We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Follow-up review - second visit.”
Review of Johnson's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johnson's Inn
Ranked #40 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
321 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Follow-up review - second visit.”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We had need to be in the area just for one night. While we had stayed here before (see previous review), we were satisfied with the accomodations, just not real impressed. Well this time I have to say we enjoyed it VERY much and will probably make this our new Gatlinburg home away from home. We had previously stayed at the Kingwood for the last two decades, but it doesn't have the appeal of years past since re-opening.

We stayed on the office side and really enjoyed the convienence of the location to downtown. The room was bright with no dated paneling, etc. The room didn't have that "galley feel of most older motels. I was more rectangular shape giving the feel of openess. Having two sinks made it more convienent as well.

The only issue was a toilet that kept running, but it couldn't be heard with the door shut and the AC on. I informed the front desk just for the simple fact of water conservation for them. Thought the fridge was broken, but it just wasn't closed all the way, but we there for one night only, so no big deal.

Couple of suggestions. As I said before, the room was fairly large - but this blessing was a curse when it came to the small 19" TV. It really needs a 25" or larger. Also, the green carpet could be a warmer earth tone, but that just being picky! I don't live there! Thanks Johnson Inn - see you soon I hope!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank room121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    89
    59
    33
    14
See reviews for
121
103
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

My family and I just left johnson's inn today and we stayed in a condo that felt just like home. This was a nice cozy condo, fully equiped and very convient to the strip(within walking distance). It was an inexpensive stay and I will be returning when I'm visiting gatlinburg.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mslady98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The pool was small and the water was real cold but that is not their fault. The room was clean but when we first got there and turned on the water it was dirty just for a few seconds and then it was fine the rest of the stay. We would stay here again. We never had to move our car since everything was within walking distance. For the price it was great!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolelynn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I have stayed here several times and I have a hard time with the negative comments. We have stayed in the older and the new building and both have always been clean and updated. The staff is very nice and the location is ideal. It is close to the parkway but is on a quite side street that is a very short walk to all the action. It is your ideal family owned Gatlinburg motel that makes the experience to this quaint town so charming. If a person expects the Ritz then go to New York and pay the $500 a night price tag. This is a great motel at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My family has stayed at Johnson's Inn before and we have recommened it to other people. Never again will we stay at Johnson's Inn. We come to Gatlinburg twice a year.
The room needed cleaning. The bathroom was terrible with mold on the ceiling and the bathtub would take 30 minutes to drain after a shower. Had to turn the shower off to let water go down while showering. The central unit made a horrible noise at 2:15 in the morning and had to be turned off. No heat and it was 35 degrees outside. The house keeping dept. would have known that the drain wouldn't work if they had cleaned the tub.
The walls are so thin that you can hear everything on both sides of you. The shower in the other rooms sounds that a waterfall.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeMeTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We recently stayed at Johnson's Inn for the second time from Sunday 10/24-Wednesday 10/27. Initially, we were given a room in the 4-story building, and it was okay....but there were a bunch of wasps outside our door. I went back to the office and they were very helpful and moved us to a room on the first floor of the 2-story building. She also made a call to make sure someone sprayed for the wasps. Our room was comfortable and clean as usual. The bed was comfortable and was a welcome respite after lots of walking. My only complaint was that we had to leave the vanity light on to keep the refrigerator running....I meant to mention this when we checked out, but it unfortunately slipped my mind. It was not a huge deal....since we slept in the far bed that was not right in front of the vanity. We WILL return to Johnson's Inn again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellbell612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjbgatlinburgtn, General Manager at Johnson's Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2010
I am pleased that we were able to remedy the problem and that your stay with us was pleasant. I am sorry about the refrigerator and the vanity light and will look into getting that straightened out. We value your business and it makes our day when when our guests have an enjoyable stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Ar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Great little motel right off the strip without too much traffic. I wanted to leave a lesser review so I wouldn't have trouble getting a room in the future but couldn't do it. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloAjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#47 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's Inn

Property: Johnson's Inn
Address: 242 Bishop Ln, PO Box 392, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally family owned and operated quaint motel only steps away from the main street of Gatlinburg. We offer mountain hospitality and affordable rates for clean, quiet rooms that are accessible to all that Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains have to offer. Come sit in our garden by the stream , easily walk downtown to shops and restaurants or spend the day in the national park. We offer standard motel rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Johnson's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing