We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Jack Huff's

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jack Huff's
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My elderly mother and I stayed at Jack Huff's for two nights while visiting the Gatlinburg area.

The motor lodge is very centrally located right in the heart of town. We felt a bit uncertain about the property at first - it is an older motel, with the decor a bit dated - but the bathroom was recently nicely updated. The lighting was a little odd, with no table lamps next to the bed - instead there was a bank light over the headboard...so Mom had to sit up under a floor lamp near the door to read so as not to disturb my sleep. Our 1st-floor room had front and back doors, with the back door opening to a breezeway where the vending and coffee is kept. (No breakfast is offered at this motel.)

I chose Jack Huff's over another nearby motel because the website indicated that all the rooms have Lazy-Boy recliners...my mom finds a recliner helpful as she often has trouble sleeping lying in bed. The room did have the promised recliner, but the upholstery was dingy and the recliner seemed as if it was built for a very short, tiny person...the seat was very, very low to the ground. Mom was tired and decided to try it anyway, and she did immediately nod off. But when she awoke, she could not get up out of the thing because it was so low to the ground (elderly often have trouble getting up off of low seats) and I had to help her up - she declared then and there that she would not use the chair again.

Despite the trouble with the recliner, by the next day we ended up feeling much better about the motel than I initially feared we might - and all in all we ended up having a pretty nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathyc2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    113
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
233
200
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Staying at Jack Huff's was a pleasant experience. The location itself is nice because it is right off of the Parkway: a quick walk to anything! The workers behind the front desk were very nice, and the rooms themselves had just been updated and were super clean. Our room on the second floor had a shared balcony too. The only complaints I had were that they forget my online discount for the room, and our toilet stopped up. Even then, the employees were very forgiving and helpful. Despite these mishaps, the overall experience was wonderful, and I would recommend staying here to anyone, especially for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tn_girl55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at Jack Huff's Motor Lodge for two nights when I drove to Gatlinburg to surprise my mother for her birthday and Mother's Day (she and my dad were staying there for a long weekend). I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room. Most rooms share a balcony with another room, but it is all generally very quiet so that wasn't a problem. The building in which I stayed had three floors. Although I mostly took the stairs, there was an elevator available so a mobility impaired person would have few problems navigating the property.

This is a really old fashioned property. Reservations and bills are handwritten, but the front desk is efficient and I had no problems on check-in or check-out.

The hotel's location is really very good. Just around the corner from the Parkway (the main road through Gatlinburg) and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. It is less than five miles to Pigeon Forge (north) and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park (south).

Parking wasn't a problem when I stayed there, but the spaces are tight, as they are in just about all the hotels in the city.

The hotel offers free wi-fi, which is just as good (or bad, as your perspective maybe) as any other hotel. Let one evening, I was able to watch a show on Netflix, which is probably better than most hotel wi-fis.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but free coffee was available every morning on the second floor.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, only six rooms have single balconies (e.g., not shared with another room). R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarComTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I found Jack Huff's on Tripadvisor and have not been disappointed. Have stayed here twice in the past six weeks, and will return next weekend. Fishing is good this time of the year in the Smokies. Property is well maintained and you cannot find trash anywhere on the property. The staff is personable and helpful.

Quiet location but 200 yards from the center of Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hsmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepest Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

With a name like Jack Huff's I had expected something perhaps a bit different. Nevermind, our room was large, comfortable and clean with all the facilities you would expect. Easy parking and
a short walk to the centre of Gatlinburg made it very convenient indeed. Highly recommended for a night or two's stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hendersonville, nc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you want a nice place that is clean comfortable and run by good people - stay here. Good WiFi, good TV, microwave and frige.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Located on a side street in Gatlinburg, we found this to be very convient to SMNP. The lodge is a great value for the area. The bed was comfortable and the room came with a flat screen tv. The pool was right in the front with easy access. You have to walk to the elevators for morning coffee. The Donut Friar is a couple of hundred feet away for a good cup of joe and a good donut

Room Tip: Clean &Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack Huff's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack Huff's

Property: Jack Huff's
Address: 204 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3539
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location can't be beat. Conveniently located just a half block from downtown adjacent to "The Village" and the "Famous Pancake Pantry". One block from Ripley's Aquarium. A Gatlinburg tradition since 1960, and still owned by Jack's family. We offer free High Speed Wireless Internet, refrigerators, microwaves, lazy boy recliners, jacuzzi tubs, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards. Enjoy our outdoor heated pool with a slide and children's wading pool, and our two indoor hot tubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jack Huff`s Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Jack Huffs Hotel
Jack Huffs Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing