We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything. In this case... the only thing.”
Review of Johnson's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Johnson's Inn
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at Johnson's Inn several times. Each time we stay, we wind up asking ourselves, "why did we stay here again?" The answer is always the same: location and convenience. It is right off the strip and located in the heart of the city. The rooms are generally clean, but desperately need a renovation. The decor is outdated and old. In addition, the beds are low to the ground and uncomfortable. If you need a place to stay in Gatlinburg and you don't mind an old room with few amenities, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRB060607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Johnson's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 328 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great location. Room was very clean. Carpet looked almost new. The rest of the room needs major updating. A few of the small details would make this a really good place to stay. Second time we've stayed here. Clean and location are BIG!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We love staying at Johnson's Inn. Wonderful people to deal with, very helpful, nice rooms & the front desk is always very helpful with directions!! This December will be our forth stay, many more will follow!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjbgatlinburgtn, General Manager at Johnson's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. It is always a pleasure to help guests have a memorable vacation. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family and I have stayed at Johnson's Inn several times now and continue to stay there when we are in Gatlinburg. Johnson's Inn isn't a new hotel but it is well maintained. We have stayed in rooms that overlook the stream (very relaxing and quiet) as well as many other rooms. It's location is GREAT for walking around in Gatlinburg. It's off the main highway but very close to all the shops along the parkway so you don't have to move your car and try to find parking downtown. We've also stayed in their condos and they are super nice and beautifully furnished. I don't know if they are all built with the same floor plan, but the ones we've stayed in have had 2 full bathrooms, 2 very comfortable bedrooms, a full kitchen and a plush, relaxing living room area. They do not have a restaurant on the premises, but there are restaurants galore in town to choose from. We recommend it to everyone we know that is looking for a place to stay in the Smokies!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the stream are more expensive but if you want to sit and relax it's a good pic...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David270338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjbgatlinburgtn, General Manager at Johnson's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

I love the fact that you have tried the different types of accommodations that we have to offer. Thank you for the great recommendation and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family stayed at the Johnson's Inn October 7- October 10. We stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the stream. We had an great stay. We have been coming to the Johnson's Inn for a few years now, and we have always had pleasant stays. The room was very clean and cozy. The fireplace was definitely a plus for the chilly nights. The location was convenient to town, shops, and restaurants. They offered complementary coffee in the lobby which was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This hotel contributed to an awesome vacation. We look forward to staying at the Johnson's Inn again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjbgatlinburgtn, General Manager at Johnson's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It is a joy to be able to help people have a nice vacation. We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been coming here for years because the motel has consistency in cleanliness, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. The location is close to The Village and Arrowmont area. As for the complaints about the age of the motel - yes it may not be 2012 decor but it is clean. I do not think this is an issue as renovation would certainlyl raise the very reasonable price of the inn. My only complaint is the size of the pool (they had to close their awesome pool).

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After reading other reviews, I was really hopeful. However, this "Inn" was a major disappointment. The location was very favorable - only about a block from the main strip downtown - but that was about it. To begin with, it is more like an old motel than an "Inn". Our room was in a building separate from the main lodging and office. We arrived after dark and the lighting in the exterior corridors was dim, making it hard to see where we were going (could have been frightening if arriving alone). Once in our room, it was obvious that we did not receive one of the recently renovated rooms. Ours was VERY old, run down and dirty. There was dust on lamps, chairs, and in the bathroom. The floor in the bathroom was not thoroughly cleaned, with mildew in the corners and around the bathtub. The bathroom had been recently painted, but they did not remove any fixtures or hardware and so there were paint drips all over. The door handle to the bathroom was falling off. The beds were low to the ground and extremely uncomfortable. In general, the room was in disrepair. Oh, and I am not sure how they launder linens, but the sheets were ITCHY! Additionally, they do not offer a continental breakfast - not a deal breaker, but would be a nice touch. Overall, I would not recommend this property. Location is the only plus as far as I can tell.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
2.6 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#47 of 78 in Gatlinburg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's Inn

Address: 242 Bishop Ln, PO Box 392, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $77 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally family owned and operated quaint motel only steps away from the main street of Gatlinburg. We offer mountain hospitality and affordable rates for clean, quiet rooms that are accessible to all that Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains have to offer. Come sit in our garden by the stream , easily walk downtown to shops and restaurants or spend the day in the national park. We offer standard motel rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Johnson's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing