We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country eatin at its best!”
Review of Mountain Lodge Restaurant - CLOSED

Mountain Lodge Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
home
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“country eatin at its best!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We always stop and eat at the Mountain Lodge when we are in town,its a down to earth place,no frills and that's what we love.
The food is delicious! We love the country cooking and their omelets are great!
You gotta go for breakfast or lunch as they close around 3'oclock,I love the liver and onions and have ate a variety of food there and its all been good! Give it a try!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summer6008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    192
    66
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Local Hangout”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our hotel recommended the Mountain Lodge to us saying that it's where all the locals go. Now I can see why. It's not a fancy place by any means, but the food is very good. We came in for lunch & had sandwiches (Reuben, Club, Chicken Filet & Grilled cheese). The sides we ordered (ranch fries & onion rings) were awesome. Great value for what we got, as well. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Prices”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This must be where the locals come, & I thought it was a gem of a find in touristy Gatlinburg. Everything we ordered tasted great, and the prices were even better. If you're looking for razzle dazzle, head further down the street. But if you're looking for decent food at affordable prices, this is the place for you. It did take a while to get our food, but the place was packed, so I expected it. What I didn't expect was the tiny bathroom. Ladies, you'll want to hit a bathroom somewhere else before coming here unless you like airplane size. And no, I'm not kidding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KendraB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
321 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Sleek and modern - lots of glass and chrome that emphasizes the Mountain theme...jk”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hey, when you go in here try not to look like a tourist. Don't wear your new lime green Gatlinburg hoodie or GSM ball cap. Guys - don't shave that morning. Try using words like y'all (better yet - you-uns) and drop your "g's" - "I'll be havin' coffee" or "I really like y'all's cookin'" (two for one).

I'm doing you a favor here! A LOT of locals frequent this place. It's as Mom and Pop as they come. Way I see it, if they think you're a local - you might get treated like one. Maybe you will get a larger slice of country ham or a double order of home fries. Who knows, they may even give you the local only discount. Just know, though, that whatever you get will be good. Breakfast like it used to before buffets and biscotti - before Quad Venti Americanos and breakfast burritos - before crepes and quiche. Breakfast must include grease - no ifs, no ands, no buts. If your breakfast does not include the 4 mainstay items (or 5 if tomatoes are available) - eggs, biscuits & gravy, pork of some sort and fried potatoes you might as well go to a drive-thru. Give that clown your money - eat your half a sausage patty, part of a scrambled egg and a sprinkle of shredded cheese wrapped in a store-bought tortilla along with a plastic package of runny American made picante sauce that you will proudly display on your shirt for the rest of the day. Plus you will be hungry in an hour or so. Eat at The Mountain Lodge and you can probably skip right through to dinner.

Is it modern and updated? Heck no. Is it nicely decorated? Heck no. Does the wait staff wear crisp matching uniforms? Heck no - well, they may all happen to wear Levi's that day.

Food is made to order and portions are large. The coffee is really good and they leave a carafe at your table. Now, if you really miss that Starbucks experience when it comes to your coffee - I'm sure they would be OK with it if you wanted to pay for each cup you drink separately. They may even have some chocolate or caramel syrup and whip cream to put in it if you ask - but trust me - you just blew the attempt to blend in as a local.

Want to know more! Then visit their website...just kidding. It is REALLY mom and pop so the only web site would be in the corner, by the window, close to the ceiling...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank room121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Locals and tourists gather for breakfast”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our last stop before heading back over the mountains for home. We had no intention of stopping again except for essential pits stops. We decided this was the perfect place to get lots of food at a reasonable price before making the 4 hour ride. Having no sense of proportion (as mentioned in an earlier review of the Applehouse Restaurant in Cosby), we both opted for the special which came with eggs, meat, a choice of pancakes or French toast or waffle AND a choice of biscuits with gravy or grits and toast. All for $8.95. What a deal. I opted for the French toast and it was so-so. It would have been better had they actually soaked the bread in the egg, but they just dipped it. Hubby opted for the pancakes and they were huge. He enjoyed them. Our eggs were cooked perfectly. We also got one of their famous cinnamon rolls which was pretty awesome. All in all we were pleased with the food and the service. I would visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColliOinBuford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing