We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for backpackers but even that's pushing it”
Review of Grand Prix Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Prix Motel
Ranked #70 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK for backpackers but even that's pushing it”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We are backpackers and were headed to the smokies. Because of an unexpected I-75 closure, we arrived too late to head out on the trail. It was Saturday and the area was PACKED. We ended up here because we have pretty low standards when it comes to accommodation [I mean, we're people who voluntarily live in the woods for a week, right?] - clean, safe and cheap is all I need. This was kinda pricey for what it was, but the lady knocked off $10 because we are backpackers. I appreciated that, and the total was $55 afterward. The room was "OK". Very, very dimly lit by a few gross lamps (stained) and shabby. We were still fairly happy until we tried to close our blinds. They were broken and stuck open. We told her the problem and she basically said to deal with it. We ended up using a rag to individually close the dusty little slats as best we could. I was pleasantly surprised to have a microwave and mini fridge.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaitlinK1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    4
    4
    19
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We asked for a none smoking room. The door had a non smoking sign on it, but the room smelled like the crappy place it was. Our jack russell would not even stay on the floor. You know you are in trouble when you find a sack of garlic hanging over the door, supposedly to the kitchenette, which had a 2 burner stoved w/no front and a sink built in attached to it. The commode handle was held together w/electrical tape. The ceiling fan had dust balls hanging from it. The owner stated it was the only room he had (we had reservations), but he booked three more rooms by the time he decided to offer us the 'owners suite' which had a broken towel bar, smelled bad, paper thin walls. We were disturbed all night with banging noises and loud talking. Never, ever again. GARLIC, seriously!! Oct 16, 2011.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gmdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The pictures! There's no way, NO WAY that these are the rooms listed on the web site. Totally different layout. Bed bugs and bed bug feces behind the unattached head board. If you can imagine a motel rented by the hour this is it, And it has a for sale sign on it.
To add the the nightmare they tell you no refunds. Call
your cc company or bank. Don't take my word for it see for yourself

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jkrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Saw this place on the web and booked it for my honeymoon suite based on pictures and convience. WELL AS SOON AS I OPENED THE SUITE DOOR OMG, I just started to cry. This place was crappy green and peach dated pre 1970's or 60's. I walked down to the office after only being there 5 mins and they advised me: NO REFUND. I contacted my CC and disputed the charges--no way after having such a wonderful day was going to let some drug dealers (which I saw over looking the balcony) in a trashy motel ruin my day! Take my word for it...the HOMESTEAD HOUSE WAS WHERE WE ENDED UP GOING AND LOVED IT!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justthewayiseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

This place is very outdated and needs to be fixed up a bit, but it is a great value. I stayed in the suite, which is about $75 per night on weeknights. This motel has a trolley stop at the parking lot, or you can easily walk into downtown Gatlinburg in about ten minutes. The area is VERY safe. Even though the Grand Prix is nothing special the location is perfect, it's budget friendly, and the owners are pretty nice.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrystalLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Booked the Grand Prix Motel at $46 + tax a few days before arrival. We were traveling with 2 small dogs and were looking for cheap, pet friendly lodging and that is certainly what we got. Yes, the hotel is old and worn, but, the location across from Family Inn and 1/2 block from the Bear Skin Lodge was fine for us to walk the 2 blocks to the action of the parkway. The trolley stopped nearby every 1/2 hour or so. Owners were friendly. Hotel caters to hikers and runs a shuttle service for the backpacking guests to/from the SMNP. We have stayed in various hostels and this hotel reminded us of hosteling, but, with a private room and bath. Definitely not for those who require the finer things in life, but, if you are used to camping and hosteling, then it is just fine. Ice was free and plentiful. Washer/dryer on site. Free coffee in the morning off the office. There was a small pool for use in season, but, was drained during our stay. Looked okay, but, could use resurfacing due to staining. The pet fee was very reasonable at only $10 per dog for the entire stay. All in all it served our purpose during our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinationDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This hotel was just what we needed after several days on the AT. We had mailed a resupply box to them and it was there waiting for us when we got there. Harry and Sharon are both very nice people and very helpful in every way! The washer and dryer worked great, the computer was free to use. We had a microwave and fridge in the room, kingsize bed and hot shower and tub, and a toilet that flushed, woo hoo! After being on the AT for a while you really appreciate the little things. Was it high class and fancy? No, but that just isn't what's important to hikers. We were happy to support these folks and will do so again I'm sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 29212Griswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#54 of 78 in Gatlinburg
887 reviews
0.8 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites
Economy Inn & Suites
#49 of 78 in Gatlinburg
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Place Condominiums
Park Place Condominiums
#19 of 52 in Gatlinburg
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prix Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prix Motel

Property: Grand Prix Motel
Address: 235 Ski Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3142
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Prix Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Prix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing