We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Deal for family of three”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Johnson's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Johnson's Inn
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Canton, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Deal for family of three”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

We did our research on the internet, but did not book any hotel. Instead we drove to Gatlinburg from Atlanta with some hotels in mind. They needed to have a decent set of reviews and an affordable price.

We also saw that Johnson's Inn was in the top 10 at some Internet magazine called Inside Gatlinburg. On the Johnson's Inn website they had a special for August for $59 for a double standard.

We reviewed a few other hotels over the internet as well, like the Fairfield Marriot Downtown etc.

When we arrived we went straight to Johnson's Inn and asked to see the rooms. We looked, the carpet appeared clean, the beds looked clean (looked at the mattresses they were clean). The bath was shiny and clean, so was the toilet.

We were happy to take it for the price.

All we needed was a clean place to sleep at night and this little (a bit older) place was just right for our budget.

Believe us, we looked at quite a few places over the internet before our mini-vacation. This price was good on Friday and Sat, unlike some other hotels which only give you a deal Sun to Thur. The staff was friendly enough. We will use this hotel again when we return to Gatlinburg.

The fact that I took the time to come back to this site and write a good review, tells that our family was very satisfied with the accommodations.

  • Liked — Cleanliness for the Price
  • Disliked — Pool was a cloudy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    86
    58
    32
    14
See reviews for
117
102
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

The hotel room was wonderful. It was large, clean and in excellent condition. The location is great. We have been coming to Gatlinburg for the past 30 every summer and always stay at Johnson's Inn. We just got back yesterday and we are looking forward to next summer. The room rates are also very good.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank missbo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed at the inn from Nov 30th till Dec 2nd and we loved it. its so close and convenant to everything yet quiet and peaceful. We could shop and quickly bring back our packages and go again. we walked everywhere we went it so nice to be located so close.........would stay there again in a min.....get friendly people...

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — everything was great nothing could have been better
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mythreesons1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

We have stayed at this motel Several Times. My Husband and I love it!
We have stayed at several Hotels in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, we always come back to Johnson Inn. We love the staff and the fact that its walking distance to most places. The Ritz, its not, however its a great place for its price.
We have stayed in several types of rooms. The only complaint was the first time we stayed we ran out of Hot Water for a Shower.
Since then we have not had any problems.
We plan to go back in Feb.

  • Liked — The Price and Staff.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at Johnson's Inn many times. This is the first stay in about 2 years. The Inn has a great location and the staff is helpful and polite.

The room we had, in the old building, was very dark. All the lamps, there were only three, had very low wattage bulbs. We are both readers, there was not enough light from the lamps to read easily.

The room is in need of an outdate. The fixtures in the bathroom(tub) leaked and were worn. The carpet was stained and needs replaced. The walls, leading to the rooms, were stained and needed swept.

The value for the price is good, but Johnson's was better and needs to update.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Condition of building(room & hall)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

Needed a hotel at a fair price for a one night stay, and this was worth it. Got the jacuzi king suite at a price that was cheaper than most in the area. The room was clean with a couple of noticable signs of wear and tear. The only problem was everyone walking and the cleaners that was anywhere near the room, we could hear like they were right next to the door. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bman319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed 2 nights. We were in one of the new condo units on the second floor.
It had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms.
It was really nice and clean.
We had 4 adults, there was plenty of room!.
The location is wonderful.
We would stay again!

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Wish the FirePlace was turned on.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CGVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#46 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's Inn

Property: Johnson's Inn
Address: 242 Bishop Ln, PO Box 392, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally family owned and operated quaint motel only steps away from the main street of Gatlinburg. We offer mountain hospitality and affordable rates for clean, quiet rooms that are accessible to all that Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains have to offer. Come sit in our garden by the stream , easily walk downtown to shops and restaurants or spend the day in the national park. We offer standard motel rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Johnson's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing