We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Ranked #56 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Red Bay, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great location and a great price, If you want to stay in a 5 star don't bother with motel 6, if you want a safe, clean, and very affordable place to stay on your vacation this is the place to stay. Was very clean, and the staff was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    108
    58
    50
    51
See reviews for
131
118
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The best thing about this motel is the location. Walking to downtown Gatlinburg is only ~0.5 mile. However, the rooms are terribly outdated, generally uncomfortable, and only minimally "clean". The sheets on the beds feel rough and look extremely tacky, though they did seem to at least be clean. The shower had not been cleaned. I found several strands of long hair in there, as well as a wet dirty washcloth. There was a large booger (in plain sight, not hidden at all) on the front of one of the lamps, near the switch.

The refridgerater was poorly designed (primarily for cans, not for food), which was inconvenient for to-go boxes, Tupperware containers brought from home, two-liter drinks, etc. No continental breakfast is provided, but there is coffee in the lobby.

There are no blinds in the window, just a large single panel curtain, so there's no in-between as far as letting natural light in and privacy goes.

All rooms are pet friendly, but there's a 25 lb. weight limit and only one dog allowed per room. Dogs must not be left unattended in the room. There is a designated dog walking area, which was nice.

The front desk staff were minimally friendly, but generally helpful. I did have an incident with one of the cleaning staff while I was there. As I was loading my car, a man followed me out to my car to ask me in very broken English what hotel room I was staying in. I was very creeped out by his following me, and felt this was information I did not need to give out to him. I replied that I was leaving soon (an hour ahead of check-out time), but his questioning me made me feel very uneasy, rushed, and unwelcome. As I went back to my room, he followed me to the bottom of the stairs and watched me the whole way up as I walked back to my room, I suppose to get the answer to his question. As a young female, I was extremely intimidated of this cleaning staff. I understand he was waiting to clean the room, but do not understand why he could not have communicated with other hotel staff to find out which room to clean and when.

While the old saying goes "you get what you pay for", there are other hotels around the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area which run for the same price and have much better value.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the creek have a nice view, especially from the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meaganlael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I chose this motel because I was passing through for one night, and it seemed to be the cheapest one which allowed pets. The room was very big and clean and the woman at checkin was very nice and helpful in suggesting a place to go for dinner. I would definitely stay here again if I was on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebeck
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent value for price in a prime location, you can walk almost anywhere in downtown Gatlinburg from here. Room was clean, the light over the sink didn't work but that would be our only complaint. Their pet policy is a bit different than most motel 6s, only one pet and a weight limit of 25 pounds though so you need to know that before you go.

Room Tip: try for a first floor if you are traveling with a pet, as the open stairs are scary, it is in a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraNQuebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I went to Gatlinburg to meet with family. I stayed here because it was close by to my brother's hotel & close to downtown. I had a absolutely wonderful stay. The room was big, clean, & very comfortable. I slept wonderful. The staff was very nice & helpful. I would most definitely & highly recommend this motel because of all that I mentioned previously, plus the rate of the room was very reasonable & good. Thanks for a great weekend!!!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyDewayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenwald, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Presidential suite and the rest of our family stayed in 2 other rooms in the hotel. The features of the room were a full kitchen, living room, and heart shaped hot tub. Wifi was included and was a decent speed but the 1st night we were unable to access it. The microwave, stove and refrigerator all worked. The hot water did not work in our suite for our entire 3 night stay so we were completely unable to use the hot tub or the shower in our room. We informed the front desk staff about the hot water issue on two separate occasions and one time they came up and tested all the sinks and said the owner would take care of it but the issue was not resolved during our stay. Another issue was that a past occupant had broken off a metal prong from a plug in one of the electrical outlets which was a potential electrocution hazard. This issue was also brought up twice during our stay and wasn't fixed. There was a fireplace but no wood to put in it and I'm not sure where one would have gotten wood for it. If not for the friendly staff, low price, relative cleanliness of the room, and our need for somewhere for our family members to eat and hang out we would have quit this place after the 1st night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I liked it very convenient to get to the strip. I thought it was good. The lady working was very nice. I was happy and satisfied for the money we paid. The lady gave us a personal coffee pot and that was great I love coffee. Me and my fiance thought it was just maitnace that might have had some problems. Other than that the room was nice and clean. Smeeled good for a smokers room. And was nice to go out side and hear and see the creak. I would reccommed this place to people if ur not looking for it all to fancy. We got a plan room but they do have rooms with fire places and persanal hot tubs. Thanks for the stay

Liz langlois

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizancraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#52 of 78 in Gatlinburg
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains

Property: Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Address: 309 Ownby St, I-40 at US-441, Exit #407, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3109 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Gatlinburg, Tennessee motel is a 4-minute drive from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and features a seasonal outdoor pool. Motel 6 Gatlinburg is along the banks of Little Pigeon River, and the Smoky Mountains! We are only 3 blocks from downtown Parkway. Amenities include an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi. Select rooms have Jacuzzi tubs or fireplaces. Suites also available. This Gatlinburg, Tennessee motel has rooms with cable TV. A desk, microwave, and small refrigerator are featured in all rooms. Guests are greeted every morning with fresh coffee in the lobby. A 24-hour front desk and free parking are provided to all guests at this pet-friendly Gatlinburg Motel 6 for added convenience. The property is a 5-minute drive from Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort. Gatlinburg Convention Center is a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing