We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Ranked #56 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Norton, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Where do I start..., We can afford to spend more on motel/hotel rooms. But we never do because we don't need a lot when we travel. Just a bed and a shower. We are not picky people by any means! When I arrived the front desk told me there are NO SMOKING ROOMS, and that is what we booked on Orbitz. The biggest issue is the WIFI does not work! Never got the wifi to work for the ipad, and the lap top only worked a few hours out of 4 days we stayed. I really like that the room had hardwood floors, if the floors were laid right! One section of the floor was bubbled. And no matter where you walk you hear a crinkle sound. So forget about getting up in the middle of the night to use the restroom, because you will wake up everyone else in the room. One of the maids opened up our door when we were in the room without knocking. And he didn't even apologize. I was even nice about it! Then he was pushy telling us he would be back in 15 minutes. The room was clean for the most part. The back of the toilet didn't look like it was wiped down. There is no hot water in the morning, so we just learned real quick to take our showers at night. This motel is in a bad area of town. We were constantly looking outside to check on our car. I did not feel comfortable leaving our electronics or anything valuable in the room. We locked these things in our trunk when we were not in the room. The exterior of the building needs help big time. And little things would make a big difference; trimming the bushes, pulling weeds, power washing the building and sidewalks. Come on people, take some pride in your business! There is an ice machine that is broke, either fix it or throw it away! It is leaking water all over the place. There is an ice machine that works on the other side. There is an nasty dumpster at the edge of the parking lot and dirty old mattresses that the trash company did not take. This was the worst motel we have ever stayed in. The good news is the staff did authorize us to end our stay two days sooner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferEsterle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    104
    52
    46
    46
See reviews for
123
110
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
RESACA,GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a pet friendly motel that doesn't charge extra for your pet being with you.It is clean,convenient,free wifi.The staff are super,I was early getting to the motel but it was no problem.They let me check in after about five minutes to verify my room was ready.

Room Tip: schedule a couple of months ahead if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1EAGLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

booked through expedia unpublished rates... was listed as a 3 star hotel... I wouldn't give it a 1 star. Hotel desk was nice but hotel is seriously run down. I was scared to fall asleep. Hotel is not in the the best of neighborhoods. I was so upset w expedia and their policy with unpublished rates I tried to cancel but sales are final. The hotel is nowhere near a 3 star rating it was listed. No free breakfast no restaurant on site and the room was jus gross.. My husband got bitten by bed bugs.Hair dryers kept in office (because their customers run off with them all the time per lady at front desk) Dirty old mattresses on side of dumpster outside. jus pitiful. learned my lesson will never use hotwire/expedia again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Julie P,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights with immediate regret of my decision to book a room at this motel... I felt bad my wife had to stay at this place.

This motel is dump... literally. The pool was green... There were toilets stacked outside the dumpster just out-front of the hotel. Random pile of sand in parking lot. The exterior's decor shows of broken dreams and regret which is obvious with as many names as this hotel has had (red roof, days inn, garden plaza & now motel 6). This motel is quaintly set upon the worst side of Gatlinburg I have ever seen. Other old neighboring motels/apartments diminish the hotel further by causing a crappy parking situation. No easy way to get to the second floor...

The room smelled a little musty upon arrival but not too bad, the shower curtain was barely clingy on to a 2x4 screwed into the wall causing the curtain to continue to slide where water could spray out. There was also a little bit of mold in the grout. We had a broken lamp that when touched the plastic shade fell off. Obviously done by a past guest or employee hoping no one else would notice.

I did not bring a pet but I fail to see anywhere where you could go take your pet out for a "walk" anywhere around the hotel.

Office staff upon check-in barely mustered up the strength to converse with me enough to check me in.

Go somewhere else and save yourself regret of the decision to book this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GonotheBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Room had a terrible smell when we walked in , upon further inspection the toilet hadn't been cleaned from the previous customer. After going back to the lobby she gave us a djfferent room, but by then i was pretty much grossed out! The pet area was indeed disusting. I ended up throwing away a perfectly good pair of shoes because of it.
The pool was a nasty toxic green color and was OPEN !
The woman at the desk told us about the trolley and to go stand at the edge of the parking lot. There were 3 or 4 old toilets piled up out there along with the tennants of the the motel next door staring us down the whole time. The trolley I might add never came.
We were supposed to stay for 3 nights but after a sleepless night we told them we needed a refund & wouldn't be staying.... ICK!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrobin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarksville, tn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room was ok and clean, but that's where it ends. The pet walk area was disgusting. The pool that's supposed to be open until October, according to their web site, looked like a pond. I've included a photo of it. I won't go into details, but their customer service was about as bad as I've ever encountered. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob2322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I arrived on 9/3/13 and stayed for 1 night Loved it so much came back and stayed one additonal night. The Staff was So Nice , My Hats Off to Wendy and Ashley. They are Awesome !!!! I do Hope to come back again one day. The place treated me like Family !! The Room was Very Clean and Up todate , Bed was the most comfortable I have been in a years and So Very clean !!! I would reccomend this Hotel to anyone !!! One other thing , It is Pet Friendly , My pet even Loved .. the stay as well!!! Thank you again !!!

Room Tip: Stay here ,, Rooms are Large .. And has a View of the River ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
0.6 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#61 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.1 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#67 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains

Property: Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Address: 309 Ownby St, I-40 at US-441, Exit #407, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3109 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Gatlinburg is along the banks of Little Pigeon River, and the Smoky Mountains! We are only 3 blocks from downtown Parkway. Amenities include an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi. Select rooms have Jacuzzi tubs or fire places. Suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing