We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the better values in Gatlinburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack Huff's

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jack Huff's
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the better values in Gatlinburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Jack Huff's Motor Lodge (JHML) about five times over the years, most recently in January 2014. JHML is what I would call a mid-level hotel (i.e.: not too fancy, but not economy level either.) The rooms we have stayed in are quite adequate and comfortable. JHML is in a fairly good location, about 300 yards from the Parkway (the main street of Gatlinburg,) within easy walking distance of many attractions. (For those interested, the Gatlinburg Public Library is directly across the street.)

According to a desk clerk at JHML, the original rooms (the section around the swimming pool) were first opened in 1959; the newer section, on the south end of the property (left of the office,) was opened in 1989. In contrast to a lot of the hotels in Gatlinburg, JHML obviously makes a conscious effort to maintain and refurbish the rooms when necessary, so JHML is in much better condition than many hotels of it's age. The hotel has a outdoor swimming pool and also provides a indoor hot tub which is available year round. I have found the staff to be very friendly and helpful when needed.

There are a few aspects about JHML that can be a bit annoying. One for me is when you make a reservation the hotel requires the customer to mail a check or money order for the first night's stay before the reservation is confirmed. (Credit cards are not accepted for advance payment, but are accepted for final payment.) Cherokee Orchard Road, the street JHML is located, can be fairly busy, and parking for the newer section is directly outside the rooms, so outside noise is sometimes noticeable.

I rate JHML as "Very Good" instead of "Excellent" mostly because of it's age and room features of it's era. Nevertheless, the accommodations, rates, and location of the Jack Huff's Motor Lodge makes the hotel one of the better values in Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: Rooms in newer section open directly onto parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    109
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
221
191
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had a great stay here. VERY, VERY, VERY clean and tidy. We had a double queen for one night and were completely impressed with the location, cost, cleanliness and friendliness of staff. Double hot tubs. Had the best hit apple cider too!
The only thing I would improve is having a coffee pot in the room. Although, there is plenty of coffee available in a common area.
Hard to believe we have never stayed here before, but will be in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 305, double queen, had its own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Rented a room for two people with a king-size bed and Jacuzzi. Paid $120 for a Saturday night. Room was very clean. Had a nice Jacuzzi but not quite big enough for someone who is 6'4 but it worked. Good location. Staff very friendly. It sits about the middle of the Boulevard so it's a good location to walk from most everything is in walking distance.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhbrown36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have been staying at Jack Huff's for 20 years. They are in the center of town. The motel staff is like family. There is nothing nicer than being greeted by your first name when you check-in and asked when you are coming back when you check-out. The rooms are very clean. They are not the MOST modern motel, but we aren't really there to live in the room. Recent upgrades include flat screen TVs faster wi-fi and new paint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjb461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
259 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Easy to see why this is the top rated hotel in Gatlinburg. We were on the third floor in a king room. Included were a balcony, microwave, refrigerator and nice flat screen tv. Also included were a recliner, two chairs and a small table. Bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, sink and toilet. Just outside the bathroom was another sink with lots of cabinet space. This is great when more than one person is getting ready to go out. As others have noted this is an older building but it is one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed. The fixtures in the bathroom while older were spotless with faucets that were literally gleaming. The lady at check-in was very helpful with suggestions for lunch and dinner. We will stay here again next time in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stay here because it is clean and close to Gatlinburg. The one thing that I really don't like is the 2 week cancellation notice. Pretty gutless policy considering they usually keep the rooms full every night. Will not stay again because of this. Sounds like some pretty greedy owners.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank richnlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Jack Huff Motor Lodge. We generally stay in our travel trailer or a cabin when we visit the Smokies, but we were in town for only a day and a half for the Auburn vs. Tennessee football game. My husband and son were going to the game and my daughter and I were planning to hang out in Gatlinburg, without a car. Proximity to food and fun were important to us. Jack Huff's Motor Lodge ticked off all our boxes for this trip. We were directly behind The Village and it was a short easy walk to the Donut Friar. In fact, we walked all the way up the strip out of Gatlinburg and took our photo with the National Park sign. We were also close to the aquarium. Our room was spacious enough to inflate a blow up mattress for our daughter and still have plenty of room for our bags and to walk around. The room was CLEAN and quiet, the water was hot, the beds were firm (and no sign of ANY bugs), and the office personnel and the ladies who cleaned the room were super friendly. If I had to find something to suggest to management, I would suggest they invest in some new bath towels and bear proof garbage cans outside. Upon our arrival, we heard a loud noise in the parking lot near our room and encountered a large black bear going through the trash. We would stay here again and our daughter is already considering a spring break trip there in March with her roommates.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKKBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.5 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack Huff's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack Huff's

Property: Jack Huff's
Address: 204 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3539
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location can't be beat. Conveniently located just a half block from downtown adjacent to "The Village" and the "Famous Pancake Pantry". One block from Ripley's Aquarium. A Gatlinburg tradition since 1960, and still owned by Jack's family. We offer free High Speed Wireless Internet, refrigerators, microwaves, lazy boy recliners, jacuzzi tubs, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards. Enjoy our outdoor heated pool with a slide and children's wading pool, and our two indoor hot tubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jack Huff`s Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Jack Huffs Hotel
Jack Huffs Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing