We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Tree Tops Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Tops Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2007

We recently stayed here for a week after booking through RCI. The location is wonderful, terrific view, quiet area but close to all of the attractions. Those are the positives. On check in the staff was incredibly rude as if we were keeping them from something else, there was not an elevator in our building which was good exercise but not when you are trying to carry a weeks worth of luggage up and down 3 flights of stairs. The description said we were to have a washer/dryer in our condo which was not so but you could use the laundry room 2 buildings over for free. We had a 2 bedroom which was to accomodate up to 6 people but with only 1 full bathroom. Overall a good place for a weekend but not for a week long vacation for more than 2 people.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Princess99_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 282 of 282 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2007

We booked this resort through RCI at the last minute after seeing on TripAdvisor that the resort we were supposed to stay at in Branson Missouri had terrible reviews. Both resorts have a 5 star rating with RCI, but Tree Tops had good reviews here.

We stayed on the top floor in the building across from the check-in/main area. The building does have an elevator and luggage carts (enter from the parking area) and convenient parking, and the pool was across the driveway from the parking lot.

First, the suite itself: the "master" bedroom had a very uncomfortable queen size bed, and dated bathroom/hot tub. It did have a double sink (convenient) and the hot tub was very large....but there was no separate shower. Nice balcony off the master bedroom overlooking the pool area and the trees. The second bedroom had 2 single beds. Both bedrooms had closet doors that were "off" their tracks, and very limited bureau space (3 small drawers). The windows and doors all worked well, as did the a/c.

The kitchen was very small but fully stocked. Dishwasher was loud but efficient. One thing I really liked was the convenient pour container with dishwasher detergent....a lot easier to use than little individual powder packages.

The living/dining area was a nice size, but the couch and loveseat were uncomfortable. Very flimsy cushions. Nice corner fireplace (not that we used it, but pretty). The whole resort was generally clean. Roomy balcony off the living room.

Pool and jacuzzi were nice and clean. But the pool area restroom (for women, anyway) was FILTHY and outdated. DEFINITELY NOT 5 STAR!!!!!

Activity Center hours were ridiculous!!!! It was only open from 8 to 4 or 4:30 each day, with one computer with internet access. We were informed that you could "sit in the hall" and try to access the internet if you had a wireless card on your laptop. The rooms do not have internet access. The center had one pool table and a ping pong table set up right behind the computer desk, so while you were using the computer you were constantly retrieving ping pong balls. The first day or so they had a soda machine with free soda for the kids (no ice, but the drinks were cold) but then the woman running the activity center decided to only put it on for specific activity hours because she had to pick up a few paper cups left on the tables at the end of the day!!!!

The resort advertises being built on a trout stream, but fishing is not convenient. Licenses are not for sale at the resort and they are expensive. We got ours at Walmart but they also have them at the ACE hardware (which is closer) according to the front desk.

Gatlinburg and the surrounding towns are the real attraction. We had never stayed in Tennessee but were so happy we did. The mountains are gorgeous and surprisingly NO bugs!!!! The weather was beautiful, very little humidity although warm, and the area just offers so many things to do it was hard to choose. With 3 boys we decided on the Nascar speedway/amusement park. Like everything else, it was expensive ($30 each - even our 5 year old - for an all-day pass, and the on-site food/drinks were really outrageous - $7 for a lemon shakeup) but the kids had a blast and we could come and go for food/water (kept a cooler of water in our car).

Lots of so-called "outlet" shopping but the prices are definitely NOT discount prices. For example, a Clarks leather handbag was "regularly" priced, on the tag, for $79 and the "outlet" price was only $10 less. But the store was offering an additional 20% off that day.... Nice stuff though, and you can find bargains in the clearance sections.

Grocery prices were high as well, at least at the local Walmart. We live in central Illinois and found them to be as high as Rhode Island prices (where we are originally from).

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank allysonsaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Fantastic property. Resort is built into the mountain, its great. Winding roads, a true mountaintop experience for us. Best part: The Great Smoky National Forest. Cades Cove is in it, and it was absolutely awesome. Old cabins, original settlers dwellings prior to the park being instated. The resort - just know that it is great having an elevator, but if you choose one of the elevator buildings, you can't get a king sized bed. That was a problem. Other than that, some of the security people were rude, but that's all. We moved to a quieter room after first night, it was LOUD. Room #814 was perfect, an end unit and gorgeous view too. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank camkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Carmen Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
390 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#32 of 78 in Gatlinburg
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Tops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Tops Resort

Address: 290 Sherman Clabo Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5066
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Hotel Class:4 star — Tree Tops Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Tree Tops Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing