We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Bad.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Prix Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Prix Motel
Ranked #71 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty Bad.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

This place was about as bad as I expected. We just needed the room for New Year's Eve and one night is about all that I believe I could take here. It was extremely dated. The decor was so dated that it was comical. I did not see any bugs (trust me I looked for them the entire time), but our room also smelled strongly of cooked food. I think we must have stayed near the owners apartment or something. The parking situation was also terrible. It was within easy walking distance to the Parkway, but that is the only nice thing I can say about it. I would not ever stay at this place again, even if it was free.

  • Liked — The psychedelic wallpaper in the bathroom made me laugh.
  • Disliked — The smell.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    4
    4
    19
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shelby nc
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

my wife and i made a resurvation with this hotel in hopes of getting away for a few days, this was all our would allow. when my job had an emergency and we had to cancel we called the hotel to cancel, and were told to call the booking agent the next day for a full refund. the booking agent advised us that we needed to call them the day before and would only recieve half our money back. we never recieved that money , and the hotel said we never cancelled. that was an all out lie. so if you like honest people dont deal with these idiots .

  • Liked — not a damn thing
  • Disliked — everything very untrust worthy people
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mikeShelbyNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Ronaoke, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

This place was gross they need to clean.
There were bugs everywhere.
We got 1 towel for 2 travelers, when we ordered new ones the lady got out of the pool went and got us some towels and brought them by. I would pay 8 times more not to stay in that place. The picture on the website about made me sick.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — BUGs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brislic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Va
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

This hotel is very outdated, paneling on all of the walls and it was busted up. It is a convenient location, but there are other places to stay that are nicer.

The room wasn't clean, there were cob webbs on the ceiling, the fridge didn't work, one day they only gave us one towel, and i found a nest of gnats living in the crack of the bathroom sink. It was gross and we were afraid of bugs the whole time we were there.

This hotel really needs to be updated and definately needs to be DEEP cleaned!!

We will not be back!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rileyluvs2dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

Clean Hotel but outdated. Had pool to ourselves the whole stay. Owners friendly and staff helpful.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Outdated bathroom and wood paneling
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

Very close to downtown Gatlinburg. Pet friendly but there is no where
for you pet to use the bathroom that is convienant. Very small parking area.

  • Liked — convienance to town
  • Disliked — The room was very small, had too much stuff in it.
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ROADRUNNER5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Place Condominiums
Park Place Condominiums
#15 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prix Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prix Motel

Property: Grand Prix Motel
Address: 235 Ski Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3142
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Grand Prix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing