checked our bank account and yes, the money for the extra night was returned AFTER HE TOOK THE MONEY OUT A SECOND TIME. We did everything we could to get things fixed. We talked to our bank. We called the Chalet Inn. We called and tried to talk to one of the owners of Regan Resorts (who we were told "does not talk to customers"), I even sent a certified letter to the owners explaining everything. plus contacted the BBB and the Gatlinburg Chamber. No one could help us get our money that was stolen back. Finally after over a month, my husband received a call from someone at the Reagan Resorts Corp. saying that they would be refunding the money for unused portion of the reservation. It took several days longer for him to keep his word and we actually got our money back, plus $40 to cover the cost of what was stolen.

I will NEVER patron any hotel owned by Reagan Resorts Corporation. Not only do they employ honest staff (from the housekeeping who stole to the man at the desk who lied), but they didn't act like they cared one bit until we kept bugging them for a month. Why would you give your money to someone like that? Especially when you're expected to "stay at your own risk." If any hotel deserves a a negative rating, this is it.

Room Tip: DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL. Per hotel front desk staff, John, after having items stolen by housekeeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 256 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stay at this hotel often, but whoever is running this place now is taking it nowhere.
I booked our room a week before our trip, it took two days to book because the people they now have on staff have no knowledge of the property. A guy stated "I don't really know this place so I can't book you in a river view room, you'll have to call back." I did the next day, and a woman booked us in a room with a river view balcony.
We check in to the hotel and are told to go way up the hill...where there is no river-just a room that smelled like damp mold. The power was even out in the room! It had a balcony but you had to be Paul Bunyan to see over it. Needless to say, that wasn't going to do. To the hotel's credit, the girl at the front desk was quick to assign us a new room-with river view balcony. Luckily we were able to tell her what rooms faced the river because even she said she had no clue what rooms faced the river because she didn't normally work this property, either!
The room smelled nice but there are water stains on the ceiling with hair stuck to them. We had housekeeping clean our room but they were horrible and just put our towels in a bag and set them on the floor. They keep leaving trash outside other guest's rooms as well...dumpster full or something?! So sad to see such a wonderful place take a nosedive. Guess we'll be staying elsewhere from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during Memorial weekend. The location was great (upper part of the hotel). We had awesome views of the mountains and town. The pool was great as well! The room was large and spacious, but it needed a good scrub down. It's an older place, it just needs a good cleaning.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay hear, call ahead and tell them you want a very clean room so the housekeepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChecinskiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I took this trip with my wife and 2 daughters. Our room on arrival was clean and larger than expected. Staff was very helpful and friendly and I plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I had made plans to go to Gatlinburg for New Years Eve and have a Ball.... However we were in for a rude awakening. If you want a nice clean room you do not need to look here at all. Upon arrival we checked in and like most everyone we paid cash. That was the first mistake.. Dont never pay here until you look at what you are receiving. We get to the room and my husband checks the bed out first thing....and was he in for a surprise. Sheets had not been changed they were dirty with footprints on them also pubic hair as well....... So we go down to the office and complain. Needless to say I was told to go back up on the hill and find the maid to tell her to come and change the sheets. Also the bathroom had not been cleaned as well, this place was nasty and musty with an old smell that would not leave. However I found the maid and she came and changed the sheets and cleaned the bathroom and was very apologetic and made a phone call to a manager and were supposed to be accomodated upon check out but unfortunately we were told that the problem was resolved and they didnt feel like they needed to accoodate. We hope we did not contract anything with this one nite stay.. Will never stay at any of these properties again...The pictures on the website is a joke.. THIS PLACE SHOULD BE CONDEMNED..........

Room Tip: Not any that we were told all are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank k M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We have stayed at this facility on and off since 1999. It has a great view and is quiet, but close to the action in Gatlinburg. However, in the upper chalets, there is a constant problem with getting and keeping a high speed internet connection. They say the router is down in the lower building, but they don't fix the situation. If you need internet, go somewhere else. Also, water in shower will turn hot really fast, then cold. On our last trip, there were a lot of dead bugs on the floor in the bathroom area. When we complained, we were told that means that the exterminators were doing their job. Some tweaks to this property and it could be great once again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My daughter, son, his girlfriend, and I decided to go to Gatlinburg on the spur of the moment at the end of our fall break. We didn't realize how hard it would be to find a room in Gatlinburg during the month of October. After checking out several hotels that had "no vacancy," we found Fabulous Chalet Inn. My daughter is in a wheelchair and we needed a room that would be large enough for her to get around in. We were placed in a first-floor room right on the creek. It was very clean and pleasant. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. My son and his girlfriend enjoyed walking along the creek. We felt the price was fairly reasonable. (With tax and AAA discount -- about $100) The only complaint we had was that there was no microwave in the room (we had pizza left over that we wanted to warm up). I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hogskinbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.9 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
0.9 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#49 of 78 in Gatlinburg
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn

Address: 516 Sunset Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3122 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $41 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting majestically above the town, Chalet Inn maintains the kind of rustic elegance once known to all great smoky mountain resorts. The Inn's landscaped surroundings, mountain stone architecture and charming character-filled rooms make you feel a world away. Yet, the attractions of Gatlinburg are just a few blocks away. The Inn is just two blocks from Ober Gatlinburg Aerial Tramway, with Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies just 5 blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabulous Chalet Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Fabulous Chalet Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing