We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic Gatlinburg Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall's Creek Rest Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Gatlinburg Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I recently spent the evening at Marshall's Creek Rest Motel in Gatlinburg, and we were not disappointed. She has stayed there on several occasions with her college roommate and insisted that she and I take a little overnight trip. The rooms are basic 1960s Gatlinburg, but they are spotless and comfortable. The motel is located within easy creekside walking distance to downtown, so we enjoyed a pleasant stroll through the Village and up and down the Parkway. My wife loves swimming, so she got up early the next morning for a swim in the pool. It was also spotless and quite relaxing. Perhaps our favorite part of the motel is its location right beside a beautiful mountain stream and near Mynatt Park. For all those out there who wear makeup, make sure to bring your own makeup-removal cloth, and don't forget your hairdryer. I am sure they have some in the office, but we did not ask.

Room Tip: Someday we would like to stay in the room closest to the creek, but all of the rooms are comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StevenP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    20
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
56
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
273 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My son and I stayed here for two nights at the referral of a friend and we were not dissappointed. This is the only place we will be staying on future trips to Gatlinburg. The room was absolutely clean. We couldn't find dust, dirt, or anything else. The beds were comfortable although you may want to bring an extra pillow. It was very quiet and the owners and staff were very friendly. The pool was heated and very clean as well. It is in a great location being only about a 5 minute walk to the main drag. Each room has its own assigned parking space near the door to each unit. This isn't an opulent 5 star hotel like the Ritz or something, but this is the best hotel/motel accommodations we've had in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KFCincy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunnlevel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

For the money, you couldn't find a better room. This hotel is old, but very well maintained. I dare to say that it is one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in.
Cons: no frills (which was not a con for me, we were too busy out and about to care), flat pillows (bring along some from home), strict about noise (again, no problem for me).
Pros: less then a 5 minute walk to the Village shops and the main drag, close to the busy town center but quiet, sweet little creek boarders the property, great air conditioner, awesome house keepers, cheap, and CLEAN.
My daughter and I enjoyed our morning walk to get coffee and donuts in theVillage and sitting next to the stream eating breakfast. Although the hotel appeared to be booked, I barely noticed the other guests and definitely did not hear them. I would highly recommend Marshall's and will stay here during my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahg600ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This small motel is located about 2 blocks in from the main drag of Gatlinburg. It is a easy walk, especially if you cut through the mall "the Village" right near by. It is small, 20 rooms, and those rooms are also small, but very Cozy! Vintage wood paneled walls with retro art prints and lovely fittings are all in excellent shape. Tv and small fridge. This place is very taken care of. The rooms and the pool are all super clean. Very efficient check in, we got there Sunday afternoon and they had a note telling us what to do. My husband really appreciated the assigned parking spots in front of each room! Perfect for a couple nights stay, for a couple looking for a romantic cozy motel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Inkylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked 2 nights but left following morning...too much noise and they should not allow smoking ...the front doors and chairs are close with not much room and with smokers on both sides sitting it was not very pleasant...they encourage this by placing sand filled pots by the chairs..no phones no WiFi ..the lady in the office does not want to be bothered so just avoid her...truth is you just don't feel welcome there...I will not be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have just double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

me and my wife needed a one night get-a-way from the kids and our regular lives. had a great stay . I really enjoy talking to the other guest as we sit on porch or by the creek . I met a man from Alabama who said he had been staying her since 1979 ! wow ! This motel is family owned and family run , I've stayed here many times and will be staying again in 2 weeks. always clean. plenty of hot water, close walk to parkway . one last thing . when the two ladies that clean the rooms know your name. "your home"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Love, love this motor inn. Enjoy sitting on the porch outside of your room and listening to the river. It's a close walk to the strip too. Rooms are extremely clean and I like the fact there are no phones in the rooms. Can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#26 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites
Economy Inn & Suites
#49 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall's Creek Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall's Creek Rest Motel

Property: Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
Address: 313 Baskins Creek Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3503
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marshall's Creek Rest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Marshall's Creek Rest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall`s Creek Rest Hotel Gatlinburg
Marshalls Creek Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing