We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make Sure to Check your Room before Paying.”
Review of Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Inn
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Make Sure to Check your Room before Paying.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We initially were suppose to stay in the lower Chalets in a king Suite but found mold filling the bathroom. The receptionist gave us a couple more rooms to look at in the upper section and we ended up in room 218 which was the only room refinished. It was a very nice room with great views a few steps away but the pool needs to be repainted and housekeeping was overworked so trash was left outside of our room for the bears to rummage through and the room was not completely finished when we checked in. Skip breakfast and plan on eating in your room. If management would get more involved in customer service and invest a little money to refurbish the property it would be the hidden secret in Gatlinburg otherwise check room before final purchase.

Room Tip: They give a bigger discount on same day check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubsrule2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    53
    38
    26
    52
See reviews for
77
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in mid April, part of a U.S. tour. Found the hotel all we expected, we received a warm, friendly and helpful welcome. Our room door lock would not open, so we were upgraded to a creekside room for no extra cost. Although this hotel is not spotless, a few cobwebs high up in reception , it is a very comfortable hotel to stay in. Breakfast is included, although it was a climb up to the top level of the hotel, cereals, waffles, fruit etc.

Would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a real hotel , not a plasticky chain one

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orionesr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overpeck, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We decided to take a weekend trip and head to Gatlinburg. We decided to just find a place when we got there. We stopped at visitors center and got coupons and there was one for Fabulous Chalet Inn. We drove around and when we found it there was a lot of construction and that almost made us turn around but I am glad we didn't. Location is great and our room over looked the creek and there was a man made water fall behind our room with a patio over looking it. There was 2 pools witch were really nice, while we were up the hill at the second pool we missed a bear walking right behind our room :-(. Walking distance to everything. We are looking forward to our stay Easter weekend. Room was clean and up dated. Construction did not inter fear with our stay at all. Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I decided to take a spur of the moment trip to mountains, and I found this hotel online. The pictures didn't look so bad so we called and booked it and since we were coming so late they gave us a deal on the king bed with jacuzzi tub. Sounded like a good deal so we went ahead and took it. Upon our arrival, we were told that it was up the hill at the chalet part of the hotel. You had to drive up a hill and carry your luggage down a flight of stairs that felt like they were going to fall apart. The room we stayed at was down a very scary hall and you could see underneath the door if you bent down. The decor was outdated and the sheets were stained. They also a a problem with ladybugs and some kind of spider. The tub was filled with spiders and the walls were covered with ladybugs. The shower floor felt like it had a gripper on the bottom that wasn't pushed down all the way, but really it was water trapped under the floor of the tub. It was so disgusting I wore shoes to shower. There were so many bugs that we took our bags back to the vehicle for fear of them getting in our luggage.
It was the WORST place I have ever stayed at. If you like sleeping on dirty sheets with bugs, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MechelleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Our main goal was to snow ski, and the location of this hotel could not have been better, it was straight across from the tram to ober-gatlinburg. It is older, but clean. We had a King suite, and the mattresses were so uncomfortable. Both beds had a sunken spot in the middle. We also did not get our complimentary breakfast both days. We were there in the snowstorm of 2010, and the lady who unlocked the breakfast room could not make it into work both mornings. We are not sure why no-one else could unlock the breakfast room? This place is in a great location, and not a bad price, but uncomfortable beds and you may or may not get breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appliancegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We just stayed there a couple days ago and it was great. I will admit after reading some of the reviews on here I was skeptical. The wife and I went for the Christmas Parade and our wedding anniversary. They helped me arrange having flowers in the room waiting for the wife and upon walking in the room was actually larger than your standard room. The room was so clean and nice that I commented to the wife that the room could pass for one at the higher end hotels. We were in room 109 and the creek view was to die for. It was so nice being able to park literally right outside our room. The front desk was so helpful all the times they were needed. Teddy was very helpful even showing us some rooms big enough for when we bring the kids down. The walk to the strip was very quick and it was nice being so close to the strip but yet away from the hustle and bustle. We loved the hotel so much that we have already made reservations to come back next summer and next Dec for the Christmas parade again. I would highly recommend this place oh and I almost forgot the waffles for breakfast were beyond great and the beds werent actually rocks like a lot of hotels.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, Texs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Fabulous Chalet several times and have always found it to be the very best of the half-dozen other places we have used in the Smoky Mountains. It has the best location - offering easy walking to the parkway and also seclusion away from the crowds. We have enjoyed both the creekside rooms and the mountain view rooms. Rooms 212 and 208 are our favorites. They are excellent rooms with a view to die for.
Teddy and Ellen Sammons have become like family to us. They are the most gracious hosts you can imagine. We have used literally scores and sores of hotels, motels, and B&B's during the last 38 years and have found no place to equal the Fabulous Chalet. It's quaintness is a refreshing alternative to the typical cookie-cutter rooms so prevelant today. Each room has it's own unique design, colors, and character.
Rooms are clean and well equipped. Service is excellent.
To sum it up, we really go to Gatlinburg BECAUSE OF the Fabulous Chalet!!! That's the main thing that keeps us coming back year after year.
Thank you, Mr. and Mrs. Reagan for this wonderful place to enjoy!
John & Susan McGuire
Garrison, Texas

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BroJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.9 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#40 of 78 in Gatlinburg
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#66 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn

Property: Chalet Inn
Address: 516 Sunset Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3122 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting majestically above the town, Chalet Inn maintains the kind of rustic elegance once known to all great smoky mountain resorts. The Inn's landscaped surroundings, mountain stone architecture and charming character-filled rooms make you feel a world away. Yet, the attractions of Gatlinburg are just a few blocks away. The Inn is just two blocks from Ober Gatlinburg Aerial Tramway, with Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies just 5 blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabulous Chalet Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Fabulous Chalet Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing