We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains to your Saves list
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Ownby Street, I-40 at US-441, Exit #407, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We came down on a Wednesday and left on a Saturday and only paid $201 so for that price you can't expect big fluffy towels, little shampoos and free breakfast. However it was clean the bed was very comfortable we got a view of the water and it's with in walking distance of everything so you don't have to pay extra for parking or fight with traffic. We didn't want to pay a lot for a hotel so we would have extra for attractions so I was kind of nervous about what to expect but it turned out very nice I would definitely stay again! They could stand a little updating with fresh paint you can tell its been a while and the internet didn't really work but other than that it was nice.

Room Tip: We asked for a room over looking the water and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    87
    40
    34
    37
See reviews for
97
89
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

motel was great for the price, located fairly close to the main drag in Gatlinburg, TN. Room was nice and clean with plenty of room for us and our poodle. Tippy. From the outside, we were kind of weary about staying there. But everything went well, no one bothered us. Very busy during the weekend, with no loud partying or comings or goings to bother us. Staff very friendly and helpful. Even gave us discounts on some of the attractions in the city, that helped out alot. Also, upgraded us to king size bed, so we wouldn't have to walk around back, just to save us some steps.

Room Tip: no continental breakfast, and no fitness center available. Continental breakfast would have been nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pleasantstay49511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

When we walked into the room it had a funky smell. There were bugs in the bathroom and ants in the room. Some of the lights didn't work the toilet wasn't even cleaned from the last people. This place is outdated no remote to the tv pillows are old. The coffee in the morning taste like water. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked on Priceline based on price mostly. It was pretty much as advertised and it was clean although it is not in the best part of town we still felt secure. While it is an older hotel it is not a "sleaze" joint. You can walk to downtown if you like although it is a little longer of a walk due to being at one end of the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place was fantastic! I have been traveling to Gatlingburg for 20 years and this place beats any comparable hotel I have stayed in. Jessica at the desk was very friendly and helpful by offering me room type options at check in. I chose a jacuzzi suite on the stream side of the hotel not expecting too much as it is an older hotel. Boy was I surprised:) I am not sure if all of the rooms there are as nice as ours was but my mine was fabulous. It was clean, comfortable, & quiet. Not only was the room great but this hotel's location is great too. It is close enough to walk to the strip but far enough away from all of the hustle and bustle. We didn't even go to any trailheads on this trip because we could take the pet walking trail behind the hotel down to the river and play around. We were only in for one night this trip so I did not get a chance to use the pool. But I did check it out for future trips and can confirm it is well maintained. Overall this place had all I needed and more than I expected for the price. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for streamside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, GA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We chose this room for vacation because of price and brand reputation. We expected a small, clean room and a small pool. What we got was a large recently renovated room . The room was spotless and housekeeping kept it that way during our entire stay. The pool was larger than expected and very well kept.

On our third night, the air conditioner quit working at about 9:00 PM. We called the front desk and a maintenance man was there within ten minutes. By 10:30 PM we had a new unit installed. You can't get better service than that.

The girls at the front desk were friendly and helpful. We asked for extra towels to use at the pool and they were provided free of charge. There was always hot coffee available in the lobby.

All in all, this was just a very good place to stay and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lafayette_GAPossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was pet friendly and for the amenities advertised via their website. The next day we found out that it did not have a complimentary breakfast (which it advertised). We had booked a room for six days and also wanted on-site laundry (which it advertised) and found out that we would have to drive to the nearest laundry mat. They offered free Wi-Fi which worked fine for the first two days, the remaining four days of our stay, we were unable to get on-line. It was quiet and since our room was in the back, it was nice to be near the creek. It was easy walking distance to the main street with lots of restaurants and shops. If we ever go back to Gatlinburg, we will definitely stay somewhere else since there are lots of other places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room in the back overlooking the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#18 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#58 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites
Economy Inn & Suites
#44 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#71 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains

Property: Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Address: 309 Ownby Street, I-40 at US-441, Exit #407, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Gatlinburg is along the banks of Little Pigeon River, and the Smoky Mountains! We are only 3 blocks from downtown Parkway. Amenities include an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi. Select rooms have Jacuzzi tubs or fire places. Suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and ETB so you can book your Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing