We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but beautiful and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoders Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zoders Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Zoders Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   402 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Older but beautiful and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Zoder's, June 10-15. As with most hotels, there were good parts and some not so good parts.

1. The staff was wonderful. We checked in at about 2 in the morning after a long
Drive from Louisiana. The desk attendant knew who we were and check in was a breeze. Our first room had a broken A/C, but the attendant took immediate care of us and has us in a new room in under a half hour. Everyone was nice and helpful throughout our stay.

2. We booked a dream suite, I believe. The room was very spacious. A great king sized bed with the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on in a hotel. It is a soft mattress so if you like firm beds, you might not have been as happy as me. There was a nice hot tub in the room as well as a quaint fire place. Lovely! The bathroom was pretty dated, though. Weird setup and tiny tiny bathroom. The design didn't really match the rest of the room. Also, not all of the electrical outlets worked. Minor issues for us. The room overall was great.

3. Private parking lot that lets out closer to town. Fantastic! Zoder's is located a little out of the way from the main strip (Parkway) of Gatlinburg, but this parking lot let out right on the edge of the main drag. It's a perk for the upgraded rooms, however. Note that.

4. Food. Breakfast was probably my biggest let down of this hotel. From 6-10 in the morning, it was glorified elementary school cafeteria food. Little box cereals and bagged oatmeals, basic toast or bagels or hard boiled eggs. Juice was available but only basic apple or orange. For the price range of this hotel, I did expect something a bit higher in quality. A waffle maker at least...

5. Amenities. The outside pool was cute and the indoor pool was nice. There is supposed to be a waterfall wall for the indoor pool but we never saw the waterfall working. Perhaps they were fixing something? The rec room looked more than adequate, and there were racket ball courts! Fun!

6. The views. This was the best part I think, aside from the amazing bed and hot tub. There is a gorgeous creek that runs through this property. Some rooms are built right over it and some are built into the hillside over looking it all. We had a higher built room. On the creek bank there are picnic areas and lounging areas. Even a place to grill out if you want! So beautiful and peaceful!


Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Beautiful scenery, comfort level through the roof and great staff. Just update the bathrooms and breakfast and this hotel would be a six star gem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSanders2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    406
    114
    48
    37
See reviews for
410
473
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Gatlinburg that included a 2-night stay in a courtyard suite at Zodor's. I do not like writing negative reviews, especially with so many rave ones on here, but my experence at Zodor's left me extremely disappointed. The room keys we were given upon checking in did not work, so we had to wait for the hotel to walk new ones to us (the room is more remotely located, so this took a few minutes . . . not their fault but frustrating given that we were traveling with small children, one of whom had to go to the bathroom). When we got new keys and entered, the room just didn't seem clean to me -- it had a really bad smell. Even worse, there was a dead roach in the bathroom. To be fair, I have an extraordinary aversion to bugs. We tried to be open-minded but the deal-breaker came when we noticed the anchor bolts used to hold the deadbolt in place were coming out of the frame. It looked like somebody tried to break into the room.

The hotel was understanding and gave us a new room -- right next to this one -- with the second-worst best I have ever slept in (seriously, we thought we were going to roll out of it). I spent the next two nights incredibly uncomfortable, worried about bugs, break ins and a bad back.

I am not a complete novice traveler. I have stayed at everything from youth hostels in Europe to the Four Seasons and honestly, this was one of my most uncomfortable experiences. So disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

How to rate Zoders...? Yes the rooms are on a large stream. Balcony right over the stream. Many hotels in the area can boast this - but Zoder's had the prettiest river/landscaping of the properties that I could see from the strip. Lovely and relaxing. It is off the beaten path - in an area that is beginning to look run down. Still very walkable to all the area sights - but off to one end (away from the park) and with lots of closed properties around it. Upside - it was quiet. Beds in our room were doubles - not queens (probably wouldn't fit well). Bedding and pillows - average. I'm guessing the hotel was last updated in the 80s (extra phone in the bathroom, racket ball courts in the fitness area), but overall, well maintained for an older property. And, most of the properties within walking distance are older properties. Breakfast is average: toast, bagels, cereal, boiled eggs, etc. Wine and cheese was average: Barefoot wine in very small glasses, Chex mix with some cut up cheese and sausage. Milk and cookies were a nice touch! Soft chocolate chip cookies (like Entenmann's). Nice outdoor pool and indoor pool with sauna. My room rate for early June was $98. If I go back I will probably shop around and compare to see if what's available towards the middle of the strip. But, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are not over the stream....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Really don't understand the ratings because TA reviewers are typically right on target. First, ensure that you understand they have double beds...not queen beds. They say double on their site so my fault but how often do you book a room that's not a queen? The mattresses and pillows are uncomfortably lumpy; we had a hard time getting to sleep. The room had a window AC which meant is was either blowing cold or you got to listen to it kick on and off throughout the night. The room seriously needed attention...dated to the 80's. The free breakfast wasn't impressive. Yes it has a balcony overlooking a stream but we found out there were better hotels with that amenity. They advertise WiFi. Maybe during the day but definitely not in the evening. The polite person behind the desk let me know that sometimes the concrete between rooms is a problem and everyone is using it in the evening. Want to watch something on your Kindle or iPad? Nope. The staff is very nice and it was affordable but it should not be ranked so high on TA. If I had been able to see the property first we would have paid more to stay at another hotel. Sorry, Zoders.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Gatlinburg can be a hectic place, and Zoder's offers a peaceful place to stay. Keep in mind that this hotel is on the far end of the main street that runs through town [called the Parkway]. However, it provides easy access to Pigeon Forge. The hotel is older, but is well-maintained and seems to be staffed by dedicated employees. We would return to this property. Dora was an excellent housekeeper, and the staff replaced our television after we experienced poor tv reception. Our room had the best lighting that we've experienced in quite some time. Our bed was soft, yet very comfortable, and the pillows were fluffy and substantial. We never heard a sound even if there were neighbors next door. If you are a light sleeper, the air conditioner cycles between the fan and ac without cutting off which is something I always look for. While some reviewers have found the stream too noisy, we loved the noise and the beautiful view.

Room Tip: The Zoder's website is very helpful when making your room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCurtos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
202 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really. Yes, a river roars by your outside patio door. Free wine and cheese reception. Family run. Laundry room. Friendly staff. Very clean. Free computers and laundry room. Front desk staff very helpful. Authentic Tennesse folks. Handy location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. I think most do. It's like camping but you get a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is our third stay in the past six years and we simply love this place. While you can find others places that are newer and located a little closer to the heart of Gatlinburg, I doubt if you will find a staff that works harder to make your stay a good one. If you want a clean room, affordable rates, a relaxing stream just below your room's balcony, and a room within easy walking distance to the heart of Gatlinburg, then Zoders Inn & Suites is your place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoders Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoders Inn & Suites

Property: Zoders Inn & Suites
Address: 402 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#24 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zoders Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main parkway in Gatlinburg, Zoder's Inn & Suites is the perfect place to stay for singles, couples & families. Zoder's Inn, secluded as it may be, is located in downtown Gatlinburg just four blocks from the main shopping area. The beautiful Roaring Fork Creek runs directly through our property and provides a great sense of peace and tranquility. Our six quiet acres are outside of the hustle and bustle, but still convenient to anything you may have on your itinerary. We are also on the Gatlinburg Trolley Route if you wish to relax and soak in the sights of downtown. We hope to see you and look forward to your stay at Zoder's Inn & Suites! We are a smoke free property!! New for 2016, we have a new pavilion for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Zoders Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Zoder`s Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Zoders Hotel
Best Western Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western
Zoders Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing