We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouth watering fresh homemade pastries.”
Review of Donut Friar

Donut Friar
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mouth watering fresh homemade pastries.”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My family go to Gatlinburg at least once a week to go to Donut Friar. We love all their pastries. I especially love the cinnamon rolls. They open early however, it is a cash only that is nestled in The Village.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjfinchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,410
    303
    118
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good stuff ”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by due to all the reviews I read. Must say it lived up to the hype. I had the cinnamon sugar cake donut and the husband had a regular glazed. Both were very good and plan on revisiting next time we are here. The staff was friendly and the whole donut case looked amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
336 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fresh & Yummy Donuts”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stopped in the Donut Friar for a quick afternoon snack. I enjoyed a fresh & delicious jelly donut with a hot cup of coffee on a cold & damp afternoon. The donut was so good I decided to buy another for later and also take one to my husband. I have been by the Donut Friar several times usually with a long line of people waiting to get inside............now I understand why. I am looking forward to a return trip to the Donut Friar the next time I visit Gatlinburg.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2bncharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering...........”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We visit the Donut Friar every time we go to Gatlinburg! Such a quaint little place, perfect for a snack if walking through town. I recommend the jelly donuts and the plain original donuts! Just so delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm Hot Chocolate”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We enjoyed our hot chocolate (though it did come from a machine) and the fact that they were one of the only open stores during the cold. Only wish they would have offered their coffee's with soy milk as I am lactose-intolerant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrittanyToombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donut Friar also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Donut Friar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing