We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Campground!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Hoosick Falls, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Campground!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were a little late arriving due to following the GPS and Chong called to be sure everything was OK and directed us there. Barry checked us in and asked if we needed help backing into our site and was more than happy helping my husband get us all settled in. Campground is quiet, clean and just far enough from Gatlinburg to seem like you weren't near the hustle and bustle without being too far away. We spent a lot of time riding our motorcycles while we were here and Barry and Chong were great about being sure we were having a good time and helping us find places to go and places to eat. We can't wait to return! Wish there were more campgrounds like this one available in more places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    21
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
142
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

An excellent place to camp with clean restrooms. The most friendly and helpful staff I have ever seen. We checked in little late. However, the owner had made all the necessary arrangements and also checked in with us to see if everything was ok. Definitely would like to visit smokys and stay here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHVohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clintwood, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The camping spots are no where as big as they would have you to believe. The only level spots are pull through that are paved. There's a lot of road noise. I would rate it as a 2 star at the most.
The bathrooms are clean, but I have seen cleaner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This Campground is excellent. The restrooms are beautiful and super clean. The staff is excellent. Our vehicle broke down while we were shopping in Gatlinburg. The owner was willing to come out late at night to help us out. The people are super friendly and the campground is quiet and cozy. Best and cleanest campground we have ever been too. Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the cleanest, best kept campground we ever visited. The owners are super friendly and very helpful with visitor information and really made us feel welcome. The bathrooms were immaculate; the best we've ever seen. Highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

While this campground was beautiful and very well maintained they do not have ANY Pet Rules Posted nor will they do anything about other campers that abuse. We have camped for years and never had a problem such as this. We do own a dog and love dogs. However, this campground allowed campers to place multiple pens on their sites with multiple dogs in them. We had a camper one campsite over that had 3 miniature doberman pincer's that were left outside and that continuously barked all day long, rarely stopping for 5 minutes. In as much, as the campground did have quit hours from 10 pm - 8 am these dogs woke us up at 7:22 am and continued to bark for over an hour straight 2 days in a row. My husband and I have never complained at a campground before, but this was affecting our vacation. We complained to management 3 different times and the last time the Owner, Barry yelled at me and told me I was exaggerating because he was just over there and they only barked when he approached and walked away. However, when I offered for him to stay at our camper for 30 min. he refused and told us they weren't going to ask them to leave because they drove a long way. Needless to say, we booked this site 6 months in advance, paid for it and were not bothering any other campers, we were asked to leave if we didn't like it. Let me understand this, let the camper whom is the one causing the noise stay and ask the ones to leave that bring it to your attention more than once. There was also another camper whom has been camping there for 9 years and he stated that this was the worst he has ever seen it. We are from Michigan and all I can say is that this type of behavior from campers would not be Tolerated at any campground and they would have been asked to leave. The response we received from Barry was totally unacceptable and beyond belief.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am somewhat of a campground snob and am not easily impressed, however, Smoky Bear Campground is beautiful. The grounds are pristine and the owners are fabulous. I even got a call on my way in to make sure I did not get lost. It is obvious when you see the beautiful landscaping and the ultra clean facilities that Chong and Barry work very hard to make it so nice. Be careful, though, this place can spoil you. Nothing else seems so measure up now. I cannot wait to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank camplife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
12.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
12.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Arrow Creek Campground
Arrow Creek Campground
#31 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
#6 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bear Cove Village
Bear Cove Village
#17 of 53 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
12.5 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park

Property: Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park
Address: Hwy 321, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-0454
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Smoky Bear Campground And Rv Park
Smoky Bear Campground & Rv Park Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing