We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet restful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Upstate, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice quiet restful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed in an Egyptian themed room. The room was very nice and clean and wonderfully decorated. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There was no noise at all during the night. It is just a short walk to downtown Gatlinburg and all the attractions. Regarding a previous post about the crock pot gravy, I put me a couple of biscuits on my plate and covered them with gravy. Went and sat down and took a bite and the gravy was ice cold. Apparently it had been taken out of the refrigerator and just dumped cold into the crock pot and served without heating it up. Other than cold gravy, the stay was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wn4jwq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    201
    105
    45
    45
See reviews for
282
222
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Rooms need to be refurbished. Room smelled of smoke and spicy food. The free breakfast was a joke! Waffles (without syrup) and warm Sunny Delight one morning and just waffles the next. NO coffee or juice! We checked out early and went elsewhere. The front desk said the owners refuse to put any improvements into the place!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cee102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

I stayed here with my husband and one year old. I really wanted to like this place, especially after reading previous reviews, but it was a big disappointment. I booked this hotel when it was still listed as the Wildwood Inn after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, but learned at check-in that they had a change in management that decided to franchise as a Red Roof Inn. The hotel is located near the end of the main strip in Gatlinburg - you can walk to town or take a trolley or two to get there. In general, the hotel is old and needs updating, but that's not an issue for us as long as it's clean. Cleanliness was not the case for us - our room's two sinks and toilet looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks. On the plus side, the rooms are very large.

Housekeeping in non-existent: I thought that perhaps they had overlooked our room, but learned after calling the front desk that they do not clean the rooms from day to day, standard policy, because they "don't want to disturb your things". This means they don't make your bed, change sheets, vacuum, clean the bathrooms or empty your garbage. They will give you new towels, if you ask, and they did empty our one garbage can, only because we had set it outside our room. Most of the staff we did see was less than friendly. The worst part about all of this? Housekeeping leaves a tip envelope in the rooms so you can leave something for their service. They don't do anything - can we say incredibly tacky?

The hotel stay includes a "hot breakfast", and there is a nice breakfast room available. The morning we ate there, breakfast consisted of make-your-own waffles, two cereals - one of which they were out of, coffee, juice and stale mini-muffins. They were out of plates and coffee cups as well, all while a staff member stood in the room and did nothing, until I asked about it. The morning we checked out I did see that they added biscuits and gravy, but their breakfast really needs some improvement.

There is supposed to be free wifi available, however the network connection is awful. My husband lost the signal regularly both nights we were there.

I happened to notice a few signs from "hotel management" throughout the facility, which gave the distinct impression that management is not focused on satisfying the customer. One sign was on the vending machine, stating they do not own the machine and are not responsible for shortage. This is something they should work out with the vending machine company - if they agree to have the machine on their property, they should have some way to compensate the customer for problems. How is it the customer's fault? Second, on the ice machine, stating do not fill coolers. People are traveling to visit the Smokies, and most have coolers. Is it really that expensive for the hotel to refill the ice machine if customers fill their coolers?

In summary -
Pros: Very large, quiet rooms. Great price. Nice views of the mountains. Large balconies.

Cons: The rooms need better cleaning. No housekeeping services, NONE. "Hot" breakfast is a stretch, and poor selection of breakfast foods. Most of the staff is not friendly. Overall impression is that new management is penny-pinching and not very customer-oriented.

That said, I understand that with new management there can be hiccups along the way, so perhaps in a few months things will improve. I brought my complaints to the attention of the front office staff upon departure, and the gentleman seemed genuinely apologetic. However, I would not stay here again or recommend this hotel to others. The price was right, but the experience was all wrong.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed at the Wildwood Inn in July. It was a great hotel. The room was huge and clean. When we checked in there was a problem with the door locks in our room but the Hotel Manager was very quick to switch us to another room. The pool was clean and well maintained. This hotel is a gem and we could not believe that it was not packed. Then ONLY bad thing that i can say about the wildwood is that the pool closes at 10. it would have been nice to have gotten in there a little later since it was so hot down there. The staff was so nice. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura_taylor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eolia, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

I was well satisfied with the services i received. The room was clean and roomy. The clerks were friendly . And the free internet was a plus.It is little difficult to make left turn toward Pigeonforge but not impossible.The pool was clean and well chlorinated,however the deepest is only 5 ft.The price for room was reasonable. The free breakfast was good also.will stay there again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

The Wildwood Inn has very large and clean rooms. Most even have a fireplace. The balcony's are spacious, safe and in good shape. This hotel is right at the entrance to Gatlinburg, which is great if you wish to take the very short drive to Pigeon Forge. If you want to go deeper into the Gatlinburg, I recommend the trolley as the traffic is heavy, and the trolley is only $.50 per person.
The staff at Wildwood in are so nice and very accomodating. The Continental breakfast is simple, but good.
I highly recommend staying here especially at these great rates.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jones4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

The only nice thing I can say is the theme room was cool. The jacuzzi tub did not work and the breakfast was horrible. I don't consider canned gravy in a crock pot a hot breakfast. Also was quoted cheaper price on phone but card was charged $20 more. When I talked to the man in the office, he said no one would have quoted me that price. I told him it was a woman and he had the nerve to tell me no woman worked there. He was very rude and I would never stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angie_r30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Address: 401 Hemlock St, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3009 (Formerly Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg. We are right across from "Gatlinburg Mountain Coaster" and also 1.5 miles from Great Smoky Mountain National Park, the busiest of all national parks with over 9 million visitors each year. The park offers endless outdoor activities such as downhill snow skiing, class IV whitewater rafting, golf, hiking options from 600 miles of trails, and fishing in hundreds of miles of streams. Relax at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg while you're enjoying all Gatlinburg's restaurants, family fun museums (such as Ripley's Believe It or Not and Hollywood Star Car Museum), Dollywood Amusement Park, Splash Country, Dixie Stampede, and many, many other great attractions, fun for young and old. Year round events and concerts combine to make Gatlinburg a true entertainment destination in the beauty of the Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn And Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium
Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Wildwood Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing