We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean; great location.”
Review of Jack Huff's

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jack Huff's
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sylva, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean; great location.”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We loved being able to park the car at the motel and walk to where we wanted to go. The "Village" nearby is cute and relaxing compared to the crowded parkway. The sidestreet location means there was no problem getting a good night's sleep. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    113
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
232
200
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Excellent staff, I'm pretty sure this must be a family owned and run hotel because the man at the counter was the same guy we talked with in 2010 . We did Gatlinburg the way I believe it's meant to be done- minus all the tourist traps in Pigeon Forge. this place is so close to everything we park at the hotel and we are done with the car till we go up in the mountains. The aquarium is a short walk , the pancake pantry is real close. My 12 year old son and I left on this trip with no plans- just winging it along, no reservations at all- from Indiana to Mammoth cave- then to lookout mtn and we rolled into Gatlinburg about three pm on a sunday afternoon- he said lets stay at jack huffs. I am not advising you wing-it -- we got lucky- you should make reservations . I am most impressed with the hospitality of the staff here, and the guy at the counter is like having your own personal guide, I'm telling you he knows where to send you for fishing , where the best trails are in the mountains and what time to be there, where to get the best dinner, and when it's time to go home he knows how to keep you out of a traffic jam. Internet speed was fast and reliable, pool is clean and has a slide.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband & I have stayed at Jack Huff's several times, most recently in May of 2011, & we are impressed each & every time. Some of the decor in certain rooms may be dated, but that's not what matters. The rooms are very clean, the staff friendly & knowledgeable, & the location is tops! Add in the hot tubs & the pool & this place is near-perfect. It's also nice to support a local, family-owned business.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Photograhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed one night in Gatlinburg on our way from Illinois to Myrtle Beach. We chose Jack Huff's based off of Trip Advisor reviews and they did not let us down. The staff was very friendly, the room was spacious and the views were great. Yes it was a little dated (they used real room keys!) but it was clean and homey. I would definitely stay there again if the opportunity ever arose. It was a bit off of the main drag so it was quiet and within walking distance to the best breakfast ever at the Pancake Palace!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katydid1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We decided to book the Wilhelm House because it offered 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen with living and dining area. The house itself sits on the road right behind and above Jack Huff's motor lodge. It is less than a 3 minute drive and although the road is steep, it is very walkable for those in good condition. You can leave your car in the hotel's parking lot while in town so that made it very convenient. The house is roomy and adequately furnished however it could use a bit of "updating" as the sofa's and some decoration looked past their prime. However, the house was extremely clean and comfortable for our stay. I believe it sleeps about 8 or better and would recommend. The private hottub was a nice plus!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank jwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, GA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Jack Huff's Motor Lodge is a throwback to the the days of the family-owned motor lodge. The best assets are its people that work there. Friendly. Welcoming. Enthusiastic.

Don't arrive expecting the cookie cutter Holiday Inn. From the time of check-in at the small lobby, walking in past guests sitting outside under the shaded overhang, you knew it was different. Check in was efficient as I filled out my card. No computers to distract the receipt of credit cards (no Amex, by the way).

The room was nice, clean, bright, and big. Another note, bring your own shampoo, as none is provided. But I've got plenty of shampoo from other hotels. And if I'm paying $20 per night just to get the three-day supply of shampoo, shame on me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doublegdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We just returned from a trip to Tennessee/Gatlinburg and staye at Jack Huff's. This motel is kept up and very nicely and is very clean. We loved the free coffee bar and the first and second floor. Also enjoyed the mini fridge and microwave. Loved sitting on the balcony in the morning and evening people watching. Not as much traffic as what is on the main strip but enough to have something to watch. We have stayed at Jack Huff's twice a year for the past three years and will keep staying here. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sas11560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack Huff's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack Huff's

Property: Jack Huff's
Address: 204 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3539
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location can't be beat. Conveniently located just a half block from downtown adjacent to "The Village" and the "Famous Pancake Pantry". One block from Ripley's Aquarium. A Gatlinburg tradition since 1960, and still owned by Jack's family. We offer free High Speed Wireless Internet, refrigerators, microwaves, lazy boy recliners, jacuzzi tubs, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards. Enjoy our outdoor heated pool with a slide and children's wading pool, and our two indoor hot tubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jack Huff`s Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Jack Huffs Hotel
Jack Huffs Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing