We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss a trip to see the Friar...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donut Friar

Donut Friar
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
West GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do not miss a trip to see the Friar...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I will make this short and to the point. The Donut Friar is a small, quant, hidden gem that you MUST experience. Experience it for yourself.

One trip, 3 visits...YUM!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,358
    295
    116
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kendallville, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Must stop in Gatlinburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

If you like donuts you won't want to miss this place. I had their glazed cake donut and it was one of the best donuts I've had before. Ate 1 there and took another 6 to go for later but wish I had more now. I do wish they had better coffee there but there are other places you can get that in Gatlinburg. Do yourself a favor and go here when in Gatlinburg, the only regret you may have is not buying enough for later.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwalters310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Real Deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I'm a snooty person when it comes to scratch made pastries, but everything about this place has been an incredible value and exceeds my expectations for confectionery delights!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SB_thatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Donut Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

When my family and I went to Gatlinburg we came across the Donut Friar and after one donut, I had to return everyday to enjoy another. They are the best I have ever had. I am always craving their glazed donut. It is definitely our favorite place to go while in the Village.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roxiesoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved the shops in the Village area, including the donut friar. What a fun part of town, off the main street. This had great donuts coffee and hot cider. Nice break spot!

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donut Friar also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Donut Friar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing