We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Johnson's Inn
Nearby Hotels
$118
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$63
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bent Creek Golf Village(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zoders Inn & Suites(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gatlinburg Inn(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$129
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
122
105
63
37
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
105
63
37
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomthe pancake pantrystory buildingwalked everywherethe main streetoff the striplabor daysitting areawould stay againgreat place to stayprivate balconyan older hotelgreat roombeds were comfortablenice staytrolley stopclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 342 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2009

In hindsight I wish we had stayed on the "old" side. While the rooms on the condo side are larger, it is obvious the exterior of the building, hallways and such are not being as well maintained due to the fact that they will eventually be remodeled into condos. Stained outdoor carpet, peeling paint, rust and such. No BIG issues, just the other side had an exterior renovation about 2 years ago and it just "feels" cleaner and better maintained. Rear parking lot and surrounding area not very attractive due to storage of used and broken equipment, garbage cans, lawn mowers stored in stairwells. There again, not big issues just little touches that could go a long way towards appearances, because you HAVE to gain entrance to your room from this area. Plus, no fault of theirs, you are looking at the rear of another motel that is not well maintained.

No problem with cleanliness once inside the room. Our room heat/cool unit was older and made unique sounds and turned on and off quite frequently. Only a bother early in the morning when you first wake up and want to try and maybe catch a couple more minutes on sleep, it kicks on or winds down. Beds were not that comfortable, pillows were very flat. Opinion supported by our friends that stayed in another room.

Would I stay there again? Probably, but again I would stay on the office side which would be even more perfect in the summer had they not filled in the pool that was on that side. The only pool now is a small one on the condo side. Google map it, you'll see. CAN'T BEAT THE VALUE for the price anywhere in Gatlinburg.

DO LOOK INTO RENTING THE CONDOS! If you plan on going with another couple or a total up to four kids. THEY ARE FABULOUS and will only cost $20 more than the price of renting two rooms. Flat screen TVS in living and both bedrooms, 2 king beds, sleeper sofa, 2 full baths, washer/dryer, full kitchen, smaller appliances but very usable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank room121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjohnsonbradshaw, General Manager at Johnson's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2009

We appreciate your review and comments and want to thank you for pointing out areas that need to be corrected. Sometimes we get so used to seeing things that we forget how they look through the eyes of others. We have cleaned up behind the 4 story building and we are in the process of remodeling with the condos but have replaced the outdoor hall carpet on the 2nd floor and will do the 3rd and 4th floor as soon as possible. We are also in the process of sanding off the old paint on the elevator in order to apply a fresh coat. We have to work around when we have guest scheduled and when the weather permits so that the wet paint will not present a problem.

I will be ordering pillows this week and again I thank you for telling us about them as that is something that unless we get complaints we assume that there isn't a problem.

We are glad that you will stay with us again and hope that we can have our renovations wrapped up tighter at that time.

Vickie Johnson Bradshaw
General Manager
Johnson's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed in one of the condos - my parents (70+), me (40+) and my son and his friend (teenagers), so a condo was a perfect solution for our mix. The decor was beautiful and the furniture very comfy. I loved how close we were to the main strip and to The Donut Friar (who serves great coffee and donuts). Easy walk for me and my parents and perfect to let the boys roam the Parkway. Thanks for a great stay - I'll definitely be back with my husband in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toobright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We have been staying at Johnson's Inn for years. We just love it and most of all the staff. Always so friendly and go out of their way to take great care of you. We love it because it is close to the "main drag" but off enough to be quite. We love to take our coffee out by the creek and people watch.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavergnelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Would recommend to anyone and every one to stay at this lovely Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianahufmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

The Johnson Inn is located just off the main street in Gatlinburg, in easy walking distance of all the attractions. Of partcular interest, just around the corner, is the Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts. Check out the great breakfasts at the Pancake Pantry while you are there, and feed the ducks which hang around the stream which runs right by the Johnson Inn office.

The greak folks at the Johnson Inn offered us the chance to stay in one of their 7 newly remodeled condos, and we jumped at the chance. Ours had two bedrooms, each with flat screen TVs, and a great room with a larger TV. There is a full kitchen and two bathrooms in the unit. It was very nicely furnished and as clean as anyone would want..

We hadn't been to Gatlinburg in 15 years, but we are going to make this a regular stop for relaxation. Nothing like a drive ine Great Smokies

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terraplane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews