We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time to a quiet, clean, convenient location that is an excellent value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A trip back in time to a quiet, clean, convenient location that is an excellent value.”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Marshall's Creekrest started out as 4 cabins in 1950. The cabins were connected and rooms added between them in subsequent years. The motel has been in the same family since its inception. The current owner has upgraded the bathrooms, and continues to maintain high standards of cleanliness. Contrary to other posts, NO PETS are allowed. There is cable TV, and a limited number of refrigerators are available on a first come, first served basis. There is no WiFi, so sit out in front of your room in one of the chairs provided and listen to the creek; remember why you came on vacation! Tennessee law prohibits smoking in hotel/motels, so smoke outside if you must, but be considerate and do so downwind. Because of its excellent value and location (a short, flat walk from the "strip") rooms fill up quickly, so contact them well in advance to ensure availability.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Highpti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    26
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
69
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This charming little motel is definitely the best deal in Gatlinburg. I spent more at two restaurants than I did for two nights at the motel. Everything was clean and the location can't be beat within walking distance to every gatlingburg attraction.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tjessee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waveland, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My family and I have stayed at Marshalls Creek several times in the last couple of years. We love it. It is very clean and the owners and staff are great. It is very reasonably priced for the amenities that they offer. We love sitting outside on the little porches and talking to our neighbors. It is in the heart of Gatlinburg and very close to shopping, eateries and attractions. We have never had any distractions from other guests and we liked the fact that we could walk to everything. This is home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joseph055_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hephzibah, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

VERY clean! Affordable. Very short walk into The Village & town. I've been staying here for the last 30 years. It isn't the ritz, but better. Spend your money on fine dinners, outings, & shows and stay here affordably.

Room Tip: Call ahead. This place is no secret. Their business is repeat customers and they stay pretty booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this motel during the week of Thanksgiving. It was wonderful. It was spacious and most importantly, very clean. It was in walking distance of all the action; however, it is located in a very quiet section and very close to The Village which we visited everyday. I would definitely stay again. My only suggestion would be that they include a refrigerator.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlabamaBajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

If you are used to staying in a 5 star full amenities luxury hotel, this place is not for you. HOWEVER, if you are on a budget, or have other things in Gatlinburg that you want to spend your money on, "YET" still want to stay in the "CLEANEST" motel in Gatlinburg, then this one is well worth your consideration. Baskins Creek runs right beside it (within 4 feet). It is relaxing to sit on the front porch in the chairs and hear the creek running.

Now there is a reason they call it "rest" in the motel name. All loud noise (loud TV's, stereos, hooping and hollering) has to be reduced by 10 PM, which was great for my wife and me (we have had some serious noise problems with other guests in other places we have stayed)

The decor is of the 60's, 70's, (Knotty pine walls, paneling, etc) and the outside is a traditional (real) mountain stone, which again, for me, I loved it, as it reminded me of more simple times as a kid when going on vacation as a kid with family .

Again, if you require exercise halls, condo style rooms, indoor swimming pools, breakfast in bed, etc etc etc, by all means don't stop looking until you find it, but if you are a young or retired couple, or a small family, and the the price of accommodations are going to be a deal breaker as to getting to come to Gatlinburg or not, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you consider this local family owned for 50 years motel.

Also, the beds are comfortable and the rooms do not smell, ...and no bed bugs to bite :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vic486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We having been traveling to Gatlinburg for many years. We needed a place to stay for one night and I remembered this motel. We had five people and they had a room with three double beds. The room was very clean and within walking distance to main street. Instead of renting a cabin in the future we plan to go back to Marshall's creek and stay there. This is not a luxury motel but a down to earth knotty pine wall motel. Very clean.

Room Tip: The higher the number the closer you are to Baskin's Creek Road. Chose anywhere from 1 to 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Cheung52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#23 of 78 in Gatlinburg
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall's Creek Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall's Creek Rest Motel

Property: Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
Address: 313 Baskins Creek Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marshall's Creek Rest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Marshall's Creek Rest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall`s Creek Rest Hotel Gatlinburg
Marshalls Creek Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing