We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attraction if you want to be scared!”

Ripley's Haunted Adventure
Ranked #40 of 111 things to do in Gatlinburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ripley's Haunted Adventure takes haunted houses to the next level. Live actors lurk behind every corner of this creepy renovated mansion, just waiting to "welcome" you to their home. That high pitched scream you hear...yea that's you. But remember, you must be at least 6 years old to enter, if you dare!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Mackville, Kentucky, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great attraction if you want to be scared!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have went through this attraction 3 times now, over the last several years. It will definitely scare you no matter how many times you go through. You will walk through pitch black hallways and some of them get very narrow. Everything is fake of course, but you are still scarred as you wait for something to happen in the pitch black. You will have to walk through with the person behind you clutching your shoulder for guidance through the dark hallways. If that bothers you then don't go. Even if you don't go through the haunted house, you can still enjoy watching "stumpy" scare people as they walk on the street!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    158
    156
    93
    102
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Scary for little kids, not so much for teenagers and adults”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The main thing about this haunted house is mind tricks. You walk mostly in pitch black feeling the wall to guide your way. If you are claustrophobic this is not the place for you because you go through a couple of very tight spaces and it is pitch black at the same time. I'm sure it is scarier for younger kids (10 to 12 year olds maybe) but for teenagers and adults not so much. Mostly animatronics, only a couple of real actors in the entire thing. We did go through during the day, may be different at night??

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Scary but not. The first time I took the kids here they were pretty scared when we left. Today not so much. However it was a lot of fun! They need more actors, however I am sure they do not have them because they will be punched! Our favorite part was the fun house black light tunnel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nightstar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exciting adventure”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My 7 1/2 yr old son and I explored this haunted house together. You walk through it and there are several very very dark areas. It was fun, exciting and very scary. We used a $2 off coupon and it was around $20 for both of us no think it was overpriced but we did enjoy our time.

Helpful?
Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lots of Darkness”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This wasn't a bad haunted house but it wasn't a great one either. It's mostly feeling around in the pitch black dark trying not to break your neck. There was only one person the house and you only saw him twice. It did have a few motion activated items that were good for a nice jump. Like everything else in the area it's a bit overpriced for what you get.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Em S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Haunted Adventure also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Haunted Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing